Doorstep Delivery Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 21 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We should sue them scammers!
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLMay 28, 2016
This branch is a joke especially one of the dispatcher. There is a lady which I liked her and she is friendly.

You never make money out of this job. Sometimes you work after your hours. The dispatcher tries to push in the name of making more money. You ain't making money at all. And your car ends up with tear and wear and you made a little above min wage.

Working at a fast food or pizza restaurant is much worth it than this company. Ow the funny thing is there are fees associated with your delivery called business fees are you serious?

Fees:
You pay 1.74 fee per delivery for marketing. The more delivery you make the more amount would be.
5.99 for DDI "Workers comp".
3.00 per day to rent the doorsteps equipments.
12.00 t shirt(one time)
15.00 for dmv (you get that back when you show up for the first two weeks).

Last funny thing; they make you to buy ice. They are giving you a hot soda and they are expecting to be a cold when customers orders them. You can not give a . I didn't because I put water in the freezer to make an ice instead to spend 2 bucks daily which is adds up by the end of the week.
Pros
None.
Cons
Everything.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Staff
Operations and Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLJune 10, 2016
Great staff that makes you feel comfortable and welcomed. Very laid back atmosphere. A typical work day involves managing dozens of independent contractors and multiple employees to ensure the operation runs soothly. Maintaining a high level of customer service while running the call center. Develop relationships with loyal customers, restaurant owners, and staff. Educate new employees on how to operate our back end technology platform.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and constantly answering phone calls.
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Tallahassee, FLMarch 23, 2016
The most enjoyable part of the job is working with customers on the phone and answering phone calls. Typical day at work is constantly on the phone which is perfect!
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Definitely enjoy the people I work with
Manager (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLMay 16, 2016
Every day is different. A lot of work entailed. A lot of customer service to provide. Menu updates for regular menus as well as catering.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
if your part time its not worth it
DRIVER (Current Employee) –  Tallahassee, FLNovember 1, 2015
you end up spending more on gas then you get payed, so you depend on tips, not at all worth the trouble or the mileage. if you're going to be a driver here you need to put in a lot of time to make a good amount of money, and doing taxes at the end of the year is terrible because you don't get a W2 you are technically self employed
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun work environment with interesting people
Driver/Navigator (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLJuly 31, 2015
Fun workplace that allows you to be flexible with your work hours. There is opportunity for growth with the company. This is a company that is expected to grow over the next couple years and has undeniable potential. They believe in supplying great customer service to everyone from the restaurants to their consumers in need.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive place of employment
Dispatcher (Current Employee) –  Sarasota, FLNovember 10, 2015
I loved working here and the people I worked with, just was part time and needed a full time job now so I am looking elsewhere for employment.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was ok. Not an everyday job for someone looking to pay real bills.
Delivery Driver (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, ALJuly 23, 2015
There are only 2 shifts 11-4:30 and 4:30-10
You check in with headquarters soon as you arrive
Pick a bag number set, drinks and roof topper.
Some times they have orders ready so after you log into the app you head to your first destination other days it takes about 1 hour to 1:30 for orders to pick back up.
drive around all day when its busy, on a slow day you might sit for 2-3 hours doing nothing.
the hardest part is trying to stay on time when the restaurant doesn't have your food order ready and finding apartment buildings when the directions aren't clear or if you cant find the building number out side on the building so you have to keep getting in and out of you car to look at the door numbers/letters.
Enjoyable part you can have 3-5 tickets and get tipped well but the downside is the opposite. Also some days the amount of gas you put in your car is about half of what you make everyday.So basically you are paying yourself to go to work because have to put gas in you own car.
Pros
down time some days, drive around all day
Cons
tip money doesn't add up with gas money
Was this review helpful?Yes11No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Restaurant Delivery
Restaurant Courier (Current Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLJuly 27, 2013
This job is very flexible. You can make your own schedule in a week's advance, and work within the customer's demand. The money you make depends highly upon tips, so it's very important to be friendly and diligent with every order.

The management are understanding and caring to meet the needs of the employees, and take great care of making sure that the drivers are receiving a good compensation for the time that they put in.
Pros
make your own schedule
Cons
sometimes the tips are shallow
Was this review helpful?Yes10No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job for a student, not a career.
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  6251 Philips Hwy, Jacksonville, FL 32216April 22, 2015
This company was an intermediary service for restaurants that did not typically deliver in the area. The company had nearly 100 different local restaurants that it handled taking orders from and delivering the food.

Show up, wait for an order, communicate which phase of the order you are on with the office, preform the steps (Go to restaurant, pick up food, check food, deliver food) and repeat. Very simple. You were fighting traffic and the alarming frequency of management at the restaurants lying to you about the completeness of the customers orders.

The primary income was through tips which were generally favorable. Quality of service was important, and you had to put in a minimum amount of care to actually make it worth doing. The hidden cost of wear and tear on a personally owned vehicle however, was unfavorable.

I had issues with the senior-level staff at the company. The owner of this location did not seem very interested in his own business, and when working dispatch would often make mistakes. I once delivered the same order twice, despite telling him I had completed the order. He both had to see that and then push the order again to the restaurant. I do not know how this happens. There were other issues in which because he was not there to open the office, we were required to go out and preform our duties without the proper equipment.
Pros
Easy work, Alone time
Cons
Wear-and-tear, Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes7No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fabulous company under fabulous direction
Owner/Driver (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 23, 2015
EXCELLENT company, just getting started. Really cool concept in the rural areas of Houston, not always guaranteed money, people don't always need loads of groceries, but hey, what can you do?
Pros
cool concept
Cons
long hours, unsecure by nature
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No advancement
Customer Service Rep (Current Employee) –  Tampa, FLNovember 2, 2014
Found to be an entry level type of job. Great experience. No raises, no advancement, no benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed work environment, for better or worse
Mobile Waiter (Current Employee) –  Tallahassee, FLSeptember 17, 2012
This is a very relaxed organization of which to be a part. You're pretty much working solo most of the time. Management is fairly lenient on tardiness/absences. Even if you're not listed on the schedule, you're free to come in to work as you wish. The hardest part of the job is managing your vehicle. There are a lot of long distance deliveries (20+) which add up in a week of work; it all depends on which dispatcher you have and how good they are. The amount of money you make is sort of 40/60 between your skill and knowledge of Tallahassee, and the adeptness of your dispatcher. Even slow days can be profitable with the right dispatcher.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of everything...
Manager/Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLAugust 5, 2014
From owners never being present to make decisions to proving drinking water this business offers nothing to make work life enjoyable, balanced or healthy. It took over 3 months to get paid overtime and was treated with hostility when I requested it. Paycheck stubs had to be requested, The air conditioner was broken for 3 days when it was 88 degrees outside with no windows that opened.

I would not recommend this employer.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy Company to work for.
Courier Driver (Current Employee) –  Nashville, TNNovember 24, 2014
There is not a lot of customer interaction, or interaction with anyone really. Management is alright, sometimes a little unorganized. Co-workers are great, mostly college aged kids.
Pros
pick your own schedule, easy job.
Cons
no interaction with anyone, money is not always steady.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Atmosphere & Multitasking
Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  Pembroke Pines, FLMay 28, 2014
Co workers are great and easy to get along with. The managers are awesome! your hours are flexible. The food is delicious lol! i enjoyed my time there, i had fun with the customers and got to know them better. I learned how to multitask and manage time. it's a great company anyone would love!
Pros
free deliveries at work
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Doorstep Delivery of Gainesville is an interesting place to work.
Delivery Driver (Current Employee) –  Gainesville, FLSeptember 2, 2012
Doorstep Delivery of Gainesville is a good place to work. The dispatchers (people who tell the drivers where to go) are fair and actively try to make sure all drivers get about the same amount of deliveries. There are 2 shifts (10:30am to 4pm and 4 pm to 10:30pm) and they are willing to let you work on your schedule as long as you work when you tell them you will. If something comes up, once in a while as things do, they are also understanding and will work it out with you. A typical day at work is you wait until you get a text or call, go to the restaurant, check to make sure all the food is there and to the customer's specification, deliver the food, have the customer sign and pay if applicable, and repeat. I've learned the city much better. There's not much interaction with co-workers. We run into each other at restaurants sometimes, but that's about it. The hardest part of the job, for me, is sometimes having to wait for 30 minutes or more for the food to be prepared. The most enjoyable part of the job is going to new places, whether they be restaurants or neighborhoods.
Pros
get tips and the end of every worked day, get to see new places, and get to be outside
Cons
you pay for your own gas and the weather can be problematic i.e. very hot, very cold, stormy, etc.
Was this review helpful?Yes34No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Flexibility and Fast Cash
Mobile Waiter (Current Employee) –  Tallahassee, FLAugust 25, 2013
A typical day at work is very independent. You get to drive your own car without anyone else hovering over you. As long as you have texting and GPS capability along with a positive attitude and the ability to pay attention to details this job is pretty easy. You receive the order, text back that you accept the order, drive to the restaurant, check the order for accuracy (the detail oriented part), then deliver it to the customer. The estimated delivery time is usually pretty generous, but even if you are running late all you have to do is call the customer and let them know. No problem! Everybody is really easy-going and it's nice to meet other drivers when you happen to be at the same restaurant waiting for orders. The hardest part is earning enough in tips to fill your gas tank for the next day, and lot of that has to do with customer service. Did you arrive on time/early? Did you call and speak politely? Did you smile and thank them at the door? The best part is the flexibility and getting paid weekly. If I only want to work one shift a week, I can do that. If I want to work doubles every day, I could do that too. Just give notice the Wednesday the week before and all is well. Tips are cashed out to you at the end of every shift/day!
Pros
flexibility, independent, reliable, easygoing
Cons
uses your own car and gas, heavy reliance on tips for income
Was this review helpful?Yes26No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tallahassee Driver
Delivery/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Tallahassee, FLApril 18, 2014
The people are very nice. I enjoy meeting new people. I learn the city of Tallahassee very well. The most enjoyable part is how fast you can pick up the food and deliver it to the customer.
Pros
free schedule
Cons
your always working for tips
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun people to work with
Delivery Driver/Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  Tallahassee, FLJuly 13, 2013
Had a blast meeting new customers and talking to new customers and helping the customers.
Pros
helping the customers
Cons
no healthcare offer
Was this review helpful?Yes1No11

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Doorstep Delivery. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 21 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture