Find companies:
Dtlr
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
40 reviews

Dtlr Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Help meet sale exspectations selling shoes and cloths.
Customer Service Salesman (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDApril 13, 2014
Pros: discount on most things in the store
Cons: was not able to get as many work hours as i would like.
Help customers with anything possible. The company mainly sells shoes; therefore I was able to cater to any customers needs by getting them the perfect shoes and the perfect sizes for all the right prices.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCApril 9, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
i loved it so much nothing was wrong just needed something better
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and entertaining enviornment
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Chicago, ILMarch 25, 2014
Pros: fun environment
Cons: unorganized management
A typical day at work consisted of a fast, and fun environment. This employer was located in a urban area. During the day I would engage with customers, educate customers on merchandise in the store of coming in the store , took inventory, stocked, performed custodial duties and clerical work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great stepping stone
Store Manager (Current Employee), Hampton, VAMarch 5, 2014
Working at DTLR you have your good with your bad. Bonuses are the best part about the job set aside from the customers. The bad thing is there no time for your family if you have one.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Newport News, VAFebruary 18, 2014
Build customer confidence by making their shopping experience interactive and reassuring, Maintain the visual appearance of the store, Assist store manager in maximizing sales and profits, Store opening and closings, and Markdowns.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Hyattsville, MDFebruary 5, 2014
Pros: discount, employee outings, celebrity apperances
Cons: no breaks even though you worked a 12 hr shift
DTLR was a fun place to work and i was comfortable there. I learned how to manage a larger staff and more about loss prevention. The hardest part was the hours being that I was required to work 46 hours but sometimes worked 50 hours with the same pay. I really enjoyed the atmosphere and my co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DTLR Job Review
Sale Associate (Current Employee), Calumet City, ILJanuary 28, 2014
Pros: 40 percent discount
Not guaranteed hours, this is the last retailer anyone wants to work for! Each store only allows 1 full time worker. No one works as a team because Everybody has to fight for hours
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very talkative and fast paced work environment
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Chicago, ILJanuary 26, 2014
Pros: co-worker outings, great community service outings, manger buy everybody lunch days
Cons: not enough hours, we can get no more than 30 hours a week no insurance
constantly greeting customers , talking to customers to see what fashion they like, which makes me a big help to them being satisfied. I've learned and still learning that all people a different no two people are the say with that being said, i deal with all type of attitude,emotions etc. my co-worker are great we laugh,joke,talk among one another about – more... how the day is going,plan strategies for clean up for the night.yet we still get the job done no matter what. hardest part is having the most rudest,disrespectful customer in a day,sometimes more than one.being that this is located in a bad neighborhood people feel that they can talk or do any thing to you that they want.still we keep our composure and handle it. best part is not being stuck behind a desk, to get to walk freely . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work. Very comfortable.
Sales (Former Employee), Woodbridge, NJJanuary 14, 2014
The management team was great and the coworkers weren't bad either. Everyone made me feel comfortable and gave me help with whatever I needed. Not too many difficult customers, but a few.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PRODUCTIVE AND FUN WORK PLACE
sales (Former Employee), Gwinnett Place MALLDecember 4, 2013
I WAS A SALES ASSOCIATE
WE PRATICED CUSTOMER SERVICE ALL DAY EVERYDAY
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and family-like work place
Sales associate (Current Employee), Greensboro, NCDecember 3, 2013
Pros: work enviornment, learning experience, advancement
Cons: pay
Maintain great customer service, the customer is most important, always be aware of what is going on on the sales floor.
Management was amazing, they treated everyone fair and with respect, and always rewarded us with incentives
My co-workers were like family, we never argue, we work well together, and the staff as a whole is very diverse
The hardest – more... part about the job was staying on your feet all day
The most enjoyable part of the job is helping customers fulfull the shopping experience and making it memorable. Making them want to come back, and building a relationship with that person, and making them feel good about they're purchases. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun enviroment
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Decatur, GADecember 1, 2013
Pros: helping people
Cons: pay
Typical day at work very fast paced & energetic. I learned all of my customer service & people skills at this job. Management was overall decent. There were no hard parts in this job. The most enjoyable part of this job was meeting so many people. My co-workers was a pleasure to work with and very helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Associate
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Richmond, VANovember 29, 2013
Assist customers with shoes and appeal
Clean the store on a daily upon open and close
Put up daily shipment of shoes and appeal
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work for.
Business Development Manager (Former Employee), Hanover, MDOctober 23, 2013
Pros: discounts on sneakers
Cons: so many events going on at once
A Great place to work
I learned a great deal about Urban consumers and their effective buying habits
The management staff is excellent.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DTLR Typical Work Day
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Merrillville, INOctober 4, 2013
Working at DTLR on a typical day is working an 8 hour shift helping customers, completing stock, or both. A really chilled, laid back environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unpredictable
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), N/ASeptember 26, 2013
Pros: interesting people you network with(staff, customers, and celebrities)
Cons: no breaks, benefits packages, poilicies
This job is unpredictable. The hours are unpredictable, the shipment is unpredictable, the customers, and even the staff. You get sent to different locations with no choice. You are asked to work at different stores when you dont want to. You have to deal with the lame policy. You dont get a break if you are management. You work long hours. Its a crazy – more... company. You dont even get what you want as far as shoes because of the crazy policies. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a typical work day
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDSeptember 22, 2013
Pros: the company worked a lot with the community, did a lot of events, work enviroment
Cons: no breaks, job security
Monday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday we would receive shipment of merchandise, in that shipment it would be store to store transfers that management would have to process. Also on Mondays we would have to write a report called a "hot and cold" sheet, which would be to let the buying department knows what's selling so we could get more of it in the store – more... and what's not selling so they could get that product out and to another store. Tuesdays we had to do weekly inventory sheets. Wednesdays we had to mark down the merchandise. Sun-Sat management had to do the morning reports which included Bank deposit, Goal sheet, Register and petty cash amount, and store discount dollars. Friday and Sat were peak hours so we'd focus on maximizing sales. and Sunday we would do general cleaning of the store. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
LOVE HELPING PEOPLE
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Chicago, ILSeptember 6, 2013
Pros: discount on clothes & shoes
I LOVE DTLR BECAUSE WE GOT TO HELP PEOPLE FIND CLOTHES SHOES OR WHATEVER THEY WHERE LOOKING FOR. I LOVED MY MANAGERS THEY KNOW HOW TO LOOK OUT FOR THE LITTLE GUY.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at DTLR was a learning experience and a fun place to work.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Mitchellville, Md.August 28, 2013
Pros: free lunches at monthly meeting
Cons: short breaks and long hours
My typical day was mentoring my employees and the day to day operation of the store. I open the store, made deposits, delegate duties to the associates and made sure we provided excellent customer service the customers. I found myself in the position of mentoring the young adult associates who worked in the store on a constant basis instilling the importance – more... of good customer service. I was responsible for cashing out the cash drawers at the end of my shift and making deposits. I had to prepare daily reports as well. The most enjoyable part of the job was making the customer happy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced Environment
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Washington, DCAugust 20, 2013
Pros: discounts, community outreach program
A typical day at work would consist of me managing the overall operation of the store as well as do any paperwork associated with the job such as sales numbers, goal determination, and cash logs. My co-workers are excellent and we make up a great team and without them I do not believe I would be a successful manager because they have helped develop – more... me into the person I am. The hardest part of the job I would say is having that customer leave out of the store because you don't have the product that he or she may need and to see the look of disappointment on their face. The most enjoyable part of the job would consist of meeting great new people everyday and building relationships with clientele. – less