Dollar General Employee Reviews

Found 11,263 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dollar g
Key Holder/Sales Lead (Current Employee) –  Hopewell, PAJune 22, 2017
I don't care for this job when you have a rude disrespectful boss that doesn't make coming to work fun and only nice to a few of her employee nobody d
Pros
Nice Customers
Cons
Not eough hour
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice workplace
Lead Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Magnolia, ARJune 22, 2017
Although my stint with the company wasn't long at all; I still enjoyed every minute I had with the company. The work environment was nice mainly because of the customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy job, however extremely boring
LEAD SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Lawrenceville, GAJune 22, 2017
Very easy job, however it was very very boring. None of the staff seemed to want to interact with one another and they all looked miserable. Most of the time I was there the staff always talked bad about management .
Pros
Easy
Cons
Boring
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A job to get by
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Lithia Springs, GAJune 22, 2017
This is just a job to get by. There are no special perks for working for this company. A pro is that checks come weekly and because there is always short staff there is always room for advancement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tightly-knit work environment
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Springfield, MOJune 22, 2017
This was otherwise a great place to work...when I actually got to work. I was lucky to get over 20 hours a week. If you're looking for a part-time second job, this is it. Otherwise, look elsewhere.
Pros
Weekly Pay
Cons
Good luck getting hours if you're not management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Lead Sales Associate and stocker (Former Employee) –  Greer, SCJune 22, 2017
I love shopping at the Dollar General. I can find everything I need there and pay a fraction of the price from other stores. I really like my co employees. J J the manager is totally awesome
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Schroon Lake, NYJune 22, 2017
Great place to work friendly coworkers and understanding managment great oppertunities for advancment...loved working here. Was a fun fast passed environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good learning experiance for anyone wanting to work in management
hourly manager (Current Employee) –  Anniston, ALJune 22, 2017
dollar general is a chain of small stores
I learned to manage a small staff
management team is the primary workforce
there is minimal teamwork due to small staff
keeping on schedule
working with driven hard working individuals
Pros
health care and pade time off
Cons
wages are not competative and small staff for workload
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for in Colloge Kids
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Lufkin, TXJune 22, 2017
This is an Ideal job for someone that is in school. You could do it while you study or do homework. Pay is good for what you are doing. The company is also very will managed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stocking, stocking, and more stocking
Stocker/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Robinson, TXJune 22, 2017
Stocking is an integral part of the job even if you're a cashier. This is one of those jobs left to teens desperate for work. It could probably be a stepping stone to a better internal position, but it would take time and effort.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Alachua, FLJune 22, 2017
Some Of The Managers Are Mean But Other Than That Its Fun..They Pay Fair And You Get Overtime Sometimes But I Left Because I Moved Out Of State And Then returned
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment if you have a staff that's willing to work
Lead Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Dublin, GAJune 22, 2017
A typical work day is knowing what your tasks are and completing them in a timely manner. I have learned how to multi-tasks in a very busy workplace, as far as dealing with customers and trying to stock the shelves. Management speaks for it self some of maanagers work and some don't just be mindful of when you work for certain ones that try to make you do there work. The hardest part I would have to say dealing with some customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i enjoyed meeting new people
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Chesterfield, MIJune 22, 2017
I really enjoyed working and meeting new people daily and helping others when needed. Im a people person so i love talking an starting new relationships.
Pros
Meeting new people
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They haven't worked out the kinks yet.
Order Picker (Current Employee) –  Janesville, WIJune 22, 2017
You will only work overtime if they are short staffed. If they are fully staffed you will not get all of your hours and won't be able to afford the health insurance. To get a 100% production rate you are literally running around. And if you don't make rate. You will be fired after 6weeks.
Pros
They give out gifts on holidays and or feed you.
Cons
Health Insurance is expensive, and you work all holidays
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
assistant manager
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Ohio City, OHJune 21, 2017
I feel that working for dollar general you have no life besides the store. they leave one person to run an entire store. there were days when i was alone for 6-10 hours by myself, one its extremely unsafe and two its hard to work (put stock away, run register, and order items)
Pros
none
Cons
low pay, no help
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I care not to discuss
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Albany, LAJune 21, 2017
While working for Dollar General. They will work you for little pay and you will do every little task that is required of you. They cut hours with no warning ! It will be great if they can appreciate their workers because they do all the work and they make it so complicated.
Pros
You get to work with the public and they will let you know if you're doing a great job
Cons
They only see Christmas as a holiday and I think they should close eary on Sundays
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard, Stressful, fast pace, and unfair
Part-time Lead Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Landers, CAJune 21, 2017
You have to bend over backwards for customers who just want to run over you. You gain a lot of experience in different areas, but they do not give workers enough time to fulfill their tasks. They have unreasonable expectations as far as work productivity, and your life/family comes second in hand to their work.
Pros
Broad range of skills taught needed for work field
Cons
Corporations not meeting needs of lower down workers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly coworkers
Morning Stocker/Cashier (Former Employee) –  North Charleston, SCJune 21, 2017
it was was a good environment to work in. wish it could've been a better team that what it was. but it was over all a positive friendly working place of business.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Repetitive place to work.
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Endicott, NYJune 21, 2017
I was responsible for so much at the store but I loved it. I was in charge of scheduling and staffing as well as all paperwork and vendors. It was a very fast paced environment and the only reason I left dollar general was the travel. The 1 hr commute each way everyday was hard. A 10 hour work day turned into 12 with travel.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
co-workers are lazy
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Haines City, FLJune 21, 2017
The workers walk around and dont know what to do. They start using their phones and always doing something that shouldnt be done. Manger is very rude and talks under breath alot.
Pros
good breaks
Cons
lazy co-worker, low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Dollar General. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 11,270 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Compensation/Benefits
2.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.1
Culture
3.1