Find companies:
DSM
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
35 reviews

DSM Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work place with many job oppurtunitys
Inspector (Former Employee), Greenville, NCOctober 22, 2014
enjoyed my time there. My job title was an inspector. There we inspected meds for defects. Making sure customers only gets the best products.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Senior Production Operator (Current Employee), Freeport, TXOctober 22, 2014
No advancement opportunities and time off was not valued by employer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people, BAD management
Research Associate (Current Employee), Columbia, MDSeptember 3, 2014
Cons: micromanagement, lack of respect, false hope
Awful management with NO room to grow. I have been working there for four years, and have not seen ANYONE in my group get promoted regardless of effort, publication, etc. There are false promises to keep people going and keep their hopes up, however, these promises are never fulfilled. Management is POOR to say the least. They micromanage every irrelevant – more... idea, but are nowhere to be found when a real problem arises. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great expercience in a great industry
Group leader (Current Employee), ParisppanyMay 19, 2014
Cons: pay is not comparable to workload or work importance. very little growth available in most areas
Its never a dull day at DSM. The work is constant and is engaging, and due to global economic and societal changes, our work is constantly having to change and be adapted to meet new demands. My biggest gains in experciance have been at DSM, as I have learned many high level procesess, like Six Sigma, and root cause analysis and project management. – more... Being as we are always in flux, management is naturally a busy place, with new hirings and Re-orgs, and for the most part DSM has been able to bring in competent engaging managers.My co-workers are a varied group, with different skill sets and experience, but all have developed into an effective co-hesive unit. The hardest part of my job involves balancing the relationships between the busineses and the external suppliers, and also prioritizing through all of the changes. The most enjoyable part is to see projects and developmental units become effective due to my input and effort. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun
Accounts Receivable Collection Accountant (Current Employee), Parsippany, NJMarch 26, 2014
Pros: equal opportunity employment
It would be a great pledger to continue working with DSM Inc. It has been an exciting experience as I would be able to use my professional expertise to help the company gain profit.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dsm constantly changing organization chart and staff
Operations (Current Employee), San Francisco CAFebruary 9, 2014
Pros: very diverse, high up educated staff treat lower levels with respect
Cons: org changes every year..always feel job is going to be elimated
I have worked here for over 5 years and my job and department has changed many times with each re organization their is a lot of talk which becomes rumors and fear of who's job or department is at risk with no communication from management or corporate headquarters. Some people get a way with working about 5 hours a day and others work 10 plus hours – more... a day on salary with such an overload of work that they are in fear to not work 60 hours a week!!! One person actually is doing the job of three people. Raises are basically less than 1.5 percent even for the hardest working people. We have managers who mange a staff of two and that manager sits on the phone all day on personal calls or is on the Internet and only comes out of their office to basically get coffee. Very political in terms of who gets promoted. The men in some departments get better treatment than senior staff women. One guy was a supervisor who barely ever came to work and his staff complained so bad they finally got rid of him only to create him a new job that did not exist and he actually comes in at 10 am and leaves around 4 pm and no one seems to even know what his job is now. Others work from 6 am to 5 or 6pm everyday!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unfortunately very problematic environment!
science (Former Employee), Delft, ZHDecember 12, 2013
Pros: flexible working times
Cons: problematic cultural environment! comments against ethnicity happen quite frequently!
The company has a good mission BUT:
Unfortunately descriminative comments, jokes....!!
if you are not dutch you are not much.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work!
Communications (Current Employee), Columbia, MDDecember 11, 2013
Pros: good pay
If you are looking for a great work experience where you can learn a lot about food science, marketing, public relations, and consumer engagement, this is the place to work!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment
PRODUCTION ASSOCIATE III DSM FUNCTIONAL MATERIAL (Former Employee), NCDecember 4, 2013
Pros: work schedule
Cons: main office overseas
The job was very safety thinking in all you do. My experience as chemical operator started here. As long as ask questions everyone is willing to find the answer. Enjoy the individuals I worked with, they made it more enjoyable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved the work and enviroment
production worker (Current Employee), Logan, UTNovember 7, 2013
Pros: the work is light work
Cons: they are moving the company
I like the work but unfortunately they are moving the company to Wisconsin.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company undergoing management transition
Culture Media Manufacturer (Current Employee), Germantown, WIJuly 15, 2013
Facility undergoing management transition from Cargill to DSM, production/sales in flux
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company with a team based evironment
DSM Biopharmaceutical Internship (Former Employee), Greenville, NCMay 17, 2013
My main task was reformatting manufacturing and filling work orders using Microsoft Word. I also attended several project meetings and helped the project management team with miscellanous tasks. The people I worked with were friendly and very helpful in teaching me about how things work in idustry.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid DSM at all costs
worker (Current Employee), Greenville, NCApril 17, 2013
Pros: there are some committed and honest employees
Cons: dsm will use you and then throw you out like garbage when they're through with you.
I wish there were negative numbers available in the ratings for culture/vales and management. Senior management supports mid-level management in poor decision making and discriminatory behaviors. They do not know how to "do the right thing." It appears to be too much trouble. Many "managers" are not properly trained to direct people. Most of all, no – more... teamwork concepts actually lived out in reality. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Place to work with good pay
Pilot plant operator (Current Employee), Belvidere NJApril 9, 2013
Pros: pay, distance from hom
Cons: benefits, hours, schedule
I learned a lot at DSM, great place to work in the nutritional field, I worked closely with people whom I liked very much, although ive had a bad experience with the management within the company, the hardest part of this job was to keep u[p with the ever changing schedule and still have family time. The most important part of the job is consistency, – more... you have to take yourself out of the equation incase something went wrong with the fermentation, you had to know that it was not something that you had changed from the previous time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible company values and management
Research Associate (Current Employee), USAMarch 27, 2013
A company that has gotten too big to handle itself, and continues to gobble up more small companies to compensate for its lack of direction and good management. Terrible upper management guidance. A complete lack of support for ingenuity and R&D. Communication is sparse and often contradictory. Benefits are decent, although health has gotten progressively – more... worse, with a recent "spousal insurance surcharge", pegging employees with an additional $1200 annual fee to include coverage for their spouse. A very Europe-centric company lacking a modern culture agenda that addresses the needs of USA employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't get trapped!
Production Technician (Former Employee), Greenville, NCFebruary 25, 2013
Pros: you get a paycheck
Cons: dsm=don't spend money...need i say more?
Once you get in you can easily get in a rut. If you are in production, oftentimes management will not let you leave their areas because you are "too valuable" yet they don't want to pay you like you are valuable. There shouldn't be this much turnover in a department (O&T) that pays fairly well. Pettiness run rampant in management. Complain about anything – more... and you have a bullseye on your back and you can forget about trying to move to another department...trapped. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome People with Great Potential
Managed Services Manager (Former Employee), Lakeland, FLAugust 8, 2012
Pros: culture, technology
Cons: benefits, leadership
Going to work was a joy because of the people I got to work with. On the other hand, some leadership positions made things difficult by not having a clear vision and poor management skills. The potential of DSM with it's business connections and Data Center facilities has set itself up for possible continued growth and exciting professional environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Sourcing (Former Employee), NJJuly 6, 2012
Stay away from the Sourcing area, they are completely clueless- There is no direction and the management is less educated with less work experience that the actual workers.. Its lopsided.... stay away
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed working environment
Installation/repair Tech (Current Employee), Lake Forest, CAJune 21, 2012
Pros: management pays for lunch, most times
Cons: inconsistant workload
the people are great, they have a easy and relaxing demeaner, managment is always available for assistance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Have fun make money and learn a lot.
Technician (Former Employee), Greenville, NCMarch 14, 2012
Pros: good benefits
Cons: long hours, rotating shifts
A good company to work for if you deal with the hours. You can make a ton of money and enjoy yourself while making it.

About DSM

DSM wants to get more out of life, or at least life and material sciences. It focuses on nutritional products and performance – Read more