Find companies:
Dollar General
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
3,748 reviews

Dollar General Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a fun work place to be hired at.
Cashier (Former Employee), Hilliard, FLSeptember 28, 2014
Pros: my pay rate.
Cons: when doing inventory.
I honestly loved Dollar General simply because i had a great manger that always helped me with whatever i had an issue with. i also liked the fact that i stayed busy and able to move around instead of standing in one place.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Florence, SCSeptember 28, 2014
A typical day at work consist of operating a cash register while providing customer satisfaction. Working for this company I have learned that with time and patience, hard work pays off. On a day to day schedule, it one sales associate and one member of the management team operating the store. Which makes the job even harder because it takes more than – more... two persons to operate the store. Even though I have to multitask 3-4 task at a time, the joy of seeing the customer satisfy make it all worth wild. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice staff
Cashier (Current Employee), Wayland, MISeptember 28, 2014
I love my staff I work with, however I do not like having to clock out and wait up to an hour for my coworker to get done with her job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not understanding of personal life
Cashier (Former Employee), Junction City, KSSeptember 27, 2014
The prior store manager was not understanding of me needing one day off for my husband to have surgery. He also showed lots of favoritism.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always something to do
Keyholder (Former Employee), Cedar Rapids, IASeptember 27, 2014
Pros: you get to see the new items first.
Cons: there wasn't enough hours
I liked working here. The pay was good and the customer and co-workers were nice and easy to get along with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Preductive and fun work place
Cashier,, Unload Trucks, Assisted Customers (Former Employee), Meadville PaSeptember 27, 2014
A Typical Day At Work Was Never Boreing. I Learned About new Product. Management Was easy To Get Along With. Got Along With Everyone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They treat their management very poorly.
Store Manager (Former Employee), Huntsville, MOSeptember 27, 2014
Pros: great compensation
Cons: benefits were terribly and so was upper management
Your work days can range from 10 hours to an entire day depending on the mood of my particular area manager. I have never worked any place where I was treated so poorly and unprofessionally. I loved my employees they were great and I knew my customers because it was a small town I lived in I hated to leave them but just could not take the way the company – more... treated the management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was enjoyable until relocated
Cashier (Former Employee), Murfreesboro, TNSeptember 26, 2014
innappropriate conduct from managers/too much horseplay
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rough environment with a high turn over rate
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Waterloo, NYSeptember 26, 2014
Pros: learning experience..
Cons: the whole thing..
You all in all have to be ADHD and or very good at multitasking to an extreme level.. Rules and regulations are not always enforced and consideration for the well being of their employees goes out the window unless you are part of the in crowd. Don't get me wrong. I worked here for three years but in the end I was forced out due to the fact that I had – more... medical things going on and they didn't want to cover the benefits due a full time associate.. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work but not enough pay.
Sales Associate (Current Employee), San Antonio, TXSeptember 26, 2014
A typical day of work is just working to register, helping customer check out. On the down time recover the store.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun and exciting place to work
Cashier (Current Employee), Gulfport MSSeptember 26, 2014
Working at dollar general was enjoyable because of our customers and my co-workers. You learned how to deal with disagreeable customers and find ways to get them what they need/want. The hardest part of the job was to complete all task and work with the public
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You can advance within the company quickly but the job can be very fast paced and stressful
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Thibodaux, LASeptember 26, 2014
Pros: good management
Cons: can be fast paced and stressful
* on register as cashier
* doing recovery
* sweeping
* returning misplaced items
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stocking,cashier, interviewing, schedualling
Manager (Former Employee), Roanoke, VASeptember 26, 2014
Cons: long hours, not much payroll for schedualling employees
open store and registers,start stocking shelves, keep cashiers relieved for brakes and directions on work plan for the day. accommidate venders customers, filing paper work cloing out and making bank deposits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice customers but porely ran by management
Cashier / Stock (Former Employee), Columbia, MOSeptember 25, 2014
Pros: flexible work hours
Cons: to short of hours, no benefits
The actual work was nice with a small retail store. Customers were polite and friendly. The management on the other hand could not keep promises that were made.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Starting Job
Third Key Holder (Former Employee), Ashland, ILSeptember 25, 2014
Dollar General helps you to learn customer service skills and how to work with the public.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace was productive but short handed
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Bessemer, ALSeptember 24, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: not getting paid for the hours i worked.
Overall Dollar General is a productive place of employment when everyone is on the same page as one another. Most times the work load was overbearing because when didn't have enough employees to cover the work load which made it harder on everyone else. I did not like the fact that I put in extra hours but didn't get paid for it.If I had to do it again, – more... I wouldn't do it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working with customers
Retail Associate (Former Employee), 714 Terry Parkway Gretna,LA. 70056September 24, 2014
Pros: store was located near my house.
Cons: was part time employee, but got less than 20 average per week.
Normally stocked for 2 hours and then Cashier.
Learned lay-out of store in chemical section and learned how to be efficient on the register.
Management was very nice but not very helpful.
Was required to stock items when no one was at the counter, But the store was so busy there was little time to perform both duties.
I enjoyed helping the customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
intresting place to work
Lead Sales Associate (Former Employee), ChattanoogaSeptember 24, 2014
Pros: people
Cons: working in some dangerious areas
not a bad company to work for the people were all great. the company has problems communicating among its various branch's though, left hand just doesn't talk to the right one.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
did daily store operations
Store Manager (Former Employee), Valliant, OKSeptember 23, 2014
did daily store operations, did daily deposits, plan a grams. interviewing and hiring.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management with no obvious goals to work towards.
CASHIER/SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), Barstow, CASeptember 23, 2014
Pros: close to where i live
Cons: no benefits, poor management, smallest stockroom i've ever dealt with
When I first started at Dollar General it wasn't too bad, I was actually excited to go to work and earn an honest days work. After about 5-6 months that started to change. Management would never take notice of employees going "above and beyond" and the store's goals for long-term success were very unclear. After that management got let go and a new – more... management team was brought it things got even worse. The new management barely knew how to run the store and the blame would all fall down on the hard-working sales associates. I don't mind at all working with a healthy striving crew of individuals but when the captain can't maintain a healthy, productive ship things get difficult very fast. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Dollar General

Goodlettsville, Tenn.-based Dollar General Corporation is the nation’s largest small-box discount retailer. We make shopping – Read more