Find companies:
Drexel University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
86 reviews

Drexel University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best University
Student and Board Member (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAAugust 5, 2014
Drexel University is the best.

For more info, visit drexel.edu
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Research Associate (Current Employee), Drexel Olson LaborartoryAugust 5, 2014
Good place to learn new technology and implement. Gained extensive research through practical experience and literature review
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workspace in an otherwise chaotic environment
Engineering Learning Community Tutor (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAAugust 1, 2014
A typical day of tutoring includes helping a select few students who make an effort to improve their understanding of the school material. Students are encouraged, but not forced to, attend. As the tutoring is done in a dormitory common room area, difficulties may arise when other students who are not seeking tutoring help disturb the study session. – more... Even with the distractions, the students generally understand the material better after seeing us. Additional meetings can also be done in areas more conducive to studying, such as the university library. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Adjunct (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAJuly 28, 2014
I taught as an adjunct in the field of chemistry. I taught in both inorganic and organic chemistry.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAJuly 23, 2014
My job is just a temporary position, but it is lovely. The co-workers are great, and every day in the office is very different. We always manage to find some fun in the craziness!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience with Co-op program, students, professors, and senior design
Senior Design Project (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAJuly 9, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: funding $1500 for the project
- Research information for senior design every week
- Learn knowledge about Thermo-acoustic Refrigerator and mechanical phase shifting
- Professors and staffs are very nice and helpful
- My teammates are very dedicated and smart
- The hardest part is to transfer from method into reality
- The most enjoyable part is to run the refrigerator and cool down – more... the temperature close to 150K – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience!
Residential Assistant (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAJuly 5, 2014
Pros: heavily influenced by social justice initiatives
Cons: always on call
The job consisted of seven RAs who were extremely helpful. We were responsible for two floor of graduate students, along with planning an event every week for the residents. We loved putting together social events to encourage the students to interact with each other and take a break from studying momentarily.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't stop swimming or you'll drown
Various (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAJune 25, 2014
Pros: fast-moving, innovative, and maliable
Cons: quarter-system means that you never really stop
The fast pace of innovation means like a shark if you stop swimming you could easily drown. A quarter system means that the action never stops.

University has strong benefits and holidays off with family and seeks employees to be successful in their field as it adds prestige to the institution. Many innovators and hard-working folks will support you – more... if you support them. New and innovative ideas are pursued rather than rejected as there is a pervasive culture of change = growth. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Learning Experience
Publications (Former Employee), Phialdelphia, PAJune 10, 2014
Attending Drexel University allowed me to take the required courses to receive a degree in Biology, while getting real on the job experiences through co-ops. Two co-op rounds allowed me to gain experience in environmental health and safety management in an industrial setting, as well as a microbiology lab, looking closely at infectious bacterial strains – more... people are exposed to in a hospital setting. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hectic schedule to deal with.
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAJune 7, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: no breaks, funding is difficult.
My professor is very demanding and hence, I ended up spending most of my time in the laboratory. Drexel has a quarter system and the minimum course requirement is 3 per quarter. Learnt to manage time between academia and research.
There were a lot of members who ended up joining the laboratory as a part of lab-rotation. Also due to the differences in – more... projects taken up by the PhD and Masters-thesis students, and differences in each others schedule, not much of interaction used to happen initially. However, we all took time during conferences and free-time to understand the depth of other's projects.
The hardest part was spending in the window-less basement, where the lab was located. However, we found ourselves ways to enjoy inspite of hardships. We treated each other when results turned good. At times, professor used to take us out for lunch/dinner. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place
Custodian (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAMay 27, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: moving around to different sites that was a new experience
A typical day at Drexel is described as a lot of team work and customer service to students, faculty, and staff. Throughout my employment at Drexel University the management was great when confronted with many issues from custodians and others who needed things cleaned up in halls, classrooms, or offices. My co-workers were very helpful when needed. – more... The hardest part of the job was having to stop the job I was initially doing to help out around other parts on campus. However, the most enjoyable part of working at Drexel was helping others out with the different things they needed a facility worker to do for them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Teaching Assistant for General Physics I and II (Current Employee), PhiladelphiaMay 17, 2014
Get to interactively work with students!
Great coworkers, learn about Physics concepts
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
School Administrator
Independent Education Consultant Drexel University (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAMay 12, 2014
Pros: enjoying the students actively engaging in learning activities
Cons: working with seasoned teacher to have a buy in to new instructional practices.
As the school leader the primary responsibility was to maintain and orderly and safe climate for teaching and learning.
Meeting with teachers to collectively and collaboratively discuss new and practical innovative educational methodologies to improve student learning.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An exciting adventure in the field of medical science
Student (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAMay 7, 2014
Pros: making new discoveries in medical science
Cons: short breaks
It was an exciting experience that allowed me to be on the frontier of scientific discovery. It also gave me the opportunity to present my work to other colleagues via poster presentations and PowerPoint presentations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good academic atmosphere
Ph.D. candidate (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAMay 7, 2014
A typical day at work consist of lab research and assist professors on certain courses. The colleagues in our lab are very nice, but my advisor is very hard to satisfy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good experience.
Business Development Coordinator (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAApril 18, 2014
I worked Part Time at Drexel during my Senior Year of college.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment, where i was able to grow me and my employees.
RETAIL SUPERVISOR (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAApril 18, 2014
Pros: learning new management styles.
Cons: night shift did not end until 2 am in the morning.
I usually came into work, and reviewed the progress of the day with outgoing supervisors. i made sure that i was prepared for my upcoming shift. I learned how to supervise union employees, in order to benefit the company. My co- workers and I always came together in order to attain a goal. The hardest part of the job, would be the hours that extended – more... into two am . The most enjoyable part of the job would be the fulfillment I received when a goal was reached as a team. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place to learn new stuff
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAApril 17, 2014
Pros: free tuition fees
Cons: not enough working hours
I was partly in charge of running some of the operations of the department and along with working with a professor for his research.

I learned how to prepare and manage schedules for the professors. Also I managed the expense reports of the departments and the professors and completed them on a timely basis. I learned how to use different advanced – more... tools in MS Excel while analyzing data for the assigned professor's research.

Management was accurate and everything was previously thought of and taken care off, so that there are no shortcomings.

My co-workers were extremely hard-working and I learned quite some organizational and managerial skills from my manager.

Hardest part of the job was the data analyzing cause even my small mistake could hinder my professor's research.

Working in the Management department was the most enjoyable as I was surrounded by so many intellectuals and I had something new to learn from anyone and everyone I talked to, which improved and enhanced my communication skills. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good University and staff
Adjunct Professor (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAMarch 25, 2014
The staff is both friendly and professional.
I wish I could stay as a tenure track.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent, enjoyable, fulfilling experience.
X-ray (Radiography) student (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAMarch 21, 2014
The professors at Drexel University were extremely helpful and caring. Everyone was punctual. My ex-classmates will be unforgetable because of the fun times we had learning and helping one another achieve our goals. These years were definitely one of the best I've had in my life and right now, I'm looking to move on.

1 2 3 4 5