Dollar General Employee Reviews

Found 9,167 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Review
Lead sales associate (Current Employee) –  New Braunfels, TXJanuary 21, 2017
Has opportunities for advancement willing to work with schedule. Hours are very inconsistent.Good atmosphere high turnover rate.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Be cautious
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Inwood, WVJanuary 21, 2017
Depending on management the job could be decent place to work. Be curious and ask questions. Talk to people who work their and get their honest opinion on that certain location.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Sales Associate/Key Holder (Former Employee) –  Gainesville, GAJanuary 21, 2017
It was a good place to work. I always had something to do. I learned how to count down drawers, and open registers,etc. The most enjoyable part was when I got to be out on the floor getting things done, it made me feel good to be able to day I got a lot done.
Pros
Good breaks
Cons
No discounts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slave drivers
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Mobile, ALJanuary 21, 2017
I worked my way up to associate to salaries store manger. What a waste of time. They don't take the proper time to train people just throw them to the wolves. I would never work here again. It's not worth the stress they put on the store managers
Pros
Pay
Cons
U work for every penny with sweat and tears.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced
Casier (Current Employee) –  Milford, OHJanuary 21, 2017
I worked seasonal so my whole day was spent as a cashier and time did fly by. management was very helpful and I enjoyed the customers
Pros
fast paced
Cons
the pay was minimum wage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
drama filled work place
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, ILJanuary 20, 2017
unprofessional management
gossip city
unfair
unreasonable
I cleaned the bathrooms my cashier station sweeped stocked
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, sometimes hard, a great learning group experience
Cashier/ Stocker (Former Employee) –  Ola, ARJanuary 20, 2017
Management was great.
It was a fun place to work.
Hardest part was the long nights.
I learned responsibility and how to manage money.
We had a cop escorts every night to the bank.
Pros
The friendships made
Cons
Long nights
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work at fun n great people
Manger (Former Employee) –  Beverly Hills, FLJanuary 20, 2017
I love working for them great people and great teacher also they teach you everything you need to know from the first day you start you also have to take test on a computer they will work with when you need days off or even switch shift around .As long a you do what you need to you can become shift manger fast then you think
Pros
NOTHING FREE
Cons
ALWAYS GOT BREAKS
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Short term pit stop at best
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Sandy Springs, SCJanuary 20, 2017
Wages are the lowest in the country. Even if you get promoted to keyholder or asst manager, the pay is still awful. I made more money washing dishes at Dennys than i did as a keyholder at DG. There are NO benefits, no time and a half. The place is a revolvong door for employees. This makes it impossible to have a smooth running ship when your longest tenured employee has only been there a few months. And it greatly increases your work load because your always short handed 1 or 2 people. My store manager was fired for a number of bad things. And the new manager seemed out of place and even lazy at times. Overall it was my worst job experiance of my 12 years in the work force. Avoid at all costs unless you are really desperate. Even then, make it a temporary pit stop. Its not a long term job and there is no advancment. Corporate is very stingy also.
Pros
Small stores that are easy to memorize. Daily duties are fairly simple.
Cons
Revolving door of employees, always short handed, terrible pay, no benefits, no advancement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good place to work at first.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLJanuary 20, 2017
The job was good at first I started out a cashier. I thought my manager was nice and good at first. Then I watched her move a couple of people out the way so I could get moved up to Assistant Manager. I kept the position for almost a year, but then I noticed she was doing the same thing to me. I did not like my experience that I had with the dollar general that I worked at.
Pros
the pay was good
Cons
the way you get done by the manager
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible company to work for
Lead Key Holder (Current Employee) –  Jasper, ALJanuary 20, 2017
Job expectations versus hours allotted to complete tasks are not logical. Management is very disrespectful, no training provided. I would not recommend working for this company to anyone.
Pros
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company lacks efficient management
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Lake Charles, LAJanuary 20, 2017
This is a great company to work for. The management I've seen, not only as an employee but, as a customer is horrific. I know the struggles we deal with on a daily basis, but I can not begin to fathom why anyone would treat customers as if they are all thieves. I am embarrassed to work here sometimes because of how bad it is getting. Customers see our struggles and sympathize with us, but why doesn't management?
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place too shop but the assistant managers suck
Lead Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Apple Valley, CAJanuary 20, 2017
Good place too shop but the assistant managers suck they don't do any work At all. They just sit in the back and walk around the store on there phones. But its a stop between a gas station and a grocery store
Pros
Customers
Cons
Assistant managers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun people, never enough time
Manager on duty (Former Employee) –  Englewood, FLJanuary 20, 2017
It was an enjoyable place to work, but you can never get caught up. Too much overstock and not enough room to put things. Normally, that spells opportunity, but the money just isn't there to make it worth while, for most people.
Pros
Friendly co-workers
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not so great
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  PAJanuary 20, 2017
At first, this job seemed not so bad, compared to other employers I've had. It took me over a year to see the true colors of this company and I'm truly dissatisfied
Pros
Writing your own schedule (within company guidelines), semi decent benefits
Cons
Lowest of low compensation, overworking of store managers, store managers cannot make any decisions themselves, everything has to done the way corporate wants it
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
As a stocker you work at your own pace
Lead Stocker and Cashier (Former Employee) –  Stone Mountain, GAJanuary 20, 2017
I loved working here even tho I thought they could pay more. But it was only part time for me so it was not a big deal. Most people only get 24 hours a week. I was working 16-20. I had weekends off. Easy job once you learn the store. As a cashier you get a chance to meet a lot of people. Some nice, Some are very rude but If you know how to not take people serious you will get a good laugh everyday. I heard of a lot of stores do getting robbed. That was my only issue. If you give then you could be fired or let go but if you do not than you are putting your life at risk
Pros
pays every week
Cons
safety
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I've never had a job but am looking to gain a job . i am 16 and in hih school
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Euclid, OHJanuary 20, 2017
typical work day is unpacking boxes being a clerk cleaning and helping others.
what i learned was that in order to be a good business you need to be a team and work together. id like a manager that told me what to do but, was also there.
my work place culture is fast and interactive
no hard parts of the job as long as were getting along.
most enjoyable part of the job is talking to ohers.
Pros
great worker, great wit other people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very hectic
Manager (Former Employee) –  West Point, VAJanuary 19, 2017
it was a very annoying place to work I diddnt like the long drawn out hours and mpr did I like the way we were treated I liked the weekly pay I learned how to deal with other people ,different attitudes and I enjoyed being around others as well as being in a leadership position.
Pros
weekly pay
Cons
not enough pay for the work you do
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working at dollar general very friendly environment
Cashier (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJanuary 19, 2017
I just focus on the task at hand stay busy I enjoyed working there very friendly environment easy I wouldn't mind going back .I left because they wanted me to relocate other than that it was a awesome job
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was a Store Manager
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Sheffield, ALJanuary 19, 2017
This is a terrible company to work for they do not take care of their employees. They've taken away bonuses and do not pay you enough.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Dollar General. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 9,176 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Compensation/Benefits
2.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.1
Culture
3.1