DSW Inc. Employee Reviews

Found 990 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DSW is a great company to work for
Systems Analyst (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHFebruary 12, 2017
DSW is very employee oriented. Many employee and family activities. Benefits are good. Basically a very good place to work. The facility is very modern with a very good cafeteria.
Pros
Cafeteria reasonably priced for breakfast and lunch
Cons
none come to mind
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with.
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Camp Hill, PAFebruary 12, 2017
It's a fairly easy job, and the people are amazing and friendly. Granted they do pressure you to get reward sign ups, and the customers can be annoying. Overall it's a nice place to work
Pros
30% discount in store
Cons
Use a 5 point system.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with even better people
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Paramus, NJFebruary 11, 2017
A day at work at DSW is fast paced but also a lot of fun. We truly live by our mission and our values. Management is wonderfully understanding and compassionate towards the employees. I love my job at DSW because of everything the company stands for and everyone that I work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly environment
Sales associate (Former Employee) –  Tempe, AZFebruary 8, 2017
Great job. Recommended for full time associate. My only probl was balancing my work and school schedule. They often checked on me to see how I was adjusting,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it is alright
Stock Support (Current Employee) –  Round Rock, TXFebruary 3, 2017
work is great, great benefits it is interesting, customers are very nice and it is a lot of fun to help them specially if you are a woman. management is okay i would say, some of them have no idea what are they doing though, but job is very laid back so i guess it is whatever. promise raise before hiring me but after 90 days never got it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was okay
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJanuary 30, 2017
i hate retail, maybe thats why i didnt like it but they will surely overwork you especially if youre a good employee. i found myself working every single saturday unless i took it off. management was not fair or considerate in that category. being a young girl who works hard and comes into work just about everyday should be considered a saturday off because i work it every single week.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great intro to career in management
Assistant Merchandise Manager (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJanuary 30, 2017
Open and close store, accountable for up to 15 employees at a given time. Address customer complaints and questions, and loss prevention. Set tempo for staff and sales day. Adjust staffing based on hourly sales. Management within the store works together well. Outside management seems disconnected from sales floor and the people. Focus is store sales, turnover, reward sign ups and loss prevention.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work Management could be a little much
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Kalamazoo, MIJanuary 30, 2017
Dsw was awesome company to work for and the store i worked for was great! there was only a few minor things behind the scenes i wish would of changed while i worked for them but other wise it was fun!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Picker/Packer (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHJanuary 30, 2017
Everything about that job was bad.. Employees, management, the job itself just everything I would never go back to that company. I also would not at all recommend to anyone to work there at all
Pros
N/A
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Workplace
IT Intern (QA) (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHJanuary 27, 2017
Great place to work for with awesome discounts for employees.
Great Benefits and amazing working atmosphere.
The organization strongly believes in values and individual growth
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overworked, okay pay
Sales Associate (part-time) (Former Employee) –  North CarolinaJanuary 25, 2017
Good job for first starting out. Quickly the tasks add up as you learn how to do more. Not a place to really network unless you befriend customers. Any upward movement has a lot to do with favoritism. The discount is awesome and the availability to change your schedule needs is good. Great for a college student who changes schedules every semester. Is closed major holidays.
Pros
Flexible scheduling, DISCOUNT
Cons
Overworked
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
America's favorite place for shoes
Human Resources Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 25, 2017
In an ever evolving industry, DSW tries their best to stay current and relevant. They strive to be America's favorite place to work and have made strides towards that goal.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a good company
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 23, 2017
It is a good company to work for. It is fast paced, and friendly. You move around and keep busy for your whole shift. There is always something to do.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Customer Service/Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Wayne, NJJanuary 20, 2017
I loved working here I got too see all the latest shoes that came out .got to meet a lot of nice friendly customers . And got to visit other stores and help open
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A sham
Athletic supervisor (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 20, 2017
Mostly they loop you in with a company culture, meanwhile upper management only cares about themselves - not the associates in the building who are actually interacting with the customers every day.
Pros
discount
Cons
management sucks. Loyalty program is unrealistic
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not to bad
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Annapolis, MDJanuary 19, 2017
DSW is a good company to work for. They provide you with annual raises, the discount is pretty decent. I am a part time employee so i am unaware of the benefits. They could work on the things they view as important. For example the rewards program is pushed on employees, which causes them to push towards customers making the work shift even more stressful. Corporate could communicate better with employees versus managers to see what it is truly like for an employee in a single shift between task and customer service. I do enjoy working with co-workers who are willing to do there part and are open to criticism and change. Due to a change in management hours are terrible right now.
Pros
pizza parties
Cons
breaks may be forgotten, mandatory meetings that are only given once and inconvenient
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family friendly work environment
Allocation Intern (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHJanuary 18, 2017
The corporate culture is extremely laid-back and friendly. People get their work done but all get along very well and are down to earth individuals. Greater levels of work could probably be accomplished if everything wasn't so laid back, though.
Pros
free merchandise/sample sales, approachable employees, good work life balance
Cons
not as challenging of a work environment, not as competitive salary
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service geared company
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Coconut Creek, FLJanuary 18, 2017
DSW is all about making the shopper or shoelovers experience the best possible. Honest company with great deals. A typical day consists of coming into work and getting a brief description of any new changes or promotional deals the company has. Then you'd help any shoppers that need help while paying attention to your area and making sure it is presentable. If you are trained to be on the register you may be called when needed. I learned create customer service, cashier training, how to stock inventory correctly, and how to effectively communicate in the workplace.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Short break
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Work Enviroment
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Warrington, PAJanuary 17, 2017
Great place to work, however your hours are never secured. They could work you one week where you make 38 hours and another where you only get to 12. It's a great place to work, coworkers are fun and the managers are very nice, as well as its comfortable and a safe environment.
Pros
discount on shoes
Cons
hours are all over the place
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible work environment
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Hurst, TXJanuary 16, 2017
The work was very monotonous. The management was not supportive of their employees, and there are not many opportunities for advancement.
Pros
None
Cons
Short breaks, rude management
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at DSW Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 1,018 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.4
Culture
3.7