Dominican University Employee Reviews

Showing all 55 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Welcoming Culture
Associate Director of Development (Former Employee) –  San Rafael, CAJune 20, 2017
The campus is absolutely beautiful. The culture is very welcoming. Colleagues are very enjoyable to work with. The priorities of the school are inconsistent and the goals can be unrealistic.
Pros
campus
Cons
leadership
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Dietetic Student Preceptor (Current Employee) –  River Forest, ILJune 14, 2017
Great place to work especially for those interested in work-life balance. The group of professionals and colleagues are some of the best I've worked with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work environment
Student Worker - Scene Shop (Former Employee) –  River Forest, ILJune 5, 2017
It was a great company to work for as a student worker. I gained valuable work experience and life skills. It was a enjoyable work environment, with great managers.

It is important you know what you are doing and make sure the shop is clean so you don't injure yourself or others.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Maintaining a clean scene shop
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to go to, wasn't big at all
Teacher's Aide (Former Employee) –  River Forest, ILJune 1, 2017
the most enjoyable part of the job was working with different coworkers, the parents were really nice, nice environment, it was a little daycare for parents around the area staff can also enroll their children, high tuition
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student Worker, Resident Desk Attendant
Student Worker, Resource Desk Attendant (Former Employee) –  River Forest, ILMay 24, 2017
Answering/transferring calls to security or supervisor because of complaining or issues that is out of order in the dorm faculity

Managing the guests logs

Keeping area cleaned

Greeting guests with a good attitude
Pros
Meet new people
Cons
No breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great student opportunity
Writing Tutor (Current Employee) –  River Forest, ILMay 23, 2017
I love working at my school. Dominican offers students many opportunities whether it's a part time job, scholarships or service opportunities. I would love to work here full time if the opportunity presents itself.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Circulation Assistant (Current Employee) –  River Forest, ILMay 22, 2017
I have loved working here. It has been a great experience. It gives me a chance to do my homework in a quiet place during my busy schedule. My bosses have always been very understanding.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
students are great
Student Tutor (Former Employee) –  San Rafael, CAMay 22, 2017
the high school students i worked for were amazing. All of them have a great heart and will work with you once you get to know them a little. I totally recommend.
Pros
Great students
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is changeable
Associate Professor (Current Employee) –  River Forest, ILMay 20, 2017
Not a very secure place for administrators. The upper administration changes very quickly. Appointments are made without searches. Very inbred and undependable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Software Engineer (Former Employee) –  San Rafael, CAApril 24, 2017
If you decide to work here, watch out for HR. It's very cliquey here. The university is also falling on hard times financially, and has no money for improvements.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dominican Tutor
Computer Science Tutor (Current Employee) –  River Forest, ILFebruary 26, 2017
I help people understand concepts that they don't understand. This is exclusive for Dominican University students.

Management is fine. Culture is fine. Everything is fine.
Pros
You get to review concepts you learned.
Cons
People don't understand regardless of what you tell them.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very serious environment
Office Manager, Security (Former Employee) –  River Forest, ILFebruary 17, 2017
A typical day was standing at the window answering questions from students, calling 911 and making student badges.

The worst part was when students complained of their parking tickets, and the best part was the fun working with lots of different students.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Professional enviroment
secretary (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILFebruary 3, 2017
This is the type of place where you feel comfortable enough to bond with your co workers but at a professional level. The amount of responsibility this job took was a big deal.
Pros
great people
Cons
sitting down all day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Undergraduates admissions office.
Undergraduate Admissions Counselor (Current Employee) –  River Forest, ILJanuary 30, 2017
It's been a very great place to learn and work and helping perspective and future students of the university learn what Dominican has to offer. And, what sets it apart from other universities is Dominican has an atmosphere that is welcoming to all students.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great community, very supportive
Admission and Coordinator of Campus Events Intern (Former Employee) –  River Forest, ILJanuary 15, 2017
Dominican University really lives by it's mission and ensures that its students and employees are satisfied. They have boards in place that provide all the support needed during times of turmoil. The support is quite fantastic.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work and learn at the same time.
Archives Intern (Former Employee) –  River Forest, ILJanuary 13, 2017
Working there involves a degree of working both alone and with others. The people who you work for will help to teach what information will be helpful both on the job and in future in your career.
Pros
Education and work experience
Cons
Limited number of jobs at any time on different levels of education and knowledge
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A liberal arts institution with a strong guiding mission, but very little administrative support of diversity efforts.
Adjunct Professor (Current Employee) –  River Forest, ILJanuary 4, 2017
This is an institution which expects its employees to sacrifice work/life balance in order to succeed within its culture. The demands are great, but the compensation is poor. Dominican is struggling to keep a pace with the changing demographics of its student population and rarely addresses the needs of students of color, despite multiple protests which have taken place to express these needs.
Pros
liberal arts, highly engaged staff & faculty
Cons
Lack of diversity among administrators and reluctance to address intercultural issues.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very great place to work
Academic Enrichment Center (AEC) Office Assistant (Current Employee) –  River Forest, ILDecember 29, 2016
This is a work-study job for me, I love it, it is very flexible with your school life. I have gained a lot of organizational experience working here. The management is great and they truly appreciate the student workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Developing university with potential for growth
Director of Operations (Former Employee) –  San Rafael, CASeptember 3, 2016
A university working to find its identity in a competitive environment, DUC has amazing students, with may staff and faculty that have been with the organization for decades.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Porter/Custodian (Former Employee) –  Forest Park, ILAugust 3, 2016
I enjoyed working here cause my supervisor had complete confidence in my ability to perform my job the told u want to do and trust that u will get the job done in a timely manner and was very courteous when speaking to you
Pros
being relied upon
Cons
working alone
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Dominican University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 55 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.7
Culture
3.8

CEO Approval

80%
15 ratings
Add your rating

Dominican University Reviews by Location