Dollar General Employee Reviews in United States

Found 7,285 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved my job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Georgetown, KYMay 1, 2016
i loved my job and people i got to work with. i loved to go into work and do my hours. i always good good hours and manager was very understanding if ever needed to take day off
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast paced environment
Lead Key Holder (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXMay 1, 2016
The environment in which I work is ever-changing. No work day is exactly the same. For better or for worse, there is always something new to be learn, experience to gain, and a skill to master.
Pros
Great co-workers, great manager
Cons
Occasional rude customers
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Windsor, NYApril 30, 2016
The management staff is easy to work with and good at working around pre scheduled appointments. A typical day is greeting customers making sure the store is stocked and in great appearance view of customers. There's really no hard parts about the job.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wondeful place to work for
PICKER (Former Employee) –  Bessemer, ALApril 30, 2016
Dollar General had the top of the line building. First air conditioning warehouse I have ever been in. They care about the workers and there families. Always had family picnics for everyone to enjoy.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Crawfordsville, INApril 29, 2016
great job i moved up the later in less then 2 years from an associate to nd assistant manager and i did donations and i learned how to be more out spoken when need to be.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but exhausting
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Bethlehem, GAApril 29, 2016
Being a store manager has benefits but is very exhausting. They expect you to work 6 days a week for menial salary but it is a great experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Porductive and fun work placce
Sales Lead (Former Employee) –  New Castle, DEApril 29, 2016
A great place to work, but being in an unsafe environment will have its ups and downs, overall great company to work for in the future if your trying to get a little retail experience under your belt.
Pros
great people
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A valuable experience
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  High Point, NCApril 29, 2016
Not that hard of a day until the rush hours. I learned how to truly be a part of a team and how to dissolve conflict. Management was great, always supportive.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It has it's ups and downs
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Bayou La Batre, ALApril 29, 2016
A typical day would include recovery, cashiering, helping customers find items. I didn't learn anything new because I have cashiered before.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to grow
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Douglas, GAApril 29, 2016
Standard work day consisting of time sensitive tasks. Our local customer base makes the job worth-while. We treat each other like family which makes for great shifts.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Store Director/Manager (Former Employee) –  Garland, TXApril 28, 2016
fast pace great starting off point for all those willing to put in hard work. Plenty of work to do and interesting people to meet
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a very good place to work
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Somerset, KYApril 28, 2016
no training at all. no where near enough labor hours to run the store properly. this company doesn't care about it's employees at all or it's customers either for that matter.
Pros
pay
Cons
not enough labor
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay for part time work
Stock Clerk (Former Employee) –  Kingsport, TNApril 28, 2016
Great job for students, not much room for advancement, and no full time hours.

People are nice, and the work is easy. Busy at times, and they will teach you other jobs like cashier etc.
Pros
good for students
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, but hard to advance into management
Lead Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Martinsville, VAApril 27, 2016
Great company to work for for, but it was hard to advance into management. Stocking was enjoyable, because you could check out the nice merchandise.
Pros
The associates
Cons
short breaks when you are a lead
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an ok place to work, it defenitly helps to get paid every week
Customer Service/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOApril 27, 2016
Perfecting customer service learning to communicate with others and helping with their needs. Understanding the needs of management, and the co-workers. The hardest part of the job was getting yelled at for no reason. The most enjoyable part was getting along with everyone including customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Head Cashier (Former Employee) –  Winter Park, FLApril 27, 2016
Great company to advance with if you show incentive. They offer much in career advancement and training. People are very nice to work with.
Pros
Career advancement opportunites
Cons
cannot think of anything offhand
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a great place to work and learn new things
key holder (Former Employee) –  North CarolinaApril 27, 2016
My option about Dollar General is great . there is nothing bad about the company . its all about the people that run the store . the management there is not good at all. Honestly its the worst!!
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good extra money job
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Streamwood, ILApril 27, 2016
Really like working there, it is not as hard as you would think but i will say its more for people who are pasitive, and have the energy to do the job tasks. I have been employed there for 3 years and most people who dont have those things dont last. I really dont have any complaints about the company's district managers , they have been nothing but great to me.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
the building site
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive days
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Hollywood, FLApril 27, 2016
Rather not review this company. My experience working here was not all so pleasant. As for I was a full-time student working.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place to work
Operational Cycle Counter (Current Employee) –  Bethel, PAApril 27, 2016
It's an okay job but night shift is killing me and the shift limits my time to spend with my family. Co workers are very helpful. Most of the supervisors are nice people to work with just very unmotivated
Pros
Pay
Cons
Not getting 40 hours, Night Shift
Was this review helpful?Yes2No

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 7,294 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture