Dollar General Employee Reviews

Found 11,770 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work and salary does not match
District Manager (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCJuly 27, 2017
No work life balance, job culture stinks, work all weekends and there was a time when being a DM was awesome and now its more work and less pay, with no balance to enjoy your family
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wasn't a fun place to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Elizabeth City, NCJuly 27, 2017
Alot of back a forth from the front of the store to the back.. Putting up stock near the back of store and running to the front to cash people out. registers are old and slow, The scan guns wouldn't work. You would close at 10:30 pm and have to open at 6am the next day. My customers was what I liked the most
Pros
my customers
Cons
short breaks and you could be called back
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horriable
Key Holder/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Morristown, TNJuly 27, 2017
Dollar General is an aweful place to work for. They promise you 30 or more hours and they may give you 9. I was hired in as a Full-time keyholder. They refuse to train you correctly so you have to figure it out yourself.
They also promise you all these hours and you maybe get like 9.'
If you do something wrong then will leave you a petty sticky note of what you done wrong but no icentative of how to fix it. Its just an overall place to work for no wonder the turn over rate is out the roof.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dollar general is a great place to work they have great benefits
Orderfiller (Current Employee) –  Indianola, IAJuly 26, 2017
Dollar general is a company that you can grow in and they have a great management system and they are a company that has grow rapidly though the 3year that I have been in the company.Its just that I Vera would like to learn different thing in life
Pros
They also give awards for being safe on the job
Cons
There we have 3 breaks 2 (15 minutes) breaks and 1 (45 minutes ) a day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its okay
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  IndianaJuly 26, 2017
For a 1st job its okay. If you have a family no its not for you. Everyone else had weekends off but me. I did more work then I needed to and wasnt appreciated.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy Job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXJuly 26, 2017
Busy job with not enough pay nor benefits. Company doesnt work with your schedule nor will help you with really growing with them, its always busy and not enough employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Day at Dollar General
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Clemmons, NCJuly 26, 2017
Opening paperwork, opening the store, balancing the money for the opening shifts, making sure the store is recovered, the stock room is tidy and the sales floor has a neat and presentable for the customers. Greeting, speaking to the customers, handling any issues that arise. Stocking if needed to replenish products. Ordering products for customers if they need products I do not have. At the end of shift, counting down the til and making the deposit.

Setting up the associates for the afternoon shift with tasks and guidance.

On call for the rest of the day until store is closed for the evening.
Pros
Meeting and greeting new customers and having the potential to change someone's day.
Cons
Not a whole lot of family time allotted as you are on call, Your day off you are on call as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work with bad pay
Cashier/Stocker (Former Employee) –  Canton, OHJuly 26, 2017
very fast paced environment ,trying to stock shelves between waiting on customers, as soon as you walk away from cash register someone comes for you to check them out
Pros
learned register
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management :(
Store Associate (Former Employee) –  Merryville, LAJuly 26, 2017
Work overall wasn't hard or overbearing. The staff was easy to get along with. Due to poor management i lost a job for not having new time sheets out.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cluttered unorganized store filled with aggressive customers
Key Holder, (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOJuly 26, 2017
a typical day at work with dollar general was like not even being at work. when you think of work you think of a productive steady forward moving establishment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
most time fun
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Albany, GAJuly 26, 2017
this job is fun but it also can be stressing due to them not having enough employees. the hardest is stocking and trying to do the cashier job at the same time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work no team players that store only think of them .
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Grass Valley, CAJuly 26, 2017
Not a great place .. to work. No respect.. the manager is horrible.. please don't work there. They hire the worst employee s .. they are lazy...mmm
Pros
No pros
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful
Key Holder/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Santa Claus, INJuly 26, 2017
dollar general is a very stressful place to work for just been a retail store that isn't that big. the manager at the time down talked employees by calling them fat or lazy in front of customers and other employees. wouldn't show up for their shifts most of the time so I would have to work them because we didn't have an assistant manager and I was the next full time person that could open and close the store and could do paperwork and stuff
Pros
none
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employees devalued.
Merchandiser / Floater (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNJuly 26, 2017
Unless you are a regional manager, you are devalued. Store managers are unpaid and overworked. They also have a hard time balancing life and work because they have to be devoted to the store. The sale associates are underpaid.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Thibodaux, LAJuly 26, 2017
Great place to work! Always have something to work on. I enjoyed meeting new people everyday. Management was wonderful to work with. you have an opportunity for advancement.
Pros
Never have to sit around doing nothing. Plenty of work to do!
Cons
Dealing with rude customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours, Not enough people working on a shift
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Mineola, TXJuly 26, 2017
They have great benefits, and paid holidays. But they expect tou to do way more work tgen is possible in a day. The hours are often long but you work alone a lot of the time in the mornings so you cant get alot done.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Long hourq
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Stress
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Ocala, FLJuly 26, 2017
Very fast paced environment, must have the ability to multi task. The hardest part of the job is the constant changing of the products. The customers are a variety of all walks of life.
Pros
none
Cons
High stress
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Okolona, MSJuly 26, 2017
It's a good starter job. Very nice place to work if you have the right crew. DM is a good man and so is lost prevention. The store manager was ok before she stepped down.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy but fun
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Lansing, MIJuly 26, 2017
I loved dollar general i loved seeing all my regular customers everyday. The customers we great the company is great i love there products as well. Had SOME busy daysbut most partit was fun.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Richmond, KYJuly 26, 2017
Have a good repoire with management and the public. Learned cashier skills. Stocking skills. Had a good work ethic . Came in on days off when needed. Showed up for work on time.
Pros
extra money
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Dollar General. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 11,778 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Compensation/Benefits
2.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.1
Culture
3.1