Find companies:
DTE Energy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
84 reviews

DTE Energy Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good work place
Senior Oracle Developer (Current Employee), Detroit, MIJuly 2, 2014
This is one of the best company I have ever worked with. People are very good. Work is very challenging and I enjoyed it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would be perfect if the pay was better
Teller and Receptionist (Current Employee), Detroit, MIJune 8, 2014
Pros: hour lunches, friendly management and coworkers, convenient location
Cons: contract position, so no benefits and low pay
Balancing our cash drawer, processing customer's payment to their accounts
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Great CO-OP experience
Deployment Technician (Current Employee), Detroit, MIJune 2, 2014
Pros: great place to work
Cons: hard to get a direct hire position
This experience allowed me exposure to a vast amount of experiences. From face to face interactions and increasing my troubleshooting skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good learning expirence
EO Residential Business/Marketing Student Co-Op (Former Employee), Detroit, MIJune 2, 2014
Pros: i was able to get a real hands on expirence
Cons: n/a
I conducted a penetration study for one of the programs in the residential energy optimization department.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PRODUCTIVE WORKING CONDITIONS - A FUN PLACE TO WORK
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Detroit, MIJune 1, 2014
Pros: celebrating birthdays - and holidays - doing volunteer work
Cons: micro managers
A TYPICAL DAY AT WORK IS THE ENJOYMENT OF MY CO-WORKERS AND MY MANAGERS. ITS LIKE MY SECOND HOME AWAY FROM HOME. WORKING TO MAKE SURE THAT I AM GIVING THE COMPANY MY BEST AND MAKING SURE THAT THE CUSTOMERS LEAVE AWAY HAPPY. WHEN MY HUSBAND PASSED ON 2/1/2014 - I COULD FEEL ALL THE LOVE AND COULD FEEL IN MY HEART THAT THEY REALLY CARED. I LOVE THE PEOPLE – more... THAT I WORK WITH FROM CO-WORKERS, SUPERVISORS, AND MANAGERS. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DTE is a great company to work for
Financial Analyst (Former Employee), Detroit, MIMay 20, 2014
DTE offered me the opportunity to learn and grow for 13 years. It is a family friendly company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meter Reading
Meter Reader (Former Employee), Detroit, MIMay 7, 2014
Typical day involves much walking. Must prepared to fight dogs and deal with angry customers. Only hard part is gas because you use your own vehicle and weather changes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. Very loyal to their employees.
BOILER TUBE FAILURE CO-OP (Former Employee), Detroit, MIApril 22, 2014
Great place to work. Very loyal to their employees.
Great place to work. Very loyal to their employees.
Great place to work. Very loyal to their employees.
Great place to work. Very loyal to their employees.
Great place to work. Very loyal to their employees.
Great place to work. Very loyal to their employees.
Great place to work. Very loyal to their – more... employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Pay - No Mobility - Horrible Work/Life Balance
Principal Engineer (Current Employee), Newport, MIApril 21, 2014
Pros: job stability, decent pay and 401k, good benefits
Cons: the work life balance is: work = life (a perfect balance!). low mobility inside nuclear generation.
This was my first job after finishing college. It's a good job for gaining experience as an engineer in the nuclear power (or power generation) industry. It's a good job if you like maintaining 50+ year old technology, or if you like doing the same thing over and over again. The pay is decent. However, as far as engineering goes, most of the engineers – more... are glorified clerks that interface with vendor experts. If you want to do real engineering work, then you must present a business case why you should learn/do something that would benefit the company.

Unfortunately, the work/life balance is tied to keeping the plant running, which has been an incredible challenge in the last few years due to aging infrastructure, poor management of labor resources, and lack of knowledge retention. Be prepared to work challenging refuel outage schedules such as 13+ hour days/nights with no days off for 2+ months, repeated every 18 months.

If you're more interested in research, product development, or anything with the smallest bit of entrepreneurialism, then this is not the job for you.

If you don't like rotating schedules, 13+ hour days/nights, or unanticipated schedule changes (I have been called in on several vacations/holidays), then this is not the job for you.

If you value career mobility, then this is not the job for you (this only applies to the nuclear engineering side of DTE).

If you like 80s work culture, bad (but funny) work politcs, and like ancient technology (including IT), then this is the place for you! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work experience
Customer Credit Representative (Former Employee), Southfield, MI.April 14, 2014
Everyday was quite the experience. I loved the environment. Fast pace, professional, and fun. I learned everything about customer service, collections, and billing. Even trouble shooting. My co-workers were like family. The hardest part was leaving. The most enjoyable part was the experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Safety and Industrial Hygiene Supervisor (Former Employee), Detroit, MIApril 10, 2014
Pros: advancement, industry leader
Cons: strong union
Corporate Safety was a leader in the Business Units, lead, guide and directed the business units and facilities to Federal and State Standards. I managed 8 other Safety Professionals in the Fossil Fuel Fleet, Corporate Training and Engineering. The hardest part of the day was day to day operation as to balance between the facility and corporate functions. – more... I enjoyed my job and wish I didn't leave to pursue my next job opportunity. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Southfield, MIMarch 31, 2014
Overall decent place to work, great place to start entry level.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DTE energy is a very easy place to work
Call Center Representative (Former Employee), Coldwater, MIFebruary 25, 2014
Pros: bonus pay
Cons: long hours, short breaks, never being able to talk to the main boss of the company
A typical day at DTE Energy was very interesting. You have your own cubicle to take calls and handle some not so fun situations. I learned to take what everyone says into consideration and try your very best to keep the caller on the other end of the line happy. The managers were very rude. My co-workers were always very focused on their jobs and they – more... didn't pay much attention to anything else. The hardest part of the job was when you couldn't help people get their gas or electric turned back on and they had children or when it was close to the holidays. The best part of my job was when I had customers tell me how nice and sweet I was or that they appreciated everything I had done for them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
executive asst
Executive Asst (Former Employee), Detroit, MIFebruary 7, 2014
awesome employer to work for and strive on continuous improvement with their co worker and excellent employer to work for ...I was temporary employee with Bartech.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Access Admin Co-Op (Former Employee), Detroit, MIJanuary 14, 2014
I really learned a lot
What I learned is different types of applications, assistance in Remote Access, Team Management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Trying to hold a closing company together,while it still produces product
Operator/Maintenance Technician (Former Employee), Brookpark,OhioJanuary 2, 2014
Pros: my own boss. i had pride in knowing my equipment was right
Ford was eliminating its Brookpark facilities slowly. DTE energy had taken over the Steam production,Compressed air production,Chilled water production and all building HVAC duties. They cut our original Ford Motor company crew by 45 percent. The people that were left had the tremendous chore of holding it all together while Ford still wanted to produce – more... product. They finally stopped production and started demolishing buildings and we were let go one by one. I was one of the last to go, – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to have an internship, employees very knowledgible
Internship (Former Employee), Newport, MIJanuary 1, 2014
My time with DTE Energy was a great experience and helped
me gain knowledge towards my degree
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job environment, supportive team
Electrical Engineer Internship (Former Employee), Detroit, MIJanuary 1, 2014
A full time, I learned who to practically apply my academic knowledge, supportive and knowledgeable coworkers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Station Assistant (Current Employee), Detroit, MIDecember 30, 2013
The most enjoyable part of my job is serving the customers. I take pride in meeting the customers needs and leaving them with a pleasant taste in there mouth that tells them that they are important and a valuable customer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Executive assistant (temporary)
Temp executive assistant (Former Employee), DetroitDecember 21, 2013
Pros: lots of community outreach opportunities; no one micromanaging me
Cons: assignment too short
I had the pleasure of subbing for the assistant to the President of the Gas Pipeline organization. What a fine group of people. Everyone was super nice and hospitable; I felt very welcome for a person on a two month assignment. If "niceness" is criterion for a rating, then this group has my vote. Additionally, I got a general sense of the company and – more... my observation is most people seemed fairly content. (BTW, I gave 3 stars on a couple rating categories because as a temp, these did not apply to my knowledge base.) – less

1 2 3 4 5

About DTE Energy

Detroit's economy may be lackluster, but¬†DTE Energy still provides a reliable spark. The holding company's main subsidiary, Detroit – Read more