Dollar Tree Employee Reviews in United States

Found 4,808 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a lot work of and crew would call out often
Assistant Manager/freight manager (Former Employee) –  Augusta, GAMay 27, 2016
My boss had a hard time finding good employees, which lead to double work and low oral. He gave it a good try but the was out of hand before we got there. The crew that showed up was very friendly and hard working.
Pros
advancement if you tranfer, good boss, teamwork
Cons
accountibilty
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hectic retail work
Associate (Current Employee) –  Huntington Beach, CAMay 27, 2016
I like the people I work with at Dollar Tree. They make going to work a pleasure. Most of the customers that frequent the store are nice.
The job can be hectic because there is so much to do in a short period of time and they don't have enough employees working at one time to get things accomplished as it should be.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun work place.
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Richfield, MNMay 27, 2016
dollar tree do give the employees enough work hours. and the company do not pay the empolyees enough money on the job.i wish the company would the employees more hours.
Pros
no free lunches on the job.
Cons
breaks are very short.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly people
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Porterville, CAMay 27, 2016
Everyone's real respectful greets you with a smile and a hello. The greatest part of this job is being around a positive environment and the most negative is not having enough hours.
Pros
Gaining experience
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job was ok
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Indianola, MSMay 26, 2016
I enjoyed meeting new people but the management sucked. the hardest part of the job was working with people that did not want to work. i learned a lot working in that field.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good place too work
cashier (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAMay 26, 2016
working at dollar tree was a good place to work as a cashier not a stress job.
i learned how to handle money.
the co-worker were great team
there wasnt a hard part for me at dollar tree
i enjoy the cashier work because i met new people
Pros
need break room
Cons
the break need to be clean
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
store manager (Current Employee) –  Glendale, AZMay 26, 2016
i love dollartree. great people to work with .great prices .everything you need for just one dollar cant beat that . they get great things for a dollar like movies. they have a great freezer selection and its just one dollar . you would be suprised what u can get in there for a dollar.
Pros
great people
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Marietta, GAMay 25, 2016
Its a great company to work for and I have been there 2 years and i love it.. My job , position as a sales associate is to provide excellent customer service and to keep smiles on all faces
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLMay 25, 2016
Everything is 1$ what more can you ask for. The stuff was pretty cute. Fun place to work but the work load was a lot. I would recommend the store to any one. It has a lot of different food and products. You can shop everything all in one store.
Pros
Good Benefits, Vacation time, worked with you if had personal time needed.
Cons
employees always called out. There was no sercurity especially at night.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly workplace
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Mableton, GAMay 25, 2016
A typical workday consists of constant interaction with customers. Providing exceptional customer service is priority. From stocking the shelves to cashiering, the store must meet and exceed the customers needs. Management can sometimes be somewhat challenging for myself personally because I am soft- hearted in regards to taking disciplinary action (write-ups, etc.) against the associates. The hardest part of the job is balancing the work hours with parenting. The most enjoyable part is meeting new people and putting a smile on the customers faces.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun work environment
Cashier (Former Employee) –  West Springfield, MAMay 25, 2016
Assisted the general manager with dollar tree sales while in high school and continuing my education in the health care field.Fun work environment. Great place to work
Pros
Discount on items
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work environment
Cashier (Current Employee) –  IndianaMay 25, 2016
Good job for those wanting to work their way up in the company.
Work environment give employees the chance to have good relationship with customers and co-workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good place to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Boise, IDMay 25, 2016
I like it because you got to meet new people everyday, it a fast pace, you always doing something. I like meeting people everyday. Then you have your regular customers as well.
Pros
meeting new people
Cons
You start at 7.25 its a 5 hours a day
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
maintained stock room and retail floor
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  North Lake, ILMay 25, 2016
My days at Dollar Tree were very joyous nd I learned a lot. The customers were polite and the merchandise was always in stock and on the sales floor.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome place
cashier (Former Employee) –  Windsor, CTMay 24, 2016
everything is one dollar how could you not love it. most people love the price and the employees are great really care for one another
Pros
everything is a dollar
Cons
Rude people at times
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive but a roller coaster at times
cashier/customer serv/stocker (Current Employee) –  Norcross, GAMay 24, 2016
my typical day at work at the dollartree can sometimes be very trying at times, sometimes they can be fun and sometimes they can be where you want to walk out and quit due to the management letting the customers and their kids come in and do what they want to do to the store and the restrooms. What I have learned is how to count down all the registers and do the counts for the balloons when they come in on the truck. Some of my co-workers are fun and then you have some that don't want to work but collect a check. The hardest part of the job is not being able to defend yourself when customers are irate with you ands calling you names. Now the most enjoyable part of the job is when some customers praise you for the good job that you are doing and they keep coming into the store to see you so they can smile if they are having a bad day and they bring you gifts just because they love you.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cashier
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  West Chicago, ILMay 24, 2016
happy
fun
nice people
great environment
nice customer
happy
cool place to work
fast
cool
nice.
books
everyday at work is a lovely day
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff worked well together.
Cashier, Asst. Manager (Former Employee) –  Oakdale, LAMay 23, 2016
The work environment was friendly. Customers were nice. I learned how to manage multiple tasks in a very small amount of time aka micro management.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dollar Tree
Cashier / Overnight Stocker (Former Employee) –  Virginia Beach, VAMay 23, 2016
I worked as a stocker for Dollar Tree, it was a fast pace environment. where I worked stocking supplies and produce before the store opened for business the next morning.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Tallahassee, FLMay 23, 2016
A day at work is enjoying helping customers and maintaining a safe and clean work environment while also instructing my employees what to do.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 4,948 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture