Find companies:
Dougherty County School System
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
18 reviews

Dougherty County School System Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT SCHOOL SYSTEM.
Paraprofessional (Former Employee), Albany, GAAugust 14, 2014
Pros: great kids good food
Cons: sometimes the kids can get loud!!!!!!
THE ONLY great school system to work for along with the student body.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Experience as a Parent Facilitator
Parent Facilitator (Former Employee), Albany, GAJune 11, 2014
A typical day as a Parent Facilitator could be rewarding at times and then at other times, it could be a bit stressful. I was responsible with bridging the gap between the home, school,and community. This was the rewarding part because I love the relationship that was developed between the students, parents, teachers, and community stakeholders. I would – more... go out and bring resources into our school that would be helpful to our students and parents to help ensure that our students are getting the necessary reources that they would need to be successful. I learned so much in this position. I learned how to communicate more effectively on every level as well as how to organize and submit the necessary documents and reports as it relates to student achievement and parent participation. I learned how to organize and conduct beneficial parent workshops that would help them be able to help their students in areas they maybe having difficulty. The hardest part of this job was so many hours that I would put in on a day to day basis and miss carrying out my own duties at home as a wife, to make sure that everything was in order so that we would pass our GADOE audit and not even be appreciated. I loved working with the other facilitators. We worked together as a team and helped each other to make sure that we all was on the same accord with documentation that had to be provided for our GADOE audit. The most enjoyable part of my job was working with and meeting new people on a day to day basis and be able to make the connection with the students, parents, teachers, administration, and community leaders and establish so many new relationships. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed my time there
Substitute Teacher (K-5) (Former Employee), Albany, GAMay 19, 2014
Pros: we were not ied down to a location because we had more than one school to serve.
Cons: if a problem arose while at the other site, sometime it made it difficult to address a particular need of a volunteer.
Working for this employer was a great experience especially as the VISTA Volunteer. The job required thinking outside of the box to accomplish the goals of helping children who were not reading at grade level. Until the tutorials were up and operating our days consisted of planning and obtaining the proper materials. For any one who like working with – more... children will love this employer.

As a substitute teacher, it was okay. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Limited Room For Growth
Air Conditioning Technician (Former Employee), Albany, GAMay 1, 2014
Pros: paid vacation time, direct deposit, health insurance.
Cons: furlough days, limited pay increase
Our work day begins promptly at 7:30am. We meet with the Crew Leader to discuss any potential issues and plan our day. We have a great team and work together well. The hardest part of the job is the physical wear and tear on your body and working in extreme temperatures at times. The most enjoyable part is working with the crew. We keep each other encouraged – more... and are able to share personal experience as well as work-related opinions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive And Active
Paraprofessional (Current Employee), Albany, GAApril 18, 2014
Pros: benefits, off on weekends
The School I am at is very Family Oriented. It is an active school and very productive. Hours are excellent but it those hours are starting to effect my college career. Everything is good the pay could be better and the benefits could be more.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work.
Assistant Network Administrator (Former Employee), Albany, GaDecember 13, 2013
I enjoyed my work at the Dougherty County School System. I advanced my knowledge to levels I never thought possible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SCHOOL CAFETERIA, CHILDREN, FUN ENVIORNMENT
Kitchen Aide (Former Employee), Albany, GANovember 20, 2013
Pros: children, cooking different foods, atmosphere was enjoyalbe
Cons: low benefits, low wages
I LOVED WORKING FOR THIS COMPANY. NEVER HAD A DULL MOMENT ESPECIALLY WHEN THE KIDS CAME THROUGH THE LINE IT WAS ALWAYS SOMETHING.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DCSS
French, Spanish, and ESOL Teacher (Current Employee), Albany, GAOctober 11, 2013
Pros: opportunities for teacher growth, family environment
Cons: eat lunch with students, extended service and no overtime
Through adequate mentorship, professional development, and varied opportunities, I have been able to develop effective skills for educational leadership i.e. classroom/behavior management, instructional leadership, data-driven instruction, unit planning, and assessment creation and evaluation. There is, however, a lack of diversity and global awareness.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working At A high school
Teacher (Current Employee), Albany, GAOctober 2, 2013
Pros: i can have an impact of someones furture
Cons: small pay, too much take home work
Six periods of thirty students who would rather be anywhere but in class. I learned that I enjoy teaching at the college level more. The management was new to the school but very strong. I did not have to much interaction with my co-workers. The hardest part of the job is dealing with bad students and coming home to do work for the next day. The most – more... enjoyable part of the job is the time when a student gets what I'm teaching and the encouragement that i get from some of the students. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Educational Environment
DCSS S.T.A.R. Coordinator (Current Employee), Albany, GAJune 24, 2013
Pros: you can see your progress through organized instruction.
Cons: budget shortfalls that effect needed programs.
An intense, task oriented and education driven 180-days for students, parents and educators. Each day provides an opportunity for you to make a difference in the lives of young people.
Co-workers approach their jobs with a team focus, resulting in a goals being accomplished on a consistent basis.

The hardest part of the job is realizing that some students – more... will not embrace the support, instruction, and opportunities presented to them.
The best part of this job is when students proudly bring their Progress Reports and/or Report Cards to share with you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too many changes
Substitute Teacher (Former Employee), Albany, GAMay 16, 2013
Pros: enjoyable and fulfilling work
Cons: too much bureaucracy
Atypical day included interacting with the students by teaching all core curriculm classes. I learn to treat each student as an individual and get to know their background in order to effectively teach them. Management and co-worker was nice at the particular school. The hardest part of the job was seeing some student being neglected byt heir parents. – more... The enjoyable part was seeing them accomplish another milestone in their lives. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The workplace.
Exceptional Students Paraprofessional (Current Employee), Albany, GADecember 11, 2012
A typical day starts at 7 with morning duty in the cafeteria. After which you report to your assigned grade level to start the day with assisting students and teachers with instruction. Most co workers are a pleasure to work with on a daily basis. The most enjoyable part of the job is helping exceptional students accomplish their goals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A work in progress
Teacher (Current Employee), Albany, GADecember 2, 2012
Pros: teacher to teacher relationships (professional)
Cons: administrative incompetence
This school system has been plagued by administrative issues from top to bottom. The educators have become apathetic to the students' needs and the overall system has suffered as a result. Things have been better in the past and I am confident that we will see better days ahead.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great oppurtunity and experience!
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee), Albany, GAOctober 26, 2012
Pros: great opportunity
Cons: cant think of any
My experience as a substitute teacher was wonderful. It was a joy completing the duties that the lead teacher would leave for me to complete on her days absent.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a great job for me while I gained my college degree.
Long Term Substitute Teacher (Former Employee), Albany, GAAugust 31, 2012
Pros: 1. the schedule was ideal for continuing my education.
Cons: 1. the job did not pay well at all.
This job was ideal because it provided holidays off and a set schedule which allowed me to attend college.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Schhol System
Teacher (Current Employee), Albany, GAMay 26, 2012
Pros: nice coaching supplement pay
Cons: not many p.e. positions available
I am a product of the Dougherty County School Sysytem. Great system.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An educational facility with students who are willing and eager to learn
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee), Albany, GAMay 9, 2012
A day at work begins with teaching students who are eager to learn. I have learned more communication skills while employed for Dougherty County School System. My computer skills have also advanced. My co-workers are hard working teachers who puts the student first every day. The hardest part of the job is when a student has to be disciplined. No teacher – more... likes to discipline his or her student. The most enjoyable part of the job is when you see hardworking students order their cap and gowns and graduate. At that moment, you know your hard work and teaching paid off. – less