Dollar General Employee Reviews

Found 9,159 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dollar General
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Liberty, NCJanuary 14, 2017
Good people, good place, love the company, is the best company, management , 30 min lunch, clean place, love their employees, gives you a welcome, tells you to come back
Pros
Good Employees
Cons
More Hous
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Baxley, GAJanuary 14, 2017
Good but if it was a different manager it would have been better! ! The manager was mean to the staff but one who she was friends with who she gave more hours but the other employees including myself didn't get hours like her friend.
Pros
coworkers
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy, fun place to work
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Fort Walton Beach, FLJanuary 14, 2017
Hard working fast paced, fun environment, very busy, long hours, very rewarding, room for advancement, stores all over the United States, growing daily.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working but little pay.
Key Holder/Sales Lead (Former Employee) –  Angleton TexasJanuary 13, 2017
You must lift large objects and stand 8 hours a day or more for a little amount of money it is quite possibly the worst place I have ever worked.
Pros
None
Cons
Little pay, lift heavy objects, work long hours with little off days
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Uncaring
Key Holder (Former Employee) –  Landrum, SCJanuary 13, 2017
the management seems to only partially care about the customers experience (never acted like they wanted to be there or that they wanted to assist them) or their employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Associate (Former Employee) –  Alma, ARJanuary 13, 2017
Dollar general was a Fun place to work at times but it was also stressful as well because two people work one store at a time. So they are always loaded doe with customers and you still have to stock and clean while taking care of endless lines of customers
Pros
Friendly staff.
Cons
Two people working at a time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Hertford, NCJanuary 13, 2017
Very organized workplace. Work with your schedule, overall great scheduling. Like the option of pay, they provide a card. Professional workplace, respectful crew.
Pros
Looking breaks, work with your schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Ellenville, NYJanuary 13, 2017
Great day at work it was always very productive, we have a great crew who all works together. We love our customers, we all work on truck as a team and keep the store clean
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Andrews, NCJanuary 13, 2017
this Andrews location was a great place to work with friendly co workers and good management. never had a bad experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy Job
Part Time Lead Key Holder (Former Employee) –  Hedgesville, WVJanuary 13, 2017
Easy job, but you are overworked and under paid. Sometimes you would be scheduled at all then other times you would be scheduled for a certain amount of hours and then it extremely exceed those originally scheduled hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult to work
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Galesville, WIJanuary 13, 2017
District managers and other higher management ask too much of employees in a typical work day. There isn't enough time or schedule hours to do everything that they want you to do. Basically life revolved around work. I was working everyday because employees would call in.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Trainer order selection (Former Employee) –  Bessemer, ALJanuary 13, 2017
• Responsible for shipping materials.
• Promoted in two months to receiving materials;
• Performed the binning of received products, using a high reach lift.
• Trained employees for order selection, reach truck, electric pallet jack, and voice pick.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place and Fast Advancement
Key Holder (Former Employee) –  Danville, ILJanuary 13, 2017
Great place to work and great people to work with. A great temporary job or a job to get you through schooling. Always worked with schedules, and very friendly employers.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady Job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Canon, GAJanuary 13, 2017
I worked here for almost a year, very cool and calm workplace. I learned more about being a sales associate and cashier. I enjoyed my job.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a very good place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Carthage, TNJanuary 13, 2017
They work you hard for little pay. They do not give you the hours you are promised. They lie to you and stab you in the back. You don't get your breaks half the time.
Pros
Meet new people
Cons
Hours that you get suck.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't work here
Lead Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Kingston, NYJanuary 13, 2017
Too demanding for what they pay you. My schedule was given to me almost with no notice, 1-3 days before I had to work. No flexibility. Micro management is a big problem. Too much is expected. My second job was not a concern to them. Even part time workers couldn't have a second job considering the schedule was put out a day or two before you had to work that schedule. Was asked to come off break & ring customers out & break later which is illegal but they don't care. No hours, luckily I was full time & only needed 30 hours which they had to give me. Wouldn't recommend anyone working there unless you just got out of jail & need to get on your feet
Pros
Weekly pay
Cons
Short tempered customers, no job security, no flexibility, horrible pay
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's all about the customers.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Nichols, NYJanuary 13, 2017
My manager and co-workers were great. I like the customers. The job was easy; I can run a cash register with the best of them!
Pros
Great people
Cons
The store was old and cold.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Be careful
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Columbus, INJanuary 13, 2017
Very fast paced environment
Hard to find competent employees willing to work which makes the job much harder than it should be
No balance between family and work life
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  TexasJanuary 13, 2017
Company does not focus on stores currently open before building new ones. No support for new managers coming into a broken store. Pay is too low for what is being asked to do.
Pros
None
Cons
Pay, benefits, management
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good opportunity for advancement, compensation equity value is debatable
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Evansville, INJanuary 12, 2017
A lot of work to do to be successful. Can not be a Store Manager and expect to do 45 hours weekly. I worked an additional 15-20 hours weekly to be successful.
Pros
good company
Cons
salary vs. hours worked
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Dollar General. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 9,164 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Compensation/Benefits
2.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.1
Culture
3.1