DOE Employee Reviews

Found 34 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful work place
Retired Teacher (Former Employee) –  New York StateMay 16, 2017
A typical day at work is extremely challenging and stressful. I've been at this job for 17 years and I don't find it rewarding anymore, due to the political side.
Pros
Teaching children
Cons
Not being recognized for good performance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
French Teacher (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 10, 2017
It is a great place to work! Everyone I had contact with had a great sense of their role and I always felt supported. I enjoyed very much working here!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it is nice working with kids
Physical therapist (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 4, 2017
All is fine
people are nice
environment is motivating
a lots of experience
clean facilities
always be punctuate
always be kind and willing to grow
enjoy your day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Paralegal/Legal Assistant (Former Employee) –  Delmont, NJApril 27, 2017
DOE is a place of employment where an entry level applicant, can gain the experience required to move forward in their career field. It's a productive work environment.
Pros
Gaining experience
Cons
Inadecuate dining space
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Job
School Aide (Former Employee) –  Jamaica, NYJanuary 12, 2017
I worked closely with students and the office staff. I worked the switch board, made calls, faxed and emailed. Everyday I was able to learn something new
Pros
was able to build a lasting relationship with many
Cons
worked the summers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
IT intern (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 22, 2016
It was full with great people and it was enjoyable since i met nice kids there. The tasks i had to do were fun since i love to work on computers.
Pros
not stressful
Cons
limited hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was fun and learned a lot of new things.
Team Member (Former Employee) –  kentNovember 18, 2016
Many young people find achieving a Duke of Edinburgh’s Award life-changing; many discover their talents, broaden their life experiences and make lasting friendships along the way.s the first challenge was the expedition section: looking after himself for three days and two nights, with no home comforts and without his mum’s cooking was a shock to his system.But personally, I had the best time of my life I learned a lot and achieved a lot too.
Pros
making new friends
Cons
long hours unexpected weather.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
secure, fun, nice place to work
Paraprofessional (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, NYSeptember 9, 2016
nice place to work with a group of professional cooworker, safe inviroment, nice peoples. work hard everyday to accomplish the currinculum task, and to applyed in what the students need.
Pros
currinculum need
Cons
meditation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and good place to work.
Government Analyst I (Current Employee) –  Tallahassee, FLApril 10, 2016
I have learned a lot through my years at DOE/Vocational Rehabilitation and my career with the State of Florida. Most of the supervisors and staff is very knowledgable of their jobs.
Pros
Staff is friendly and makes you feel at home right away.
Cons
do not always get proper amount of training.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good starting point.
Vocational Rehabilitation Counselor (Current Employee) –  Pensacola, FLFebruary 4, 2016
I think the job is a good job, but only if the pay was better and not so many politics. If you the type of person that wants to just retire and not go any further, then this would be your job. If you see yourself doing other things then I would say get the experience and move on. Also, what I do like about this job is that you can make a difference in someone's life.
Pros
Job and work balance is great!
Cons
Salary pay. No incentives.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about DOE?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Door-opener
Tech Intern (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYJanuary 15, 2016
It was a great place to learn new skills, working here is what made me decide about my career path. I am grateful for working there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ROW vegetation Management
Data Collector (Former Employee) –  Loveland, CODecember 9, 2015
This was a contract job why I was in school getting my EET degree. I tried the position during my break of semesters. I would not reconsider this employment
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The job was very technical and a museum for learning in the underwater world.
SALES TAX ACCOUNTANT (Former Employee) –  Corona, CAJune 16, 2015
A typical day at work was setting up shop to be ready for business. I learned that air tanks are not only used for firefighters, but also birthday parties, such as blowing up balloons. I was able to manage the entire the shop, or I would call it "holding down the fort", because there were only a couple employees. The hardest part of the job was
prioritizing work with a smile a customer can't refuse. The most enjoyable part of the job was operating the fill station.
Pros
We ate lunch together like business professionals.
Cons
I wish I didn't have to work Saturday.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Proud to have worked here.
Independent Contractor (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYMarch 7, 2015
The DOE is a well run placed making a difference in the world. Children are the future and thats starts with their education.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Technical support Intern.
Helpdesk/ Technical Support Intern (Former Employee) –  Queens, New YorkDecember 8, 2014
I only worked at the Department of Education as an Intern and was there for about 9 months. As an technical employee of the DOE you will be primarily working with Microsoft products, as believe they have contractual support from them. Although some schools have Apple products, Microsoft is running all servers and such on the back end. I left because I wanted a full time job that could support me financially.
Pros
Great learning environment.
Cons
Pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review of projects proposed
Industrial reviewer (Former Employee) –  Westbrook Maine - from HomeMay 16, 2014
Intense work and interaction with others to review projects proposed to the DOE. In depth review of science behind unfamiliar concepts and discussion of those concepts with others
Pros
Learning new concepts and ideas
Cons
Not enought time for full indepth analysis
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to be.
IT Internship Specialist (Current Employee) –  Manhattan, NYMarch 3, 2014
working with both students and staffs of the school gave me a whole different perspective of work experience. I learned a lot ranging from technology to human interaction. My co-workers are the best and the higher staffs are very cool as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place to work
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYFebruary 6, 2014
Love working with children to help foster a positive working environment for kids to develop at their own pace.
Pros
Great colleagues
Cons
short lunch
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
courier
Senior Agent, Nuclear Materials Courier (Current Employee) –  Oak Ridge, TNJanuary 7, 2014
transport nuclear weapons and parts across the USA. convoy expertise in a covert mission.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work meet alot of new people
Building Manager - M263 (Current Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 18, 2013
Very busy form the minute I walk in to work, How I love to provide an extraordinary experience for customer,
Pros
Love the little one they awasome & to help others
Cons
To many bosses
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at DOE. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 49 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.4
Culture
3.7