Downey Regional Medical Center Employee Reviews

Showing all 15 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No longer DRMC now PIH
Patient Registration Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Downey, CAMay 11, 2016
PIH is a fast growing environment that is trying to survive and make a hospital successful. This is their main focus. They have framework for patient's and customers first, but they are still implementing and developing it. They have no loyalties to anyone and their employee/management turnover is hardcore. HR runs like a union driven HR due to their fear that the union will come in. It's extremely political.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The workforce is productive in providing various educational courses.
MED/SURG, DOU, TELEMETRY RN (Former Employee) –  Downey, CAJanuary 28, 2015
A typical day at work is providing care for acute and chronic patients. What I learned are various skills that strengthened my area of expertise. Management is very approachable and very knowledgeable in their area of expertise. My co-workers work well together to improve patient care outcomes. The hardest part of the job is the 12 hour shifts. The most enjoyable part of the job is observing good, positive patient outcomes.
Pros
excellent educational classes
Cons
we don't get all holidays off
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work
ER Technician (Former Employee) –  Downey, CADecember 9, 2015
Always very busy, but very good co workers and doctors so the team would always work fast to take care of all patients. It was a pleasure to come to every shift
Pros
Gave me the opportunity to work at my er job
Cons
Wouldnt change me to morning shift even that i was the most senior emt.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The work environment in the business office
Patient Accounts Rep/collector (Former Employee) –  Downey, CAJune 22, 2012
1. Call insurance companies for payment. Review patient accounts. Appeal payment denials.
2. How the insurance industry works.
3. management, Very rude and micro managing
4. co-workers were easy to get along with and helped each other.
5. hardest part of the job was dealing with micro managing management.
6. working with co-workers
Pros
healthcare
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes19No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had to wear many hats. Able to multi task
ER Registration Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Downey, CAJuly 27, 2015
I worked in the Emergency for the last fifteen years. Changes were constant and you had to have the ability to be able to adapt to change. Very busy department, learned a lot.
Pros
Was given lots of responsibility
Cons
Company went through bankruptcy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
first time at pbx operator in a hospital
PBX Operator (Former Employee) –  Downey, CAJune 4, 2015
i like the codes overhead to be able to help the patients that were in need of the medical assistant like dr. and nurses to come to there help as fast as they could. i also enjoy been able to work at my own pace with no one telling me what to do cause i feel im a fast learner and i cn work on my own.
Pros
had my lunch in my place of work
Cons
my last manager was to young to now what he was doing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, enlightening, fast-paced environment
Comfort Care Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Downey, CAJuly 10, 2014
A typical day of volunteering was posting tags on patients' doors, handing out water/magazines, handing out meal trays, delivering papers to different floors, filling out patient records, and following head nurse's directions. The hardest part of the job was running around the different floors of the hospital to deliver papers. The most enjoyable part of the job was getting to know the patients.
Pros
Free dinner, Great investment of time
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great work environment
Medical Training Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Downey, CASeptember 25, 2014
Always busy never a dull day. I've learned a lot in both positions held. My co-workers were the best I've ever worked with. Did not experience a hard day at work enjoyed every minute of my job. The most enjoyable part of my job was the working relationship built with Interns, Residents, Medical Students and Attendees.
Pros
Great Residency Program
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Emergency Room that was extremely busy. Had to be able to multi-task
ER Registration Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Downey, CAMay 27, 2014
I have worked the last fifteen years at Downey and enjoyed it very much, but I am interested in working a regular Monday through Friday with no week-ends.
Pros
Busy Environment
Cons
No room for growth
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive hospital
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Downey, CAJune 17, 2015
Many opportunities given. There us a variety of places in the hospital to work at such as ER, clerk desk, or distributing food to patients. I love the program.
Pros
Free lunch
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff and ability to advance in company
Downey, Calif. (Former Employee) –  Certified Coding Specialist CCSNovember 7, 2011
I worked with a lot of great people. I started off as a medical records clerk and they gave me the chance to advance to a medical records coder. It is with thir support and education that I became a Certified Coding specialist.
Pros
great people, close to home
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes26No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with harmony
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Downey, CAAugust 15, 2013
enjoyable working with co-workers
nice environment
activities and meeting with all my coworkers
professional people
Pros
free lunch
Cons
awaiting for opening
Was this review helpful?Yes12No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Staff.
Occupational Therapist Assistant II (Former Employee) –  Downey CaMay 16, 2014
Very busy hospital clinic setting. The Therapy staff was wonderful and hard working.
Pros
My hours were great.
Cons
High patient load.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to internship at
Radiology Intern (Former Employee) –  Downey, CAMay 21, 2013
A typical day consits of ER, OR, NICU, and exams requiring fluoro.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
equipment fails at times
Was this review helpful?Yes5No5Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Downey Regional Medical Center. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 15 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
4.1
Culture
4.1

Downey Regional Medical Center Reviews by Location