Find companies:
Drug Enforcement Administration
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
39 reviews

Drug Enforcement Administration Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DEA
Program Analyst (Current Employee), Arlington, VAJuly 23, 2014
Pros: flexiblity, aws schedule, telework (depending on the office)
I've worked here for almost 6yrs in various positions and I've learned a lot. You learn how to work with different types of people, different job duties, how to network, but for the most part everyone is like family. I've enjoyed working here and will continue to work here for as long as I can.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intern
Accounting Technician/Purchasing Agent (Former Employee), Newark, NJJune 10, 2014
My job was to assist all ensential staff with doing their jobs more efficiently.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good days
DATA SECURITY TECHNICIAN II (Former Employee), Arlington, VAJune 3, 2014
Very balanced days and very busy work loads. Coworkers are friendly and supportive. Management can be sketchy at times
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DEA is the best Federal law Enforcement agency.
UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE (Current Employee), Laredo, TXMay 28, 2014
Pros: world travel ; solving international investigations
Cons: too much travel sometimes.
DEA is the world's premier anti-narcotic agency with positions in 57 countries.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Investigations and analysis
FSN Investigator U.S. Department of Justice (Former Employee), US Embassy Kabul AfghanistanMay 13, 2014
Had a very long term job with DoJ DEA and worked on many cases, took part in investigations, joined the operations in different parts of afghanistan and fought against the terror and drugs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Proffessional and open staff
Security Specialist GS (Former Employee), Miami, FLMay 6, 2014
Pros: benefits; stable 9-5 job
Worked with both special agents and administrative staff handling duties assigned by team agent in charge regarding, personnel, information and physical security of division resources.
Waiting for clearances.
The people and atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Need better managment
Secretary (Current Employee), Arlington, VAApril 30, 2014
great work environment and build-up employee morale

great work environment and build-up employee morale

great work environment and build-up employee morale
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting, Challenging and Passionate Place to work.
Chief Worldwide Operations (Former Employee), Washington, DCApril 24, 2014
A career with the Drug Enforcement Administration can take you anywhere from local to international assignments. You will work at local, state, and international levels and go home every night satisfied that you are making a difference.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy going federal law enforcement
Student Intern (Former Employee), San Francisco, CAApril 18, 2014
As an intern you will be exposed to federal law enforcement procedures and protocols. Laid back and easygoing co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Paralegal Specialist
Paralegal Specialist (Former Employee), Arlington, VAApril 13, 2014
Paralegal Specialist for the Asst Forfeiture Division at DEA
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent and challenging
Contractor Paralegal (Former Employee), Providence, RIJanuary 14, 2014
Pros: helping society
Cons: not a government employee
I was a contracting employee for the government assigned tot he Asset Forfeiture Unit. We seized assets from drug dealers and forfeited them to the U.S. Government. I felt like I was making a difference in society at this job. I was helping with the war against drugs.. Every 4 years the contract would be up for rebidding and sometimes the company who – more... had the contract would not be awarded the contract again and would be awarded to another company. So I was an employee to the contract and not the companies. To pay the salaries to have this work the salaries of contract employees came from the seized asset fund, these funds could not be paid directly to government employees therefore you could not become a government employee and work for this unit. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Administrative & Budget Analyst (Former Employee), Nogales, AZDecember 19, 2013
Pros: all good
As long as you were able to do your work and take care of all your responsiblities, your supervisor will leave you alone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
VERY PRODUCTIVE
Personnel Security Assistant/ Data Technician II (Current Employee), Arlington, VADecember 13, 2013
Pros: fun, enjoyable
Cons: breaks, team work
MY TYPICAL DAY AT WORK (GREAT NO COMPLAINTS) I WENT IN EVERYDAY WORKED ON MY DAILY TASK. I LEARN HOW TO DO WORK INTO e-QIP; JSTARS, etc... I had an excellent trainer. I enjoyed with my co-workers. Once I learn how to run credit reports, investigations etc. I had no problem because my trainer was very detail. Once I start doing the job hands on it became – more... clear – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Place
All-Source Intelligence Analyst (Current Employee), Chicago, ILDecember 4, 2013
Great place to work. You do not need to know what I do as it is classified. So I will put as many words in here until it allows me to go forward.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Intelligence Analyst (Current Employee), Brownsville,TXNovember 21, 2013
A typical day at work is providing case support to DEA Special agents and Task Force Officers. I have learned to use DEA data bases used t provide intel and case support. I have a great working relationship with all co-workers. The hardest part of my job has been having to deploy overseas since I am still serving. The most enjoyable part of my job is – more... being able to assist DEA and disrupting Drug trafficking Organizations. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bureaucratic
Criminal Investigator/Recruitment (Former Employee), Weston, FLNovember 15, 2013
In the beginning, the job/mission was enjoyable and productive. Now it is a bureaucratic nightmare.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Safe environment and Fun
Security Technician (Former Employee), Alexandria, VAOctober 24, 2013
Productive, Safe environment and Fun. Worked under pressure and stress at times very well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
MANY DIFFICULT AND CHALLENGING SITUATIONS
UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE (Former Employee), SEATTLE, WAOctober 16, 2013
Pros: great co-workers
Cons: stressful environment put many people on edge
I ENJOYED MY 20 YRS WITH THE AGENCY. I WAS SUPPORT STAFF AND DEALT WITH A VARIETY OF PEOPLE AND SITUATIONS. BACKGROUND CHECKS, RETRIEVING DATA AND ANSWERING MANY PHONE CALLS.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Co. with excellent benefits; retired after 32 years 8 months.deral service.
Diversion Investigator (Former Employee), Birmingham, ALSeptember 13, 2013
Pros: great benefits
A typical day at work was from 8:00 AM to 4:30 PM.
Worked in conjunction with other state and local law enforcement agencies. Led and trained seven junior investigators on high end criminal and civil investigations. I conducted complex regulatory and scheduled investigations. I prepared Administrative and Seizure Warrants. I testified under oath in – more... Administrative hearings and criminal court cases. I received numerous Performance Awards for Dedication to Duty and Outstanding Contributions, and Awards for Exceptional Effort and Professionalism in the Performance of duties. I served as the Acting Group Supervisor where I approved reports; memorandums, warrants, and approved submitted leave request. I coordinated investigation; analyzed data, reports, and evidence. I maintained, researched, and reviewed case files, along with gathering information to solve the investigations that resulted in criminal and civil fines. I enjoyed working for the federal government while maintaining my integrity, and commitment to service and my government. I retired after 32 years and 8 months federal service. I had a great management team along with great co-worker. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly Rewarding Law Enforcement Opportunity
Intern/Student Volunteer (Former Employee), Toledo, OHSeptember 5, 2013
There were no typical days of work at the DEA. Each day brought new challenges and opportunities to learn. I worked with some of the best law enforcement individuals in the country and got to experience first-hand what it was like to be a DEA agent. The men and women I worked for/with were incredibly intelligent and full of integrity and ensured my – more... safety at all times.

The position included sometimes being put in unpredictable and possibly dangerous situations and often being around sensitive documents, information and evidence as well as dangerous criminals and suspects.

I learned a great deal about law enforcement at this job and I also learned about the collaborative efforts that it takes between different people and teams in order to accomplish a goal. – less