Duane Reade Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier and stock
Cashier/Stock Associate (Former Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 17, 2018
I loved this job working there build my strenghths. I worked hard and my goals through the day was to make sure that each costumer left with a smile on there face.
Pros
Learn the register, item check, experation dates
Cons
I was always a fast paced worker needed to slow down.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work as part time student
Cashier/stock (Former Employee) –  Queens, NYFebruary 16, 2018
I worked there as a cashier. I recieved cash and performed daily transactions. I also wokred at the photo department. I made sure all the photos and canvases were completed on time. My goal was to make sure customer was satisfied with thier needs
Pros
Good place to work for students, Flexible schedule.
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive
Shift Leader/ Management (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYFebruary 16, 2018
Love working for this company. I love working with people and dealing with the public. I love working with the customers and helping them find what there looking for.
Pros
Learning something new and helping people.
Cons
Barely took breaks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Shift Leader (Former Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 7, 2018
Store management was decent And understanding
Co-workers were fine and store culture was fine
Good days off and decent work schedule
And the opportunity to move up
Pros
discount
Cons
health care
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dope
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYFebruary 7, 2018
Duane Reade has it's ups and down. I do love working there. Sometimes it's stressful though when it comes to truck days. I personally prefer the overnight shift compared to the day shift.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Hard to get any less than 8 hours a day, lunch break is only 30 mins. which kinda sucks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company, friendly people.
Photo Technician/Field Service Technician (Former Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 5, 2018
Nice place to work. Started out as a Photo tech and was promoted to service technician in less than 6 months. Overall work performance were recognized and rewarded accordingly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low salary
Shift Supervisor (Current Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 3, 2018
You are required to work twice as harder than the store manager and make nearly a fourth of the salary. Barely make more than a regular cashier. Willing to work with you for your schedule in terms of school/college.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is an ok place to work
CUSTOMER SERVICE (Current Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 1, 2018
The people are ok. It is unionized. Pending on the store they have favoritism. They only hire part time and you start with minimum wage. People tend to stay with the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun stocking along with vending
Stocker (Former Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 1, 2018
day went by with many task at hand. being able to kill one obstacle and move to the next in good timing was cool.i would say the only problem was the wage
Pros
the beverages free at time
Cons
small staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You won't get promoted
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  401 Park ave southJanuary 30, 2018
This company will tell you they're opportunities for advancement but they will over look you and promote someone who don't deserve it. This company is a joke
Pros
Benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Summary
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJanuary 27, 2018
When I first started at Duane Read, it was a slow day that day. There wasn't a lot of customers that day and I felt like the "new kid on the block". After a week working there I felt like I was working there a long time because of staffs welcomed me with open arms. Great experience !!!!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pleace to work at
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 26, 2018
It a great place to work at the people are nice and friendly and the bosses are great too happy pleace customers are wonderful and great to talk too wish I could go back
Pros
Happy
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cashier
Cashier (full time) (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJanuary 26, 2018
i enjoyed working with the general public. i learned how to operate and cash register and i learned how to stock merchandise. i helped customers with their shopping
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Workplace.
PHARMACEUTICAL CASHIER (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 25, 2018
Duane Read was a great experience! Awesome staff.
Able to learn more on a daily basis. Management was fair. Clean environment, friendly, good location.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable and productive work environment
Stocker/Cashier (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 24, 2018
A typical day would consist of rotating between shared work responsibilities. Starting on cashier, then into stock or cleaning depending on what needed to be done. This allowed me to acquire experience in several areas, learning the ins and outs.
Pros
Great manager, discounts, flexible hours
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stock person
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 23, 2018
I would go to work. I would start stocking the isle as assigned. Clean up any mess left behind. Then I would assist customers when needed. Finally I would end my day at the register.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not good at all
Cashier/Porter/Stock (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 23, 2018
didn't learn much at all they bounced you around without teaching you the skills and rules of the department I wanted to learn more people were always trying to get one another in trouble no team work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always On Your Feet
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, NYJanuary 23, 2018
Duane reade Is A Great Working Place If I Can Go back To The Company i Would . Its Felxiable The Pay Is Amamzing , If You have A great Spirit And Love Beimg Social with Customers Then This Is The Job for You. Only Thing is Sometimes The Manager Positions Get A Little Over There head with That Title Haha.
Pros
The Customers
Cons
Break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Shift Leader (Former Employee) –  1191 2nd ave ny nyJanuary 22, 2018
come in walk the sales floor and see what need filled and done before the morning good company to work for and grow in the culture is one of kind and if u want to move up it can be done
Pros
good company to work for
Cons
to many policy that don't factor in real life situation
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Retailer
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 21, 2018
I was a manager here for 3 yrs my DM was AWESOME, Loved the people. Great place to work - advancement opportunities
Working in the city is hard on commuting from other areas
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Duane Reade. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 1,074 reviews
5265
4292
3314
2112
191

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.0Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.3Culture