DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Employee Reviews

Found 1,764 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a family environment to work
Banquet Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Arlington, VAOctober 14, 2017
well, since I start working till know I really enjoy working with Doubletree because it was very fun and the team, management, and all staff were so friendly, helpful and understanding. I learned about the importance of time management and etc.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't work here
Front desk agent (Former Employee) –  Brookfield, WIOctober 12, 2017
They are very inconsistent with their employees.
No work ethic.
Heartless management.
And will work you even if you can work still have to be forced to do your shift unless dead.
Pros
no lunch breaks at all
Cons
No time to breathe.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work with benefits
Assitant Kitchen Manager (Former Employee) –  West Palm Beach, FLOctober 12, 2017
Every shift is no more then eight hours which the company is very strict on. I learned the patience and understanding the needs of the customer. The hardest part and the enjoyable part of the job can be communicating with the customers.
Pros
Understanding the outlook of the customers vs. Double Tree Hilton
Cons
Understanding the outlook of the customers view about Double Tree Hilton
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved it
Room Service Supervisor (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOOctober 12, 2017
i loved the staff meeting new people everyday the environment just i didn't like when the hotel would get slow your hours would drop. if the hours didn't drop so drastically due to slow times i would love to work there again
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team Work
Barista/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNOctober 11, 2017
I liked my coworkers and the work environment. Teamwork and positive attitude is my ideal work environment.

I like customer service. I always enjoyed my the customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Modern Salvery
Line Cook (Current Employee) –  Tarrytown, NYOctober 11, 2017
You have no life when you sign up for this place. I worked the morning shift and it was a mess because they did not believe in hiring help. They will leave you to run a line by yourself.
Cons
no union
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workload was overwhelming.
Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Norwalk, CAOctober 10, 2017
New owners and management company took over and department managers were removed and replaced. The Sales Department became a personnel of one DOSM, one catering manager, one sales manager and one sales coordinator selling 13,000 square feet of meeting space and 171 guest rooms. With the Sales and Catering team reduced in half, it was impossible to take care of our guests stay and clients' events accordingly.
Pros
Many of the associates have worked at the hotel over 20 years.
Cons
Reduced in staffing in many of the departments, especially in Operations.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Accounts Receivable Clerk/ General Cashier (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOOctober 10, 2017
I enjoyed the regular routine of the hotel. I was able to learn the day to day operations, such as unhappy guests and front desk employees.

Most enjoyable part of the job was the staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They go by a great philosophy but the pay is not good
HOUSEKEEPING INSPECTRESS (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAOctober 10, 2017
The company and it's philosophy is great and it is an enthusiastic Human Resources dept. But the benefits for medical and dental is not very good. the salary is not very competitive, and not enough for the amount of work you do.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay
Barista and Trainer (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAOctober 10, 2017
Managers always accommodated every employees schedule and requested time off. Shift were never over 8 hours unless requested for over time. Lunches and breakfast free everyday as well with beverages. Good pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clean fun work
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Detroit MichiganOctober 10, 2017
Beautiful hotel its like 3 restaurants and you clean all around the hotel might see a famous person rooms are big so when stripping or cleaning you have to move fast always be on time make it these best you can
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do yourself a favor and choose a different hotel
Front Desk Agent (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLOctober 9, 2017
Too many unnecessary stress. The benefits for the amount of hours and effort put does not match. No one cares for the advancement of others; everyone is replaceable.
Pros
Free lunch, free parking
Cons
no sick time, benefits suck, too much stress
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid Hotel
Office Manager (Current Employee) –  Tampa, FLOctober 9, 2017
Solid hotel with large staff and large number of rooms. This is a great property to gain valuable experience working in full service with many rooms.
Pros
Free Employee Lunch, Good Management
Cons
Older Property
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work. Relaxed and easily able to manage responsibility.
Front Desk Clerk (Former Employee) –  Oak Ridge, TNOctober 9, 2017
I enjoyed working at doubletree hotel. However, it was a temporary situation due to the location, i moved back home which was 2 hours away. Thats why i left there. But it was a pleasant facility.
Pros
Free breakfast
Cons
No healthcare
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
guest oriented with many daily challenges
Food and Beverage Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Redington Shores, FLOctober 8, 2017
It was a great place to work, i would still be there but I had a stroke at a young age two years ago,I have since recovered and I am able to start working again. I learned so much in the year and a half there, mostly about people, guest and employees. It was always about teamwork and working togather for a common goal. The hardest part was always trying to do the right thing for the customer no matter the cost and deciding what that would be. I have to say even though the days and hours were long, putting a smile on someones face was always the best part of my day and it was my pleasure to get to do that often,
Pros
Extra work with non profit agencies through the hotel
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work there to stressful.
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  New Bern, NCOctober 6, 2017
Double Tree is ok to work there. Sometimes the Manger's don't care. I will not recommend anyone to work there .You get blame for things that you didn't have anything to do with .If they would call me back , I wouldn't go. That was my experience at Double Tree by Hilton. Which is now called trouble tree .
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not challenging enough
Lobby porter (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAOctober 5, 2017
doubletree is very stressful due to lack of team work
im looking to grow and unfortunately its not the place for my growth
i believed this was my last stop
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the Job Culture
Assistant Front Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Orange, CAOctober 5, 2017
Loved the job culture at the company. Hotel focused on employees and have several events put together by the CARE committee. Pay not that great or competitive compared to other companies.
Pros
Job culture
Cons
Pay not competitive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work!
STEWARD (Current Employee) –  Santa Clara, CAOctober 5, 2017
My favorite part of Double Tree is the diversity and people. Everyone is very friendly and treats each other well. Everyone cooperates very well together regardless of what position they have.
Pros
Free Lunch
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Management
Executive (Current Employee) –  South Bend, INOctober 5, 2017
Ask for more training- fired
Ask for more money- fired

Zero skilled Human Resources department, managers frequently engage in hostile work environment practices, hotel in general is being run into the ground.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 2,108 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.5
Culture
3.7