Find companies:
DOMTAR
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
35 reviews

DOMTAR Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Older industry setting
Safety Intern (Former Employee), Hawesville, KYOctober 19, 2014
More geared to the seasoned veteran employee. As for a young college graduate you will seem out of place.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inside Sales
Inside Sales /Customer Service (Current Employee), Fort Mill, SCOctober 10, 2014
Pros: good company, good training, good support
Cons: too sedentary
Domtar is a great company to work for and I have learned a lot, but sitting in front of a computer all day is something I don't want to do anymore. I would like to have more face to face interaction with customers and move around more.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good to adequate management.Domtar tries hard to meet or compramise employee needs.Safety,quality and production are stressed as in any manufacturing
Assistant Operator. (Current Employee), Addison Ill.August 31, 2014
Pros: good management, occasional free lunches, excellent training programs, safety meetings and good communications.
Cons: rotating shifts every two weeks, heat, changing work schedules and mandatory overtime and weekend work
Busy,hot,daily safety meetings within teams.Weekly safety meetings with management and available team members.Filling out pre task forms,quality catch forms,hazard analysis forms and multipe,seemingly repetitive,forms.Cleaning and keeping work area safe.Assisting operator and other team members requiring help.

I've learned the use of tools I have never – more... used,good troubleshooting methods,better safety methods through Safe Start program.

Good management open to any suggestions and willing to compramise in "gray areas".

As in all working situations we have differrent personalities and work ethics.We have good,adequate and bad attitudes at Domtar as well as I have seen with any company I have worked for.I choose to make my own opinion about co-workers rather than take the opinions of others about employees they may or may not like.

Rotating shifts and changing schedules are the most difficult part of the job.The heat and humidity are also unbearable at times,even in the winter.Occasionally we have mandatory weekend work which can dissrupt any plans you have made prior to your short notice.

Annual parties (on site),personal recognition for performance above and beyond,occasional lunches and informational meetings and training are second to none that I have ever experienced.The culture Domtar is trying to create is beginning to take shape in my opinion.Moral is not always great but,we do not all have the same attitudes,opinions and work ethics. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Production Planner (Former Employee), Fort Mill, SCAugust 18, 2014
Managers and co-workers made this a great place to work. Enjoyed going to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very laid back and great people
Accounts Payable - responsible for freight bills (Former Employee), Fort Mill, SCMay 19, 2014
Domtar was a very laid back and fun place nothing was ever hard or aggravating
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Reliability Engineer (Former Employee), Johnsonburg, PAApril 3, 2014
Pros: team environment, compensation
Cons: watch your back
Domtar is a good company to work for. The pay is good, the company will gladly spend money if you justify the spending. They believe you have to spend money to make money. One big downfall is trust within the organization. There are a few that believe the best way to look good is to make other people look bad. If you can handle that, this is a solid – more... place to work. There will be opportunities for advancement. There is a team environment. As mentioned, the pay is good. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Crew Leader (Current Employee), Johnsonburg, PAMarch 28, 2014
Pros: the company cares about their employees and the safety of each and everyone!
Being able to part of a very strong safety environment... To have a team concept when one area is having troubles everyone steps up and helps out to get that area lined out and running smoothly again...We have the best co-workers in the industry...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great entry level job
Material Handler (Former Employee), Washington Court House, OHJanuary 9, 2014
Great team environment, the leadership took time to train, great opportunity to make a good hourly wage with lots of opportunity for overtime
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
domtar
Utility-Preloader-Press Operator (Former Employee), Langhorne, PAJanuary 1, 2014
moved up in this plant was there for 10 years before they closed there doors i learned many trades like running presses preloading roll doing utility jobs like banding rolls on pallets had great co workers that were like family to me i still keep in touch with a lot of them even after they closed the doors. hardest thing of job was when the press was – more... messing up while you work on getting to to run right – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Order Puller/Forklift Operator (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OHOctober 3, 2013
Pros: people
Cons: worked a lot of overtime/they didnt have enough workers on 2nd shift
I like working here would still be down there if it was not sold
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day
Paper Maker (Current Employee), Johnsonburg, PASeptember 20, 2013
A hot and fast paced atmosphere, with a high demand on the employees. Although working safe is a high priority for the company as a whole. Worked as a team, with co-workers, throughout the work day. The most enjoyable part of the day is that at times, the paper I make I have a chance to load that finished product on a truck to a costumer. Giving me – more... the satisfaction of completion, and knowing that I have produced and shipped a high quality product. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shift work
Papermaker (Former Employee), Ashdown, ARSeptember 4, 2013
Pros: good pay
Cons: shift work
A typical day at work included working on a hot and humid paper machine. You didn't get set breaks, but that could be a good thing if the papermachine is running right. I also learned what hard work is all about and paying attention to safety.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment with scope for learning.
SAP Functional Analyst (Current Employee), Fort Mill, SCAugust 23, 2013
Knowledge enhancement in skillset as well as business processes is encouraged.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay. Horrible management
Maintenance technician (Current Employee), Kingsport tnApril 15, 2013
Pros: good pay an benefits
Cons: management that knows nothing about making a rational decision.
Domtar pays good and has good benefits. But the management is horrible. They don't let the people working on the equipment make any decisions. This is the people who sees the equipment every day. The decisions are made from the offices without even looking at the equipment. The only reason this mill is still running is because it produces too much paper – more... quantity to shut down. The quality is pathetic. And it's all managements fault. They don't care. It's pathetic. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for growth
Powerbuilder and Oracle Developer (Former Employee), Fort Mill, SCApril 2, 2013
Working with DOMTAR was fun to learn and develop new enhancements.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No diversity with current market
IT/Maintenance (Former Employee), Baileyville, MEMarch 10, 2013
Enjoyed my time there prior to a layoff with a 150 others due to losing a paper machine under a poor market yet a great product produced. Nedded better management withpeople that cared and not looking forward to retirement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly people and always think safety first.
Accounts Payable Specialist (Former Employee), Addison, ILJuly 26, 2012
Pros: free shirts and other give aways
Cons: short breaks
The management always emphasize the importance of the safety of all the employees. They have safety training for all.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for
sales servicce Rep II (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INJune 21, 2012
Pros: the rate of pay, benefits, training, and management are great.
Cons: nothing negative to say.
Domtar has a great team and wonderful training. Management is wonderful and employees are great. The insurance benefits and rate of pay are really good. They have other incintivies as well. Everyone takes their job seriously and all employees are willign to pick up slack even in other departments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High employee morale and work ethic
Accounting Clerk (Current Employee), Fort Mill, SCApril 28, 2012
Each day is structured in which I am always aware of the job responsibilities I must perform. I have learned that each member of the Finance Department plays an important role in the closing process at the end of the month as well as many other functions. It is imperative that everyone works together to ensure that all processes flow smoothly. The management – more... team is comprised of men and women who are very knowledgeable about each division that they are overseeing. My co-workers are all very helpful and willing to show me new responsibilities whenever they are able to. The most enjoyable part of the job is getting positive reinforcement from my supervisor and co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WORTH THE WORK
Manager-Quality Control (Former Employee), Columbus, MSApril 27, 2012
Pros: enjoyable
Cons: temp work
Managing the safety of chemical workers as they suit up to enter and clean contaminated areas.

I take the job of protection serously and find it to be rewarding to protect my fellow worker.

About DOMTAR

Leaving a paper trail is Domtar's business; the company is North America's #1 uncoated freesheet paper manufacturer and marketer. Some – Read more

DOMTAR Photos