Dominick's Finer Foods Employee Reviews

Showing all 288 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
cashier/ bagger (Former Employee) –  Oak Park, ILAugust 7, 2017
working retail is fast pace and fun. You work with fun people, and learn a lot about the company and history of the company. The pay is ok could be better.
Pros
discounts and benefits
Cons
hourly wage and average hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent
Utility Clerk (Former Employee) –  Northbrook, ILAugust 1, 2017
• Bagged and carried out groceries
• General custodial and store maintenance tasks
• Excellent customer service
First job I ever had, learned a lot through others.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 8, 2017
A typical day at work for me consist of me working hard, on time. making sure I get what was instructed for that day done before the day is over with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and stress free environment
Baker (Former Employee) –  Joliet, ILJuly 8, 2017
I enjoyed my job I enjoyed working with others
I looked forward to my job everyday. I looked forward to being productive on a daily basis. I also enjoyed working with the customers I enjoyed meeting their needs when it came to taking orders. I liked baking different baked goods
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great starting job but not a life long career.
Starbuck's Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Downers Grove, ILJuly 2, 2017
While Dominick's now no longer exists it was a good starting job for a new worker. It taught me how to deal with stress and how to work in the employed world. Management was not very good and work'life balance was hard to come by.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Pharmacy Intern (Former Employee) –  Geneva, ILJune 16, 2017
When I was a Pharmacy Student Intern, it was a pleasure working here. It was a great place to gain experience. I gained a variety of different experiences.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 1, 2017
I loved the fast paced environment it kept me busy and the managers well pleased with my work. the most fun was assisting with the elderly, and making friends
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Out of Business
BAKERY CLERK (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 31, 2017
Dominick's Finer Foods is out of business. However, it wasn't a terrible place to work. I must say that they went out of business for god reason. I didn't hate the job. I would work for the company again if they were in my city.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Waukegan, ILMay 30, 2017
Good place to work and shop. Offered a deli, bakery, frozen food, all items need in everyday life. Service desk for money orders, check cashing, and good service from employees most of the time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Syracuse, NYMay 30, 2017
This is a good family restaurant with a good staff. very busy and hard work if you have never done this profession. I did like that the hostess like the waitresses received portions of tips.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Joliet, ILMay 30, 2017
I sliced up lunch meat and cheese at customers request. Cooked pizza, made fresh salads and sandwiches at customers request. Cooked rotisserie chickens and made fresh coffee for cafe
Pros
good benefits.
Cons
went out of business
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor job
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Naperville, ILMay 25, 2017
the manager had his favorites who got all of the perks no matter how hard that I worked if I am working on a project and it is still not when myshift is over I still stay until it is done my manager didn't appreciate that
Pros
none
Cons
you work yo get no acknowledgement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i loved working there
Meat Wrapper/Cashier/Stocker/Inventory/Bagger (Former Employee) –  Oak Lawn, ILMay 23, 2017
I loved working here the customers were polite and friendly the atmosphere was peaceful slow at times but there was never a day were the customers weren't friendly or nice
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning Experience
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 18, 2017
Dominicks was my first real job. I liked it alot and I learned so much about myself. It made me more responsible and helped me build my own character.
Pros
Being on my own, Meeting new people, Learning new things.
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Italian place to work.
Server (Former Employee) –  West Hollywood, CAMay 7, 2017
Dinner shifts opening and closing. Loved the people I worked with at Dominicks. We had very large sections which kept us busy, and the food was wonderful! Casual to upscale. Managers were fun and got along with everyone. Always had wine, and food tastings to educate ourselves.
Pros
Italian is my favorite
Cons
Parking was almost impossible
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wasn't a bad place to work for. Out of business now.
UTLITY CLERK (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 21, 2017
This place is currently out of business but the team was friendly and the management crew respected the employees. They treated everybody with dignity and respect.
Pros
friendly team
Cons
pay could've been better.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dominicks is no longer open
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Mundelein, ILApril 12, 2017
When dominicks was open still it was one of the biggest grocery stores around. They employees were very helpful. When i fiest started working there everyone was so welcoming and acted as if i worked there for months it was a great opportunity.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I miss Dominick's
Cashier/Bookkeeper (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 11, 2017
Dominicks was an amazing company , That was a family oriented job .. When i say I miss that store iI do. My co-workers was like a big family !!! #1699
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 8, 2017
Well this was one of my first jobs.This job was very different because i was a bagger but due to my energy and size a lot of the time i was asked to pull in shopping carts.
Pros
none
Cons
hard work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No longer in business
o Journeyman Meat Cutter (Former Employee) –  Northlake, ILApril 8, 2017
It was a great place to work for many years. I miss it. Sadly the company changed after it was purchased by Safeway. It was never the same after that.
Pros
Stable work environment
Cons
Company closed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Dominick's Finer Foods. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 288 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.5
Culture
3.6

Dominick's Finer Foods Reviews by Location