Dollar Tree Employee Reviews

Found 8,014 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly Underpaid and Unappreciative of Their Employees
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Summerville, SCAugust 16, 2017
They truly do not care about their employees and are very wishy washy when they speak to you, meaning they will say one thing and do another. They are also very quick to throw you under the bus for something you weren't even involved in to make them selves look better.
Pros
Customers are friendly sometimes
Cons
The Entire Job Stinks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great store team , not good upper management
Former Store Manager (Former Employee) –  NJAugust 16, 2017
They expect you to run a store with only 2 people per shift.
Upper management was of no help.
The best part of the job was my team.
They wanted to get everything done with no realistic of hours.
Pros
my team
Cons
upper management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dollar Tree Review
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Decatur, GAAugust 16, 2017
I enjoyed working for Dollar Tree .It was actually fun working with the people there. We always made the customers enjoy their time while being in the store .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Myrtle Beach, SCAugust 16, 2017
This was one of my first jobs. I changed locations several times and most of the managers I worked for were great. However, the last manager I had was very unfair and treated her employees poorly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and busy atmosphere
Store Associate (Current Employee) –  Manassas, VAAugust 16, 2017
The managers are friendly and the associates are hard- working. Everybody supports each other and people are eager to help. There are no benefits because the jobs generally have a high turnover and are part time.
Pros
Good people
Cons
No healthcare.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall a good company
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Detroit, MIAugust 16, 2017
I like working for dollar tree but I feel they should invest in their stores more.such as investing more labor. manage stock levels and support store management more.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
always busy
Assembler (Former Employee) –  Windsor, CTAugust 16, 2017
there was always work to do which is a good thing. the only thing was the commute back and firth to work. the work place had positive energy and we worked together.
Pros
good hours
Cons
commute
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it's a job
Dollar Tree Cashier (Current Employee) –  Stuart, FLAugust 16, 2017
go to work, meet and help people, nothing too big, nothing too small, some of the customers are nice, others suck. co-workers are pretty cool, and management helps whenever they can
Pros
cool people flexible hours
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced
Stocker/ Cashier (Former Employee) –  Amarillo, TXAugust 16, 2017
I enjoyed working at Dollar Tree, the pay was terrible but I really liked the people I worked with. I felt like I really made a difference there with the hard work I did.
Pros
I enjoyed the people I was able to help.
Cons
the pay was terrible
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awsome employees which makes it a nice place to work at.
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  San Jose, CAAugust 16, 2017
This company really doesn't give many hours to each store. Most of the time the managers (myself) have to do multiple duties that aren't required for our position to do. Working here you have to basically give your life away, which would be fine if the company would show any appreciation.
Pros
Bonuses
Cons
Not enough staff, hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Asst. Manager (Former Employee) –  West Lebanon, NHAugust 16, 2017
I was a manager for dollar tree. I found it an easy job with little challenge. The product wasn't available when needed a lot of times. I would think about working for dollar tree again.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fastpaced workplace
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZAugust 16, 2017
dollar tree was just a part time gig for me. i was very fortunate to move up quickly and become the asst manager of the store. it was a great learning curve for me.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working here
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Arkansas City, KSAugust 16, 2017
I had a excellent manager. It was a very great experience and im glad it was at one of the best stores in Arkansas City, KS 67005. Great place, great people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work pays off here
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Cypress, TXAugust 16, 2017
be willing to work long hours and deal with high turnover, but if you love retail as much as I do you understand this comes with the territory. I enjoyed working for the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDAugust 16, 2017
Dollar tree is a fast paced environment with no room for error. The expectations vary per season or with a change in management. The job requires quick adaptability at the highest level. Overall a decent place to work.
Pros
Always work to be done, never boring.
Cons
Negative Work/life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to start for a young person looking for work.
Stocker/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Pembroke Pines, FLAugust 16, 2017
There's an easy environment and no stress. Easy to learn and I'm a few days you'll master everything that you will not need a supervisor. I talk and take care the customers needs and help them with gratitude and with a smile on my face to remind them that I'm always for there for their services.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its ok,but not fair...working enviorment#@!!
Shipping Clerk,Quality Comtrol,warehouse (Current Employee) –  San Bernardino, CAAugust 16, 2017
Stay in the same department try to learn your department,know your job the ins an outs.....dont get too involved with management....just focus on yourself and your jobs goals.....it can be very stressful with so many different manager's coming and going...knowone comunicates,no one is on the same page#@!!@
Pros
Hourly pay
Cons
Management, stressful!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Happy person
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Casa Grande, AZAugust 16, 2017
I like to work with people and be happy to all the costermers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was decent.
Dollar Tree (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCAugust 15, 2017
Good hours but I felt like I did not get paid what I deserved. I came in on my off days way too often to still be getting paid minimum. Management was good at first until my store got a manger.
Pros
Good people.
Cons
Management wasn't good.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  West Park, FLAugust 15, 2017
I worked there part time had a pretty good team they offered on the job training & the tasks we're not difficult to perform I would recommend this job
Pros
Walking distance
Cons
Sometimes rude customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Dollar Tree. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 8,247 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
2.7
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
3.3
Culture
3.3

CEO Approval

67%
2,993 ratings
Add your rating