Find companies:
Dollar Thrifty Automotive Group, Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
139 reviews

Dollar Thrifty Automotive Group, Inc. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the car rental business was very fulfilling
car rental manager (Former Employee), Montrose, COMay 25, 2014
however, the owner was in bad health, and sold the business, the new owner's did not employee the current staff
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Location Manager
Operations Manager (Former Employee), RDUMay 20, 2014
In my position I had 100% customer contact, as well as managing 20-50 employees at any given time. The work was rewarding but difficult without the proper tools which were out of my control. Upper management consistently called for higher sales and then lowered rates to almost nothing, a setup for failure. Customer service scores were a joke, we could – more... not do anything about 3-5 hour waits for vehicles and the vehicles were in terrible shape. The mechanics were only bale to pull them if they were mechanically unsound. There was no regular preventaive maintance on them – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Service Agent (Former Employee), Daytona Beach, FLMay 17, 2014
Pros: do not have to clock out for breaks
Cons: breaks may frequently get interrupted
Great work nice employees and great management. A typical day at work would include driving cars and cleaning. Help customers constantly. Also may have to leave work location and drive rentals to different dealers or shops.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed what I did and got to meet people from all over the world
training manager (Former Employee), Little Rock, ARMay 7, 2014
I advanced from being a sales person to become their training manager in charge of training all new hires
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good days, bad days
Automobile Rental Clerk (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKApril 18, 2014
Working at a call center, I assisted customers with their concerns over car rentals over the phone. Sometimes, the calls were good. Other times the calls were bad. It could get frustrating at times and some of the other co-workers really didn't seem to know what they were doing or care much for the customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe and Productive workplace
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Cayce, SCApril 17, 2014
On a typical day at Thrifty call volume would be high. I learned how to work under pressure. Management was well organize, my co-workers there was very helpful and we worked together as a team. I would say there where a few challenges at the job, but nothing was hard. The most enjoyable part was that I had my own desk, and the environment was layed – more... back. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managed one of the most important assets for people: their automobiles
Valet Attendant (Former Employee), Revere, MAApril 15, 2014
Great meeting new individuals and handle their automobiles
Had to manage upset customers if cars were not ready on time
Great experience working in a team environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managers with very wrong management skills
Rental Car Sales Agent (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAApril 11, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: pay
unprofessional. People that work there work there to get large commissions & cut throat.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learned a great deal about all vehicles
Manager (Former Employee), New Haven, CTApril 8, 2014
Pros: great hours
Cons: most of the day was spent in the weather
The Most Enjoyable part of this position was dealing with the customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Inbound Help Desk Agent (Former Employee), Durant, OKMarch 19, 2014
Pros: laid back enviroment
Answering phones for the rental company Dollar and Thrifty Auto Group.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rental Car Business
Administrative Assistant II (Former Employee), 3127 W. Mockingbird Lane Dallas, Texas 75235February 26, 2014
Pros: recognitions, and honorary celebrations
Cons: dismissals
A typical day consist of prioritizing, and meeting with my boss the General Manager going over his agenda for the day, getting all paper work, invoices, reports, account payable issues handled working and interacting with the managers,and vendors solving issues at the location, planning events for employees, the funnest thing to me about the job was – more... when we recognized the employees for all their hard work,and we would give a small celebration honoring them. I enjoyed working my co-workers, the hardest thing is having to send in the termination papers when one of them had to be let go. The thing I enjoyed the most is knowing that if a customer came into the location in distress we did everything we could as a unit to make them happy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer service driven company
Operations Manager (Former Employee), Boston, MAFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: wonderful job
Cons: worked 6 days a week on salary
DTAG offered me endless opportunities, and wonderful benefits. I would recommend them to anyone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy fun work
Rental Agent (Former Employee), kissimmee flFebruary 16, 2014
-gathering deposits from each department of the resort and talking them to local banks
-had fun meeting new people each day
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have enjoyed working at Thrifty for years.
Coach Operator/Customer Service Supervisor (Current Employee), Portland, ORFebruary 7, 2014
Pros: good pay steady hours
Cons: lack of staff
What I have learned at Thrifty in the years that I have worked for them is that a positive attitude is your best way to make more money.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for. Enjoyed the culture.
Payroll Specialist (Former Employee), Tulsa OKFebruary 3, 2014
Very laid back. Management was great, and had an open door policy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Car rental
Fleet Coordinator (Former Employee), MissouriFebruary 2, 2014
Great company to work for. Management was very fair, and co-workers were very well trained. Fun place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You were treated like family.
Staff Assistant II / Fleet Assistant (Former Employee), Hanover, MDFebruary 1, 2014
It was an enjoyable place to work. Management was very supportive and opportunities for advancement were always available.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great workout facility
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKJanuary 27, 2014
Pros: very flexable hours
Cons: my insurance would not pay for my husbands hospital stay
When I started at DTAG in 2002 I loved it. The company really cared about the employees. Over the years that diminished greatly. The co-workers were wonderful every one was very helpful, and it was a family setting. The hardest part of the job was when the layoff's began.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life at DTAG
Customer Service/Sales Agent (Current Employee), Chicago, ILJanuary 21, 2014
Pros: instant customer compliance, fast-pace environment, constant mobility
Cons: customers who sometimes can be unsympathetic or hasty with customer service, low stock of inventory for sales, unpredictable weather conditions
A regular day work means non-stop movement. Always on the go! During my 6-year tenure at Dollar Thrifty Group, I've learned that multi-tasking is the lifelong for any successful business that deals with customer service. Management can be tricky, but very educational. My co-workers function like a army unit with every soldier looking to me as their – more... General. The hardest part about the job is being able to satisfy every customer. The most enjoyable part would meeting new people from different avenues throughout the world and sometimes establishing friendships with some of those individuals – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dollar Thrifty Automotive Group
Instructional Designer (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKJanuary 12, 2014
Pros: the people, they really wanted to help each other. employee responsiveness, when called or contacted through e-mail.
Cons: inability to get a merit increase for a few years durning the economic downturn.
I enjoyed getting started early and was excited about my work.
I learned I was most productive when I established a goal for myself based on the customer request.
I had a collaborative relationship with my manager and my co-workers.
The hardest part of the job was watching my friends and co-workers leave as we had a reduction in force at the company.
The – more... best part was when individuals said the work I created made their job easier or more interesting. – less

About Dollar Thrifty Automotive Group, Inc.

Thrifty drivers looking to get the most for a buck might try Dollar Thrifty Automotive Group (DTG), which rents cars under the – Read more