DTLR, INC Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Greensboro, NCNovember 16, 2017
DTLR was a competitive place to work. There are multiple retail stores that sell the same brands so you have to figure out what sets aside DTLR as different. Selling to customers wil be easy if you have the niche for great customer service.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job for part time needs
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Woodbridge, NJNovember 13, 2017
Nice place to work for, good discounts! Great people to work with and fun! No discount on online orders which was not so great. My general manager Nicholas T. was the best!!
Pros
Great management team
Cons
no commission
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Greensboro, NCNovember 11, 2017
The stress level at this job is high. You work 12 hour shifts without having a break. Staffing is an issue and you are understaffed the majority of the time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Newport News, VANovember 2, 2017
Fun place to work if you into fashion like helping others get to meet alot of different people you have your rude customers at times but if you know how to over look all that you'll be fine
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Gaithersburg, MDNovember 2, 2017
productive fast past environment, and dealing with different people every day, making sales and processing shipment, making sure inventory is correct as well as doing mark downs on items. Working in DTLR is very fun and exciting, giving great customer service to those who need it is always a good feeling. There is also opportunities to work with the community dong volunteer work which builds your character with dealing with other people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Assisting customers (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 2, 2017
it was always something new . first actual job , loved everything about it . met celebs and working there gave so many community out reach services . LOVED IT didn't wanna leave
Pros
Alle
Cons
Na
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Associate at DTLR
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Stone Mountain, GANovember 1, 2017
The environment was cool and laid back. The hours were not enough, the location could be very slow at times where all associates weren't needed. Overall good place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer based enviorment
Part time, Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Sanford, FL 32771November 1, 2017
opening store duties
place oders
shrinkage and inventory check
sales
maintaining stores inward and outward appearance putting customers first.
making the schedule for two weeks in advance
Pros
friendly customers, set schedule
Cons
not enough hours, no room for growth
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family oriented
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 23, 2017
Great company to work for. Treats everyone the same just like family. Everyone is on first name basis. They believe in promoting from within. It's one of the least stressful jobs I ever had . You get to meet a lot of famous and influential people during my time here.
Pros
Great bonus program
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very relaxed
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Winston-Salem, NCOctober 8, 2017
working a DTLR Was a great job experience & was very laid back. We also were able to see latest fashion before it came out & employee discounts were great.
Pros
Very laid back environment
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about DTLR, INC?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun at times, very slow,
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Newport News, VAOctober 4, 2017
Little to no hours, drama between co workers, manager doesn't know what to do. Customers were rude at times, can get busy quickly, not enough staff, lots of shipment, very unorganized
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
district management was the worst
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCSeptember 14, 2017
stressful work environment working 50 hours plus when only required to work 46. There is no time for family or any fun outside the store. and DTLR wants you to compromise your health for the business
Pros
nothing
Cons
everything besides clocking in
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was Fun and Productive
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Lithonia, GA 30038September 14, 2017
A typical day at work on a slow day would be doing shipment but on a fast day it would be full of customers so a lot of running back and fourth but the hardest part about it was when I first started and didn't know where any shoes were. Management was cool, I loved my managers, they were very nice. I leaned how to be patient with people and work on my attitude.
Pros
The music while working
Cons
rude customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Fun, High Energy Work Place
Store Manager/Manager Trainee (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLSeptember 8, 2017
Depending on your district this is a great place to work out. Just like any other it comes with its ups and down, but if do what your suppose to do you will see results.
Pros
Travel, Salary, and benefits
Cons
Work long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Immature Company
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  MarylandSeptember 5, 2017
The worst company I have ever worked for. Management is a Joke. They play favoritism when it comes to hours. They half train you but yet write you up for the things you don't know how to do. It's like High School all over again. A new release has to be two weeks old before you can even get the discount. Which if it's a popular shoe it probably won't be there. So you still paying full price for shoes.
Pros
Music at work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dtlr
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Stone Mountain, GASeptember 4, 2017
Friendly company
Growing quickly
Plenty of growth opportunities
Relaxed environment
Passionate people
Great regional manager
Lots of company events
Lots of company pride
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job
DTLR (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAAugust 21, 2017
It was a good job i would have never left it childsupport did take all my money and they gave more hours it was alot of us we made it work nd it was fun
Pros
Be to work everyday
Cons
Dont be late
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work atmosphere
Sales Associate/Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLAugust 20, 2017
the best co-workers and staff I have had the pleasure of working with. Teammate and family oriented staff, when I was employed there. Management was helpful and treated everyone fairly.
Pros
Coworkers
Cons
No raises
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Job, Don't want to leave anytime soon!
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 17, 2017
I worked here for the summer and I really love the job. Literally everything was great! The team has great energy (even security). The discounts are really nice. If you have a real interest in fashion and shoes DTLR is definitely the place for you. This was my first RETAIL job and I have no complaints like most people say they have. Only thing is sometimes one team member doesn't do work but you can't have it all. I still love this job to death.
Pros
Everything
Cons
Sometimes people are lazy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized negative work enviorment
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Augusta, GAAugust 7, 2017
The customers are the best part about the job, they have a variety of people that shop there. DTLR does not care about their employees. Management is horrible and it was a very discouraging job.
Pros
none
Cons
no dibs on shoe releases
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at DTLR, INC. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 194 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.6
Culture
4.0