Dollar General Employee Reviews

Found 12,151 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Part Time Opener to Full Time Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Moline, ILAugust 17, 2017
Best choice I made but they over work thier Store Manager very high standards alot of internal advancement opportunities. Pay could be better for the expectations
Pros
Great experience
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job overall
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Bowling Green, KYAugust 16, 2017
If the management was better I would have stayed with the dollar General for a long time however school was way more important and the wouldn't work with my college schedule . I put up stock was a cashier and cleaned and I have very little complaints.
Pros
You get to work with people
Cons
30 min. Breaks for 8 hour shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was awesome working there
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Little Rock, ARAugust 16, 2017
When I started at dollar general I was part time stocker at my 90 days I made to from stocker to a key holder to a assistant manager is was able to learn how to close and open the store I also learned how to direct the employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst retail experience ever.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Tullahoma, TNAugust 16, 2017
Not a fun place to work, work load is more than normal retail due to limited employment. Management does absolutely nothing but sit in there office. Early mornings for days you get shipments.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring
Assistant manager (Former Employee) –  Pampa, TXAugust 16, 2017
Dollar general was not the place for me, I barely got paid good even after becoming manager. The hardest was making sure everyone was doing their job correctly and if not having to fire them or sign them up
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pay and hours
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Kinston, NCAugust 16, 2017
Low pay and no opportunities for more than 20 hours a week, unless workers are needed. Hard work for low pay,no advancement opportunities available for employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful. Expect way to much. Little pay and no gratitude.
3rd Key Manager (Former Employee) –  Springfield, MOAugust 16, 2017
They expect way too much from you. The pay sounds nice but once you figure your numbers( days there,work expected) you made less than min wage in my book. Plus there was no gratitude or satisfaction for what you did do.
Pros
Its a job.
Cons
Heck no, run away
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and fast
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAAugust 16, 2017
I was given the opportunity to come in as a cashier and from experience within the company was able to move up to a management position within a year. Great company that allows for room to grow if interested.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Cashier/Sales-Associate (Former Employee) –  Tallahassee, FLAugust 16, 2017
Dollar General is fast-paced, busy, hard work. There is no sitting or resting at any point. The hours you are scheduled weekly are inconsistent, like with any customer service job. Management takes care of its employees.
Pros
Nice employers
Cons
Inconsistent scheduling.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits and work ethics.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Pinellas Park, FLAugust 16, 2017
People were always so friendly and veey generous. My manager was always super understanding and compassionate. I loved working here and if I had the chance I would go back, no doubt.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relax place to work at
Sale Associate (Current Employee) –  Kinston, NCAugust 16, 2017
I learn how to handle money. To be Responsibility for your job and things that apply to u when your at work. And the most good part of my day is the customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Coshocton, OHAugust 16, 2017
It was fun place to work and everyone was nice and helpful the job was fun to see new faces everyday and interact with different people the environment of the work place was fun and happy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management from District Manages and up
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Clarksville, INAugust 16, 2017
Inconsistent and Rude District and Regional Mangers.
Retaliation for making complaint
DM and RM were rude and corrected employees in front of other employees and customers
Not professional at all.
Extreme hours and long weeks
In the stores by yourself regularly
Pros
Customer Service
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work for low pay
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Springfield, MOAugust 16, 2017
The employees are usually great. The company doesn't trust you. The company will not allow adequate staffing to increase sales and lower shrink. Most of the time there are only two people working, which can be a safety issue. And forget about an uninterrupted break.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  OKC, OKAugust 16, 2017
As a store mgr you are expected to do most of the work as they are stingy on labor budget.
And then will shrink the already small budget on a moments notice
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends on you manager
SMC/ Manager (Former Employee) –  Albany, GAAugust 16, 2017
It can be a good place to work, but if you stock and not cashier....its hard work and you will sweat.Early mornings for stock and quick paced. There is alot of inventory involved and if not properly stocked, it throws the numbers off very easily
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Key Holder/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Waycross, GAAugust 16, 2017
Great place to work and advancing with the company is not a problem. You just have to be willing to do the work which is not hard, come to work and do your job, be on time, etc.
Pros
Advancement, benefits and full-time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Aiken, SCAugust 16, 2017
A continuous schedule samething every week. Follow the 7 day workflow. Clean up after yourself and take care the customer. The customer is always first! Definitely have to follow the instructions of the manager and the dm. Do what is asked of you.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I gained a lot of insight on CPG companies
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Lonoke, ARAugust 16, 2017
• Began to understand challenge and opportunities with CPGs in a $20 billion retailer
• Established friendly rapport upon greeting customers
• Proactively served and supported members of my team
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Dollar General (Former Employee) –  Germantown, PAAugust 16, 2017
Everyday I came in and was greeted with a smile and a goodmorning. I got my work done and if I ever had a problem I could go to one of them and I would be assisted. Overall it is just great and very friendly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Dollar General. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 12,159 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Compensation/Benefits
2.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.1
Culture
3.1

CEO Approval

62%
4,357 ratings
Add your rating