Find companies:
Dollar Tree
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2,349 reviews

Dollar Tree Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for me
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Union City, GAAugust 27, 2014
Cons: management
Worked long hours with not enough break time. Great co-workers but management was unfair. Management would steal money and purposely target someone to sabotage to fire so they can hire family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place, easy work, need more hours and money
Cashier (Former Employee), Hanover, MDAugust 27, 2014
Pros: easy job
Cons: no benefits, no full time
need full time instead of part time. need more pay than $7.35 an hour
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Cashier (Former Employee), Brockton, MAAugust 26, 2014
Fun from beginning to end
Get to help others in need and also get to learn familiars
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved to stock store
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Vacaville, CAAugust 26, 2014
Pros: learned how to give job assignments
Cons: being in management treated bad
Liked being assistant manager but they were not for the employees like they said.Was hard to get a raise and they would promote someone and take it away just as fast.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dollar tree
Student worker (Former Employee), Bakersfield, CAAugust 25, 2014
Pros: clean, discounts, customers were friendly.
Cons: short breaks, it was hot
I always come in with a positive attitude, and i get straight to work. I make sure that i always beat my deadline. I have learned that working in a retail store, you have to be a very hard worker, and a fast learner. The manager was always so kind, I appreciate the manager for showing me the way. My co workers were the best, they were nice and helpful. – more... I didn't find anything hard about working at the retail store. The most enjoyable part about working in Dollar tree, it would be satisfying my customer, helping them with whatever they needed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
THE WORST
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), New Orleans, LAAugust 25, 2014
Pros: $1 cookies
Cons: don't do it
THIS BASTARDIZED INSTITUTION RUINED MY LIFE. IT WAS PURE TORTURE. I'M CRYING AS I TYPE THIS. MY MANAGER WAS BLOODY AWFUL AND A DOUCHE. HE HAD DIFFERENT MOODS EVERYDAY. IT WAS LIKE JEKYLL AND HYDE STATUS. FOR REAL THOUGH. NO JOKE. MY CO-WORKER HAD A LINE FULL OF CUSTOMERS ONE TIME, AND SHE NEEDED CHANGE. HE BARBARICALLY TOLD HER, "I'm going to make you – more... wait like you make this customers wait." HE EVEN GROPED ME ONE TIME. I WOULD PUT HIS NAME UP FOR SHAME, BUT I'M NOT THAT KIND OF PERSON. I HOPE THE CEO SEES THIS AND LAYS HIM OUT. I HOPE SOMEONE FEELS MY AGONY WITHIN THESE CAPITAL LETTERS. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Cashier (Former Employee), Princeton, WVAugust 25, 2014
Pros: flexible schedules, positive atmosphere
Cons: no benefits
A typical day at work was stocking shelves and helping my coworkers run the register when the store was busy. Management was very helpful. We worked together to make the store as efficient as possible. My coworkers helped stock when the store was empty.I watched the managers and learned how to do exchanges, deposits, and how to close the store.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great starter job
Cashier (Former Employee), Hope Mills, NCAugust 25, 2014
Pros: overall good work enivorment
awesome place to work
management is great
flexible hours
overall great work environment
steady work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dollar Store
Shift Manager (Former Employee), Union, SCAugust 24, 2014
Pros: i had the pleasure of meeting new people all the time
I counted registers down, made bank deposits, put out freight, scanned freight into store, etc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cashier
Cashier (Former Employee), Moundsville, wvAugust 23, 2014
i was a cashier and rung customers out. i counted down drawers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customers
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Rowlett, TXAugust 22, 2014
Pros: the job
Cons: needed more staff
8 hour shift, getting to know the customers needs, enjoyed the job very much
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a typical day at work
Cashier/Recovery/ Overnight Stocking (Former Employee), Seaside, CAAugust 22, 2014
Pros: pros were that the store had very flexible hours for me to go to school while giving me good hours
Cons: the only problem i had was the breaks not being 15 minutes
The job overall was very easy and it was sad to leave the way I did. I would come in early and wait until my shift started and then would go with a manager to get a till to be the next cashier. While being cashier, my tasks were to help customers when i was not busy with purchases, clean the front area of the store, keep the registers clean and do anything – more... else the manager tells me to do. I usually did the closing shifts due to me going to school throughout the day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company to work for.
Store Manager (Former Employee), Cleveland, OHAugust 22, 2014
very good company to work for. pay scale could have been better,the reason i left the company was there was very little room for advancement at the time and Family Dollar came in to the store and recruited me be put into the district mgr. training program.turns out Dollar tree bought out Family Dollar in july and they let us go.But in looking back i – more... should have stayed with this company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I LOVED working with the public and building relations.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Plainfield, INAugust 22, 2014
I ran the cash register, assisted customers, and put away stock. I loved dealing with the public and building customer relations. i enjoyed working with a varied age group of co-workers and building friendships. The hardest part of this job was not being able to get a full 40hr work week. There was a high turnover of managers at this particular store – more... and a lot of customer complaints about some of the management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dollar Tree was a very professional work environment
Cashier (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAAugust 21, 2014
The usual day would consist of a short meeting with management to discuss daily goals. Prior to my career at Dollar Tree I had a little experience in receiving, afterwards however I had a lot of receiving experience. Management was great at understanding the needs of their employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inpiring work place.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Ypsilanti, MIAugust 21, 2014
I enjoyed working at Dollar Tree, it was amazing to see all the different items a dollar can buy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy work environment
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Jesup, GAAugust 20, 2014
I enjoyed managing the employees and speaking with customers on a daily basis. I loved helping others find what they needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stocker
Stocker (Current Employee), Fort Worth, TXAugust 20, 2014
enjoy working alone stocking shelves in own area, but often help others as needed we are a great team and works well together
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay high school job
Stocker/ Cashier (Former Employee), Lexington, SCAugust 20, 2014
Very first job and it was okay. What i gathered from this job was what work was all about. The most enjoyable part of Dollar Tree was the people i got to meet here. I got to learn the true meaning of customer service and how to keep shelves filled for customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad job, but not a good one either
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee), ConfidentialAugust 19, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: short breaks, no social life
A typical day of work for me would be cleaning up after customers that leave stuff all over the place. I feel like I have so much potential to do more with my life but I'm stuck being a custodian to guests.

About Dollar Tree

Dollar Tree, headquartered in Chesapeake, VA, operates 4,351 stores across the 48 US states and 5 Canadian Provinces. Dollar – Read more