Find companies:
Dollar General
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
3,853 reviews

Dollar General Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really enjoyed working with the public
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Ledbetter, KYOctober 19, 2014
Typical day at work was fast paced and busy. The hardest part of the job was freight. The most enjoyable part of the job were the customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great interaction with people
Sales Associate/Key Holder (Former Employee), Topeka, KSOctober 18, 2014
Pros: experince
Cons: not enough hours
Here I started off as just a Sales Associate and worked my way up to Key Holder position. Which gave me the experience of having some control, but unfortunately it came with lesser hours due to the number of key holders.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive enviroment
Assistant Manager/Store Manager Candidate (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCOctober 18, 2014
Pros: move up quickly
Cons: no overtime
Wonderful company to be employed by. Great opportunities and room for growth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK job
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee), Ruther Glen, VAOctober 17, 2014
I like working here, it's better than McDonald's but it's just hard getting hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average Place to Work
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Auburn, ALOctober 17, 2014
A typical work day consisted of stocking, zoning, and operating a cash register. I learned how to effectively zone and stock store. The hardest part of my job was trying to get a schedule to fit my needs. The most enjoyable part of my job was helping the customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical renovating
Temporary Position-Renovations (Former Employee), Coleman, MIOctober 17, 2014
Pros: easy understandable work
Cons: no room advancement
I worked for three weeks on certain days to help move around the store and get paid. It was an average work day with me picking up boxes, steel bars, and carrying them around the store. I did more heavy lifting then shelves placement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unstable, and over worked.
1st Key holder (Former Employee), Wayland, MIOctober 17, 2014
Pros: simple. easy.
Cons: little to no training. no help. low pay.
A typical day at Dollar General was working by yourself most of the day at the register with customers yelling at you over anything they could find wrong with prices, or tobacco policies. You were your own boss unless the store manager was in the store and you recovered by the registers when people were not waiting to be helped. When you had coworkers – more... they were never reliable, they would show up late, leave early, and try to tell you what to do when you were higher ranking then them. The hardest part of the job was denying sales to any age customer for tobacco de to lack of Identification. The best part of the job was when you would help a child or elderly customer and they would thank you up and down for just helping them put their things in their car, or taking a cart for them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced workplace, always something to do
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Vernon, CTOctober 17, 2014
At Dollar General not a day went by that was boring. There was always something to do wether it was working on the truck, price change labels, planogram changes or simply assisting customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and comfortable place to work
Cashier/Stocker/3rd Key Mgr (Former Employee), Franklin, NCOctober 17, 2014
Co-workers and customers alike made working there enjoyable. Was never given any task that was to big or to small, offered every day challenges which were easy to meet.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A horrible place to work
Manager (Former Employee), Summerville, SCOctober 17, 2014
Pros: interacting with different people on a daily
Cons: interrupted breaks, and being in the store by your self for long periods of times
*Very busy and not enough time
*How to multitask even better and in a timing matter
*Very little communicate
*Did what they wanted to do
*Everything was pretty easy
*Making sure the customers left happy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FUN PLACE TO WORK
Cashier, Cashiers (Former Employee), Williamston, NCOctober 17, 2014
Pros: get paid every week to help out with
Cons: no benefits, sometimes not enough staff, underpaid, 7.25 hour
Co Workers were the best, hardest part of job was making sure that all employees did as asked, pulling in the stock from the truck to be unloaded, most enjoyable part of the job was giving customer service, becoming a part of management was nice, learned how to interact with the vendors, developed good manners with vendors
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loyal Customers
Cashier (Current Employee), Citrus SpringsOctober 16, 2014
Pros: fast advancement
Cons: low salary
I have noticed that I see many loyal customers which helps build great business. The hardest part of my job is stocking shelves. You have to be very fast and accurate while lifting heavy items. The most enjoyable part of my job is seeing all of the smiling faces that come into the store and hearing them say how much they enjoy shopping at Dollar General.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible.
Cashier, Stocker (Former Employee), Covington, TNOctober 16, 2014
horrible place to work. horrible bosses, horrible management in general
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable Environment
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee), 45 South Airport DriveOctober 16, 2014
Pros: having a balanced register
Cons: p/t employees no benefits
Working the main cash register with assistance to the customer.
Management and employees great to work with.
Hardest part of the job was trying to stock the incoming merchandise for the store.
The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to work at your own pace
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workable place.
Cashier (Former Employee), Altoona, PAOctober 15, 2014
I worked working for them. I would still be working for them if I didn't move here to Las Vegas.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Leola, PAOctober 15, 2014
Pros: nice co-workers and easy job
Cons: no employee discounts
Managers and co-worker's are amazing. We are all like a big family. Everyone is always willing to help one another. Manger always had schedule up two weeks in advance, which is nice since you can plan your weeks out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paste work place
Retail Store Manager (Current Employee), Ridgeway, SCOctober 15, 2014
Pros: `
Have really learned a lot from DG. I am now looking to move forward and take my experience to a company that has more to offer and that can really acknowledge and appreciate hard work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work environment
Store Manager (Former Employee), Louisville, MSOctober 15, 2014
worked well with my coworkers, we worked hard setting up the store and keeping the merchandise stocked. I was able to help in assist with the set up of a new store. They have montly meetings to see how each store is doing, which is great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its not the company its the Managers
Sales Associate (Former Employee), El Paso, TxOctober 15, 2014
The company was wonderful but management was horrible. Their ego overcame them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Day care environment
Sales associate (Former Employee), Little Rock, AROctober 15, 2014
Love the kids, management was not organized, underpaid. Have good hours of operation.

1 2 3 4 5

About Dollar General

Goodlettsville, Tenn.-based Dollar General Corporation is the nation’s largest small-box discount retailer. We make shopping – Read more