Find companies:
Dollar General
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
3,707 reviews

Dollar General Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NEVER A DULL MOMENT
Sales and Management (Former Employee), GASTONIA,N.C.September 21, 2014
GREAT WORKPLACE JUST AWFUL PAY. THEY ALSO REFUSE TO GIVE YOU OVERTIME.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
steady work place
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Spartanburg, SCSeptember 20, 2014
Pros: meeting new people
Cons: short breaks
maintain cashier , greeting people , management skills

co workers were very helpful
management was responsibility that i succeeded
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Friendly environment and everyone has an easy going attitude.
Stock Clerk (Current Employee), Kenefick, TXSeptember 20, 2014
typical day: rushing to complete our current delivery truck
co-workers: easy going and easy to get along with
management: task oriented keeping us on schedule without pushing to hard.
hardest part of the job: delivery trucks are late sitting us back
enjoyably part: being able to talk while working and not having to rush
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
As long as you keep a positive attitude, you'll feel comfortable working here
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Sharon, TNSeptember 20, 2014
Pros: co-workers are friendly
Cons: the schedules could be more flexible
Most days, I run the register and stock medicine when there are no customers waiting to check out.
I have learned that you can let another persons bad mood affect you. You have to stay positive.
I have no complaints with management or co-workers, other than the fact that the schedule is too rigid. I can find myself in pleasant or playful conversation – more... with them from time to time. The hardest part of the job is simply being able to stand for a long time. Ever heard of varicose veins? The most enjoyable part of the job is getting those rare customers that match you're energy when you greet them. Their great day makes yours that much better. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive and growing business with great staff.
Store Manager (Former Employee), Nashville, MISeptember 19, 2014
Pros: variety of jobs to do and always kept busy.
Cons: when employee called off and had to work open to close of 15 hours straight.
I enjoyed working at this career because there were so many different things to do and so many different people you came into contact with everyday. Never a boring day I learned how to listen to and help solve customers needs and complaints. The best part of job was seeing your accomplishments and watching co-workers grow and succeed. I very much enjoy – more... working with people and in retail. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very Friendly and posive enviorment
sales associate, Cashiers (Former Employee), Farmville, NCSeptember 19, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: short breaks
My typical day work involved going straight to the stock room or the cash register depending on what i was schedule to do that day, I learned how to be customer friendly , my management very good i don't have any complaints, there really wasn't a hard part to that job everything was quite easy, but the most enjoyable part was coming in early in the – more... morning so i can have the whole afternoon off – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job...it keeps you really busy!
District Manager (Former Employee), FloridaSeptember 19, 2014
Pros: good benefits
Cons: heavy workloads
I liked working at Dollar General as a District Manager. The workloads are heavy, but the rewards can be great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent part-time job
Sales associate, cashier (Former Employee), Flint, MISeptember 19, 2014
This job was ok at best, but mostly do to area. Otherwise, I enjoyed talking with customers on a regular basis and getting to know those who came in regularly. Job duties weren't ever too hard, although at times I did feel overworked.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be thoroughly enjoyable with regular customer interaction.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Wake Forest, NCSeptember 19, 2014
A typical day at work was somewhat tedious at times. However, the interaction with people was rewarding in knowing that you helped someone today, whether it be making them smile, or finding something they were looking for.
My co-workers were easy to get along with and make the day go by. The hardest part of the job was getting motivated to go in during – more... a short-term illness. the management was not very effective with communication....involuntarily cut from schedule during illness which was being treated. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great teamwork, enjoyable staff, low pay
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee), Miamisburg, OHSeptember 18, 2014
Pros: great environment
Cons: low pay
Cashier duties, product facing, stocking, customer relations, cash handling, planogram resets, seasonal displays, transaction logging, employee coaching, interview applicants, etc
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst company i worked for
Cashier/Stocker (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVSeptember 18, 2014
dollar general is a horrible unorganized company. constantly changing managers and district managers. so much theft that goes on in the store. no security to help while we put ourself at risk
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed working with people, flexable hours, etc
Cashier/Stocker (Former Employee), Norman, OKSeptember 18, 2014
Pros: walking distance from home
Cons: pay rate was minimum wage
enjoyed going to work everyday, seen new people everyday. got along with coworkers, wanted to work more hours to make up the pay
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The company was ok, management was not so great
Lead Sales Associate Manager (Former Employee), Hazlehurst, MSSeptember 18, 2014
opening and closing the store was awesome
co-workers were very easy to get along with
the store manager could really use some help
a great place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great paced work
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee), Joplin, MOSeptember 17, 2014
Pros: a friendly place to work
Cons: i had to leave
I was only employed with Jody Zimmer at Dollar General for just under 2 months when I found out I was in a high risk pregnancy, then I started having problems with medical and had to relocate for better care.
I was one of the closers at this store and I believed that a pay check was a pay check and was thankful for the opritunity to earn one. Not everyone – more... gets an opritunity these days.
I got along with everyone there and miss them to this day. Recently I called to get the store number for a job application here and Jodie ask me why I didn't come back to work for her.
A typical day at Dollar General was a good one. I come to work and clocked in, counted my till to 100.00, then began my shift. Between customers I stocked shelfs or zoned items. At close I swept, mopped, zoned, gathered trash, and made sure the store was neat for the open of the next buisnes day. Never was there a dull moment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good first job
Cashier (Former Employee), Richmond Hill, GASeptember 17, 2014
Was my first job. it taught me how to run the cash register and abt inventory. nice place for teens.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorginized
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Baker, LASeptember 16, 2014
Dollar General had a very horrible management team. The work schedule was supposed to be made at least a week in advance it would be made on the day of...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its busy and never boring
3rd key management position (Former Employee), Runnelstown, MSSeptember 16, 2014
Pros: the hours were flexible
Cons: .25 cent a year raise... really?????
A typical day@ work I was always busy in which I like to be. I learned how to multitask in which I think everyone needs to learn how to do in the day we live in. Management was definitely an experience I will never forget, I had the opportunity to step-up,and learn more about the jod and I did. My co-workers were great, we all got along and worked together. – more... The hardest part of the job was the lifting, pulling, and pushing of the freight we received every week. The most enjoyable part of the job was talking and meeting new people, I also loved counting money, and doing the paperwork. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FUN WORKPLACE
ASSISTANT MANAGER/ MANAGER (Former Employee), San Benito, TXSeptember 16, 2014
Pros: fun workplace
Cons: wages
PRIOR TO BEING ASSISTANT, I WAS A MANAGER BUT VOLUNTARILY DEMOTED MYSELF TO BE CLOSER TO HOME DUE TO MY DAUGHTER BEING ILL. I OPENED AND CLOSED THE STORE, MONETARY HANDLING, BANK DEPOSITS, WENT TO DIFFERENT STORES TO HELP THEM OPEN OR CLOSE THE STORES DOWN FOR REBUILDING, ALSO HELP IN INVENTORY. ALSO RANKED LOWEST SHRINKAGE PERCENTAGE IN MY INVENTORY.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dead-end job with no support from cooperate management
Manager (Current Employee), OklahomaSeptember 16, 2014
This job could be fun and more profitable for Dollar General if they really followed their corporate mission statement of "Serving Others".

The wages are low, corporate management plays no part in the day to day operations of a store, and the store managers are forced to milk employees for every bit of labor they can to meet the corporate quotas.

If – more... you need a temporary position while completing college or if you have a child that needs a prod to attend college then this job is right for you!

Expect your low earning customers to treat you like scum of the Earth and most welfare recipients will treat you as if it is necessary to treat them like royalty! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place. small but productive.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Clementon, NJSeptember 16, 2014
even though its a small place to work, the co workers are all so close. truly the best place i've worked so far. never boring, always fast paced.

1 2 3 4 5

About Dollar General

Goodlettsville, Tenn.-based Dollar General Corporation is the nation’s largest small-box discount retailer. We make shopping – Read more