Find companies:
dressbarn
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
293 reviews

dressbarn Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working with clients.
Sales (Former Employee), moreno valley,caApril 14, 2014
I would help all the customers find the items they were looking for and help with whatever they needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i enjoyed working here
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Trumbull, CTApril 9, 2014
i was pregnant the most of the time at this job and my co-workers were very respectable. the atmosphere was always welcoming
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales, Customer service, cashier
Retail sales PT (Former Employee), Walker, MI.April 7, 2014
Pros: meeting people and experienceing retail
Cons: could pay better and offer ft positions
I liked working at Dress Barn, I enjoy working with people and helping them choose clothing that fit there budget and style. I think the management was good and would work for them again. I liked the co-workers, and we worked well together. I learned a lot from the experience there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work environment, stable company, diverse clientele
Store Manager (Former Employee), Brighton, MIApril 2, 2014
Pros: stable, fun to visually merchandise, not much downtime so every day passed quickly
Cons: didn't pay the greatest, but it was on par with where i was at that time in my life
I was a young manager at this company, so I did a lot of maturing here. They had a good home/work life balance, the tasks were even with the amount of customer service and selling that was expected of us. There was a very diverse group of associate and customers, so every day was different and fun. The hardest part of the job was managing the older – more... associates since I was so young, but I was able to balance it. The most enjoyable part of the job was selling and customer service and executing exciting visual displays. I had a lot of extra wall space so I learned to use my creativity to fill the spaces in. I had a lot of visits from Regional Managers where they said my store was the most visually exciting and clean stores they had, the associates were involved in the business and excited and that they loved coming there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Linden, NJMarch 29, 2014
Dress Barn is a good place to work. It has a great environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the Brand!!!
Sales Associate (Former Employee), New Braunfels, TXMarch 24, 2014
Pros: employee discounts
Cons: on the feet all the shift
A typical shift would include assisting customers with clothing choices, checkout at registers, exchanges, returns, and gift cards. I assisted with the freight and preparation for placing it on the floor. The hardest part of the job was the lack of hours, and the low salary. The most enjoyable part of the job was assisting the customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Day at Dressbarn
Sales Associate (Current Employee), West Orange, NJMarch 21, 2014
A typical day at work consists of dealing with any type of customers, from the needy ones, the nice ones, and the helpless ones. I've managed to make atleast 95% of our customers happy and eager to return to our business location. When it comes to our equipments, computers, and cash registers, I've mastered them all and I'm able to train anyone on how – more... to use them. I design the stores and layouts of the items being sold. I also have paperwork that are sometimes involved in my tasks. The most enjoyable part of my day is seeing a smile on the customers' face when they walk out. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Assistant manager (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAMarch 18, 2014
Dressbarn is a customer centric company. Employees at Dressbarn believe and live the mission of Inspiring woman to look and feel beautiful. Management is knowledgeable and believe in successorship. Teams comprise of energetic individuals who lead with enthusiasm. Great company to work for when just starting out in retail.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, flexible schedule
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Corona, CAMarch 17, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule
Great management and co-workers
I work with customers, assisting them in finding the products that they are looking for.
The best part of my job is working with the customers and meeting new people.
The hardest part of the job is dealing with a cranky customer but this is rare.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting work environment
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Allen Park, MIMarch 14, 2014
Pros: hands on customer interaction, steady pace
Dressbarn was a really fun job. What I liked the most was that this company hires from within, so I always knew if I continued to work hard, I would be able to advance. I learned how to be a team player, and also how to handle difficult customers. The hardest part of the job was when I could not get through to the customer, or help them enough.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive and uplifting job culture
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Mankato, MNMarch 12, 2014
Dressnbarn works toward making women feel beautiful and confident in their own skin and with the fashionable clothing they have. I learned a lot of leadership and communication skills as this was my first "manager" job. The store worked tremendously on teamwork and assuring to every employee (associate or manager) that their opinions matter and can – more... make a difference. The store manager did a great job with encouraging and recognizing achievements. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service team has given me a clearer understanding of customer needs and expectations.
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Puyallup, WAMarch 7, 2014
Pros: customer service, busy, interacting with people
Cons: healthcare, schedule and culture
Working specifically on a Customer Service team has given me a clearer understanding of customer needs and expectations.

Starting as an Administrative Assistant and now an Assistant Manager for a retail outlet, I see the importance of exceptional customer service and how it reflects on a company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company to work for.
Assistant manager (Former Employee), Fort Lauderdale, FLMarch 6, 2014
very good company to work for. and I learned a lot from them.Excellent team work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Meaningful Workplace
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Enfield, CTMarch 5, 2014
I've worked in retail for a long time now and it can be stressful. I've learned to communicate better with others, since I've always been a shy person. Trying to help women feel beautiful about themselves can be hard, but everyone is different and it's always a good idea to give your honest opinion on how clothes fit. The team I work with is amazing – more... and everyone I work with is such a great person to meet. The hardest thing about my job though, is getting the hours I want. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A nice place to work
Part Time Sales Associate (Current Employee), Oklahoma City, OKMarch 1, 2014
Pros: life work balance and caring company
Cons: no benefites for part time employees
DressBarn does care about it's employees. The company does believe in a work life balance. This means that scheduling can be made around a hectic life style that involves children or school. If there has been issues among an employee with another employee or a manager, the situation does get handled. It is a safe place to work and rudeness and prejudiced – more... is not tolerated. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a good place
Fashion Consultant (Former Employee), Cherry Hill, NJFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: you get to see all the new merchandise
Cons: hours aren't that great
I like this compny the most because you are up close and personal with your customers. You develope a nice relationship with your customers and co-workers. Management from above wasn't great, but from within the store was great. The hardest part for me was when I was offered a position for assistant store manager, the hours were outrageous.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Satisfactory
Senior Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Concord, New HampshireFebruary 24, 2014
Daily sales goals are competitive but obtainable. Not a good work/ life balance place. Management training is all hands on.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place to work
Retail sales associate (Current Employee), Bronx,NYFebruary 21, 2014
Getting into the job I immediately feel appreciated every one who works there always greets you. Management always has a small meeting with you telling you where the store is as far as sales and what needs to be done so you always know what to do. Everyone is very friendly and you can hold a personal conversation with them, however they are never inappropriate. – more... It is a great job to build your customer service skills because it is all about customer contact. Whether it is helping a customer find something specific they are looking for or them coming in telling you what the occasion and allowing you to help fulling pick out their wardrobe the job is very fashionable and fun. I love to be able to look at all the clothing since I consider myself to be a fashionista. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
THE BEST CREW OF LADIES I HAVE EVER WORKED WITH.
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Calhoun, GAFebruary 21, 2014
Pros: great work enviroment
Cons: not enough hours
WE ARE NOT ONLY CO-WORKERS, WE ARE MORE THAN FRIENDS. WE ARE LIKE FAMILY. EVERYONE BEHAVES IN A PROFESSIONAL MATTER. WE ALL CARE ABOUT OUR CUSTOMERS EXPERIENCE IN OUR STORE. WE HOPE TO MAKE EVERY WOMEN THAT COMES THROUGH OUR DOORS TO FEEL AS BEAUTIFUL ON THE OUTSIDE AS THEY ARE ON THE INSIDE. THE HARDEST PART OF THE JOB IS TRYNG NOT TO ENJOY IT. WE – more... ALL WORK GREAT TOGETHER, AND DON'T THINK FOR A MOMENT I DON'T KNOW HOW RARE THIS IS. I AM TRULY BLESSED TO WORK WITH THESE AMAZING LADIES. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible hours
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Sacramento, CAFebruary 20, 2014
This company offers flexible hours.
The most enjoyable part of the job is helping customers and making them happy. But they are racist.

About dressbarn

Ascena Retail Group (formerly Dress Barn, Inc.) has left the farm for greener -- but not leaner -- retail pastures. The apparel – Read more

dressbarn Photos