Find companies:
Dollar General
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
3,676 reviews

Dollar General Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Clerk (Former Employee), Fort Valley, GASeptember 14, 2014
Pros: friendly customers
Cons: short lunch breaks
i thoroughly enjoyed working at this place, i ended up making great friends, and learned new skills as far as being a clerk was concerned.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Workplace
Assistant Manager - Store Manager (Former Employee), Valdese, NCSeptember 13, 2014
Pros: great place to work
Cons: stressful
Dollar General was one of my favorite places to work. Very stressful indeed, but overall, I fell in love with all my co workers and my customers. I enjoyed every part of this job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Minimum wage, non flexible schedule and work schedule not as advertized
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Greeley, COSeptember 13, 2014
Pros: paid weekly
Cons: no breaks, minimum wage management.
If I didn't need a paycheck, I would have quit the first week. Open store, reshelf isles, price check, stock, time limits for every task.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place
Store Manager (Former Employee), Columbia, TNSeptember 12, 2014
Had no support from district, had to work open to close for 9 weeks with no breaks, no lunch or anything Working 120 a week but only getting paid for 40hr
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Moving up with the company
Key Holder (Current Employee), Greensboro, NCSeptember 12, 2014
With in the first year of me working there I moved up twice. The company is awesome.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of work
Store Manager (Former Employee), NopeSeptember 12, 2014
Pros: left alone most of the time
Cons: lots of hours, no lunch
No home life
Lots of hours
No lunch breaks
enjoyed the customers
Steady paycheck
Good place to learn
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2nd best job
Cashier/K (Former Employee), Monticello, GASeptember 12, 2014
This was an excellent job until they started cutting hours. I was promoted an promised 35+ hours a week but ended up only receiving 20 hours or less a week.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A productive workday at dollar general
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Neeses, SCSeptember 12, 2014
Cons: the ability to move up
I loved working here. everybody got along and worked well as a team to make sure the store was up to the DM standards. nothing was hard about this job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my review at my job
Cashier (Current Employee), brownstownSeptember 12, 2014
come in to work get a till count it an i am the cashier for the day as a cashier we have many things we have to do clean up ,recovery,helping customers and stocking.i have learned how to work in retail. the management is okay though we have new thing everyday. my co-workers are cool they help out when others don't get something and they keep the drama – more... at home and now a days that's likely to happen in a work place.the hardest part of my job is some time dealing with some of the customers some of them can be mean and disrespect but i have to deal with it and say have a great day and sorry i could not be more helpful.working with the people there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy
Store Manager (Former Employee), Fairborn, OHSeptember 11, 2014
Pros: fullfilling
Cons: time needed
I very much enjoyed working for the dollar store; however my life at the time wasn't allowing the time I needed to be as diligent.

The dollar store as an employer was great; my children needed my time and there was no was for me to balance that time then.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast paced work enviornment
PT Sales Associate (Current Employee), Carrboro, NCSeptember 10, 2014
Assisting customers
Running cash register
stocking and recovering shelves
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Order Filler (Former Employee), Marion, INSeptember 9, 2014
Great place to work. The managers actually care about the workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dollar General
Cashier (Former Employee), Pittsburg, TXSeptember 9, 2014
Pros: meeting and greeting the customers and assist them, my mangers and coworkers always greet me and always had nice things to say
Cons: couldn't get a good relationship with my store mangers
I always get to Dollar General about a hour early everyday I work. I love to get there to get a early focus on my day. Look at the billboard to remind myself of the recovery, the regulations and rules, and how my process on the register was the time before. After, I go and try find my manger. I ask if she can give me pointer of how I can improve my – more... performance before I hit the clock. From the time I clock in I find my mind in what I call my "work zone". What's more important that day is getting my job done and how I can help my store mangers better the store. What makes my day is seeing warm smile from the customers and give one back. I welcome them and ask if they need assist at the time. I have my own register and ring customers out, bagging their merchandise, and always welcome them back. Between ringing customers I stock the front of the store or recovery by taking things back to the proper places or fix items on the shelves to make look good. If I don't have nothing else to do or finish everything my manger of me I started sweeping the front of the store, empty the trash or even start cleaning the bathrooms.My best at my job is how I can make the store look as if I want my home to look. What I can do to make it look and feel like I would at my home. Warm, welcome, and pleased. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company if you are willing to work very hard
manager (Current Employee), Dallas TXSeptember 9, 2014
Compensation is good
work/life balance is bad
Management does care if you keep communication open.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the Customers
Cashier/ Customer Service (Former Employee), Greenville, SCSeptember 9, 2014
Pros: the customers, never a dule moment
Cons: medical benifits, no room for advancement and didn't pay enough, limited access without manager. need security, it can get dangerous during holiday season.
*A typical day consisted of helping customers, rotating inventory and cleaning.
*I learned to fix problems with limited supervision and access.
*Management was calm and collected.
*The co-workers were easy to work with.
*The hardest part of my job was to satisfy the customers in a timely fashion with limited access when ever management was gone.
*The – more... most enjoyable part of the job was the customers that came in. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun work place
cashier (Former Employee), Balch Springs, TX 75180September 9, 2014
I did like working here they had great hours I learned a lot about how a store is operated.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace and great fellow employees
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Lyons Falls, NYSeptember 9, 2014
It was fund to learn the retail business and to be ablt to work with so many different people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Supervisor
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Memphis, TNSeptember 8, 2014
While working in Memphis, I was blessed to have met a guy who I knew while in college. He reassured me that if I listen and take heed to his management approach in retail, I could apply to any industry.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
"It's ok for someone who need a little extra money
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Montgomery, ALSeptember 8, 2014
Pros: the one 1-hour lunch break and 15-minute break for those long shifts.
Cons: very low pay for what you have to do as a sales associate.
Well, I want to start off by saying that this company is an OK company to work IF you have good management. The management I had was not professional and did not do some stuff by the book. I would say be careful and make sure you follow ALL the rules and read your handbook that they have on the website upon the hiring process. IT WILL BE YOUR VITAL – more... TOOL! Especially, with complaints that you may I have. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool job updates
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Columbus, TXSeptember 8, 2014
Pros: close to home
Cons: low hours
Very easy to navigate and apply for a job without the extra stuff

1 2 3 4 5

About Dollar General

Goodlettsville, Tenn.-based Dollar General Corporation is the nation’s largest small-box discount retailer. We make shopping – Read more