Dollar General Employee Reviews

Found 11,727 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to start career
Inventory Reconciliation Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Goodlettsville, TNJuly 19, 2017
Decent place to start career, unfortunately career advancement and pay is not the greatest or competitive. Company has a good culture but is often last in field to innovate. Amazon will crush Dollar General in near future.
Pros
Good work like balance
Cons
Pay, career advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
comments below
Cashier and Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Hampton, TNJuly 19, 2017
appilcation was hard to complete for redirecting. completed app but had issues with completing i enjoyed the companies i worked for but i am looking for a change due to changes in my situation
Pros
bonuses
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice
Cashier and Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Frankton, INJuly 19, 2017
Great place to work fun respectful out going easy work great customer service with all empolyees and managers just needed more hours not enough hours during my working week
Pros
nice people
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Manager (Former Employee) –  Vienna, MOJuly 19, 2017
This company tries hard to take care of all their employees. Even though the work is a little tough it is a great place. Hours are long and pay isn't the greatest.
Pros
Close to home
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Basic job skills needed. Not someplace to start a career though.
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Topeka, INJuly 19, 2017
Not terrible. Manager is a good person but its not the kind of place you go for a career or expecting to make really any money. Good for older people or if you're just starting out.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not too bad
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Titusville, FLJuly 19, 2017
I just had a poor manager who didn't know anything about retail and would change peoples schedules without notification and was very rude. The workload is high but with the right team it is attainable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
View from the job site
Merchandiser (Current Employee) –  Goodlettsville, TNJuly 19, 2017
If you're looking for a job the will take you to many parts of the country, this is it. I've visited many cities and states working as a remodel merchandiser.
Pros
mileage reimbursment, per diem
Cons
no job advanement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Did not enjoy this job at all
Aassist shift manager (Former Employee) –  Cullman, ALJuly 19, 2017
I worked all shifts scheduled, most at night. Lot of heavy lifting and reaching over head, always cleaning and stocking shelves, but you would get something set the way they wanted today and in the morning you would have to move everything to another area of store.
Pros
part time only, not really a chance to advance
Cons
always moving stock around
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Toledo, OHJuly 19, 2017
the only thing is, If you put a store in a urban neighborhood expect a lot of theft. It was a lot of the neighborhood customer stealing and I think the store should Have came to that district with a better plan of action for that.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a decent place to work.
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Cabin Creek, WVJuly 19, 2017
A typical day for me was standing behind the counter taking care of transactions. I very rarely got a chance to stock the shelves.
I learned how to operate a cash register and how to read some of the labels located on the back of items.
The hardest part of the job was dealing with the management. They were absolutely terrible, they really enjoyed starting drama. Even dealing with Corporate was a nightmare. Couldn't even get someone who spoke English for crying out loud.
Cons
Management, Low pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy Work Place
Team Lead (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOJuly 19, 2017
This is a company with potential growth, however due to certain locations, there was so much theft. I found myself being more of a security guard than a Team Lead
Pros
Busy Work
Cons
Bad location, theft
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its was stressful and slow moving
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Henderson laJuly 19, 2017
I don't think the worker should have to unload a truck. It was a stressful place to work because it was unstable and slow. It's hard to work at a place that is unstable
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a nice place to work.
CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Haines City, FLJuly 19, 2017
I worked for three years at Doolar General Market.
I cashierd and helped on the floor when needed.
When Iwas there we had a team of hard and reliable workers.
The manager wasvery nice and so were most of the employees.
We were very busy and sometimes we could have used a litle more help.
Everyone pulled there weight so that each ones job was the best it could be.
They pay is low and advancement is not the best.
I can"t speak for how the store is now for there are only two employyees still working.
Pros
I liked being a cashier and we were always busy.
Cons
I think the pros out way any cons if you want to work hard.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to. Work
Lead Sales Associate/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Girard, PAJuly 19, 2017
Enjoy working for this company, very pleasant and clean environment. Associates are very professional and friendly. Training videos were very helpful, enjoy helping customers.
Pros
Clean and fun
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail sales customer service
Assistant Manager/Key Holder (Former Employee) –  Magnolia, MSJuly 18, 2017
Customer were great got use to the regular customers. There was never a dull moment but I think dollar general works their employees too hard. Under staffed
Pros
Enjoyed customers
Cons
Need more workers to much for 2 people at a, time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good first job right out of high school
SHIFT MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Port Saint Lucie, FLJuly 18, 2017
Dollar general is an okay work place if you want an alright paycheck every week. Weren't as flexible and the pay was not the greatest being a key holder. Did learn a lot with dealing with everyday issues and customers. Being a key holder taught me a lot of responsibility.
Pros
having good co workers
Cons
not enough workers
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Store Training Manager (Current Employee) –  Slidell, LAJuly 18, 2017
A typical day involves running a register, stocking, and a generous amount of customer service. I have learned to hone my training and customer service skills to a higher level.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Keyholder (Former Employee) –  Dublin, GAJuly 18, 2017
Alot of work with little pay. Opportunity to advance. Teamwork could be better..hard to get time off. No benefits.Meet alot of customers. Conflicts with working with school schedule
Pros
Break time
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible
Cashier/Stocker (Former Employee) –  Cumberland, VA 23040July 18, 2017
My experience was terrible. I did not enjoy myself at all. management was horrible. Store schedule was all over the place. Never knew what I had to work til the day of.
Pros
terrible
Cons
terrible
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
meeting new people everyday
cashier (Former Employee) –  Vienna, GAJuly 18, 2017
enjoyed working with the public. manager not very nice and wasn't friendly with customers or employees. was very fast paced and competitive. 10 minute break, 30 min lunch. qualify for insurance after 6 months
Pros
meeting people
Cons
manager not business-like
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Dollar General. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 11,735 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Compensation/Benefits
2.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.1
Culture
3.1