Duane Reade Employee Reviews

Found 932 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
So so
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 23, 2017
I believe if you are a high school student looking for a part time job then Duane Reade is a great place for you. It's more like McDonald's except you dealing with products instead of food.
Pros
Flex
Cons
short break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive
Cashier (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJune 21, 2017
You have rush hours from time to time or all the time depending where your store is at. You are either stuck on the register or stocking the products in the store. The hardest part of the job is when a customer gives you a hard time when they are not trying to understand the situation that you are explaining to him/her. You may come across customers who have a great sense of humor and it will make your day better.
Pros
discounts on the store products and other products
Cons
Stuck with the same shifts for a while, hours cut at times.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a fun place to work; bascially that's it; you work all day, everyday
Stock Associate (Former Employee) –  Astoria, NYJune 21, 2017
be prepared to stay on your feet most of the day. "the customer is always right" is the motto. you're always working doing something. your break time is not long enough and it can be exhausting.
Pros
employee discount
Cons
short breaks, exhausting, low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work environment
Beauty Advisor (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 21, 2017
duane reade was a good work environment, i worked in the skin wellness center and help sell skin care products to customers that would benefit their skin.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Cashier and Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 19, 2017
It was a great company to work for. They taught me how to multitask under pressure. I was able to help customers and provide great customer service over the phone.
Pros
Good hours, great employees
Cons
Short breaks, under staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chain Retail Employer
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJune 18, 2017
Staff gets along very well with each other. I've learned how to deal with customers in various situations. I've learned how to multi-task more efficiently.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No work life balance
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 15, 2017
Duane Reade preaches integrity, compassion and honesty. The upper management expects this to be delivered to customers but they don't have any in return for their employees. They make you work at least 10 hrs a day and 6 days a week during holiday hours.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long boring days
Beauty Associate (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 15, 2017
Long hours during the day.The Manager adds more work than your job description.I was supposed to help customers find the right beauty products or set up the display table to give out free samples. But was told to greet customers at the front door so I became a security guard as well as a shelf stocker. My job description was more than what I was hired for.
Pros
Free products
Cons
Long Hours, alot of standing and boring during the day
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Pharmacy Technician (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJune 14, 2017
From the moment you clock into work and when you clock out its busy. There's never a dual day. The workers are great people and the customer's are very nice as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work just not for long
pharmacy technician (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJune 13, 2017
I enjoy working here as a pharmacy technician but the atmosphere sometimes is not very pleasant. The managers can have a better attitude with customers and employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy workplace
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 13, 2017
manager always watches your every move. its uncomfortable and expect so much from you with little pay. the hardest part is standing for 9 hrs or more and they dont have sympathy for you.
Pros
meet good people
Cons
managers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Like all other retail chain drug store
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 11, 2017
Very low remuneration and poor quality management
No respect for employees and their needs
Very high employee turnover rate
Here workers are mainly work for short transition period not for a good career
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i have enjoyed working there
General Clerk (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJune 10, 2017
* a typical day was slow
*How to work under high standards
*management was ok
*The hardest part was disrespecting customer's
* I enjoyed working
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If your're looking for a temporary job, look no further
Stock Associate (Former Employee) –  609 Columbus Ave, New York, NY 10024June 9, 2017
A typical day at work can range from easy to alright to frustrating. Depends on the management that day. Easy if all tasks are completed early. Alright if regular-paced, and frustrating if your manager is bad at managing time. I did the overnight shift (which gets the short of the stick out of the 3 shifts) and we would rush to finish tasks by 7 AM. If we didn't finish it, we left it. The store manager would then have a problem and address it with whoever's fault it was. Out of a 5 day work week, 1 day would be easy, 2 days alright, and 2 frustrating. Around holidays more like 1 day alright and 3-4 frustrating days. There's nothing hard about the job, I guess keeping count of inventory and organizing the stock room is. Oh, and be friends with your co workers and management, it helps you keep your job and seniority.
Pros
Little to no customers, conversations
Cons
A sporadic scheduling, bad co workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Rego Park, NYJune 8, 2017
A typical day at work includes clocking in and logging the cash register. throughout the day, general customer service and labor was done. The workplace was fun and energetic, but intellectual as well. the hardest part of the job, was unloading the truck that held incoming items. the most enjoyable part of the job as ensuring the satisfactory of the customer.
Pros
Fun place
Cons
Compensation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Duane Reade Stock Retail (Current Employee) –  Manhattan, NYJune 7, 2017
Not too effective. Need more work hours and more income. A lot of work to do and still not enough money. Customers are dusresoectful. A lot of shoplifting. These stores need a lot of security guards.
Pros
Stay busy and not nothing to do
Cons
Little pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
teamwork was an essential part of this job
Stockperson (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 6, 2017
I helped stock the store and make sure that items are placed in the correct location. I made sure the store remained in a presentable and neat manner.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical day at work
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Jamaica, NYJune 5, 2017
Prioritizes and accomplishes multiple leadership tasks within established timeframes by effectively planning and managing workload, delegating work and supervising, monitoring and directing department level leaders and other partners
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive work place
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYJune 5, 2017
In retailed pharmacy its a balance of patient confidentiality and customer service skills to the 10th power. It build up my multi task skill as well as paying attention to details
Pros
Great Co-workers
Cons
No vacation pays
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Stock Associate (Former Employee) –  Masbeth, NYJune 4, 2017
My time with Duane Reade was memorable. I learned a lot about the company and my co-workers. I would love to have a job similar to it and same job title (Stock Assoicate).
Pros
Great Beneifits
Cons
location was closed down.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Duane Reade. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 935 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.2
Culture
3.3