Find companies:
Duane Reade
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
339 reviews

Duane Reade Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy
Work as a cashier (Current Employee), new york, NYApril 6, 2014
Pros: union
Cons: alot of work but less pay
There is always things to do so i am always moving around. when its slow in the store i am either ordering for the store, checking the on hands of each product or redesigning a section. there is always something new to learn because i am always asking questions. I am very responsible and reliable so my manager gives me more work then others which is – more... because i was trained more than others. Everyone at work is very friendly and respectful towards each other. Some makes me feel like family. the hardest part is knowing to much. i say this because when you know too much the managers expect you to do everything. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Duane Reade is company under utilizes their staffs ability to perform their jobs.
Store Manager (Former Employee), New York, NYApril 4, 2014
Pros: gain great experience and customer service.
Cons: company that never fully utilize your abilities and values of bottom line over the quality of work
*Typical morning is greeting my customer. Correcting on -hands,
cycle. . *Going over associates time sheets . *Checking vendors invoices. *5 minutes huddles with associates,going over day before sales
numbers. *Dealing with changes from the company heads who constantly
changing display and layouts on a weekly basis. Lack of
communication between higher – more... ups who were constantly at odds
with one another.
* Interacting with customer – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard workin
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee), New York, NYMarch 31, 2014
Pros: non
Cons: non
• Assisted customers in locating merchandise, responded to inquiries and provided information about sales
• Arranged stock on shelves and assigned promotional areas, maintained and restocked inventory, as needed
• Maintained merchandise in orderly fashion, marked and priced merchandise for store displays
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stock/Cashier
Cashier and Stock (Former Employee), New York, NYMarch 31, 2014
• Money and card transactions in exchange for store items
• Assisted in transporting products from truck to shelves and vice versa to ensure proper location of products to eliminate clutter with in working environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive environment.
Cashier (Current Employee), New York, NYMarch 28, 2014
Pros: experience
Cons: unprofessional managers, pay rate
Its a good job for fresh out of high school students. I have learned a lot here but do not recommend this job to career minded adults.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a part time job, they are fun people to work with
Service Clerk/Cashier (Current Employee), New York, NYMarch 24, 2014
Pros: employee's discount 10% and balance rewards card for everyone
Cons: short breaks and thirty minutes lunch time
When I get to work I greet the manager and co-workers, make sure the store looks good, then ask for my work assignment for the day.
The hardest part of the job is when i have to bring up or carry down stock to the storeroom.
The most enjoyable part of the day is when i help the customers get what they need and they leave the store happy and satisfied – more... with their shopping experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and great learning experiance
Pharmacy Assistant (Former Employee), New York, NYMarch 17, 2014
a typical day was very smooth going on some day. iv learned how to be patient with customers, great multitasking as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Duane reade
Stock Person (Former Employee), New York, NYMarch 14, 2014
Poor working manager skill with staff and worker unable to see the manager for week to come when the team finial see him it to lose u job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning expierience
Pharmacy Technician Extern (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYMarch 13, 2014

Assisted head pharmacist

Assisted customers with pick-ups and drop-offs

Counted medication

Verified prescriptions and insurance

Provided outstanding customer service at all times
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place.
Cashier/ Pharmacy Technician (Current Employee), New York, NYMarch 12, 2014
Cashier
Stock shelves The Co- Workers are very friendly, management is very strict on policies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and exciting
Stock Person/Cashier (Former Employee), Manhattan, NYMarch 10, 2014
a typical day for me at work is just re-stocking shelves working at the cashier and un-loading the truck. i learned that a lot of people are lazy when it comes to this type of work and the harder i work i can get a promotion. My co-workers i really didnt have time to get to know them. The Hardest part of my job is having to un-pack the truck by myself. – more... the most enjoyable part of my job is the look on the customers face after i help them with what they need. Also when my bos tells me the good work that i am doing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Team Member (Former Employee), New York, NYMarch 10, 2014
Pros: good breaks
Cons: no cons
A typical day at Duane Reade is good, Ive learned that hard work pays off. Management was good and co-workers was friendly. No hard part to the job. Having great customer service is the best part of the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very cool and fun place to work
Cashier (Former Employee), Manhattan, NYMarch 8, 2014
the job was very easy i got along with everybody real well my co workers where very patient with me during training over all the job was one of my best experiences with working retail
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GReat place to work temporarily if your in a store and your manager actually works.
Front End cashier (Current Employee), Brooklyn nyMarch 3, 2014
Pros: overnight less customers
Cons: overnight
Being a cashier.my coworks are the creates and managments is so skillful
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and relaxed work enviroment
Stock and Front End Clerk (Former Employee), New York, NYFebruary 20, 2014
Pros: employee discount, unionized, reputable company
Cons: shoddy pay, not much room for development, deteroriating store (if not renovated post buyout)
Came in everyday, walked up to a manager, and asked for any assigned tasks. If there were any, I completed them, if there were none, I would either tend the front end checkout or stock the store. The co workers were awesome. It was always enjoyable working with them, and they actually enjoyed my company too! The management was great too, I just figured – more... placement would be a little more strict based on things like a person's demeanor and dress code. Never offered overtime, and turned away if asked, but great benefits. Hardest part of my job was incidentally where I enjoyed it the most. If I'm ever at the front, they directed non-English speaking customers to me, apparently I got a higher score in "Basic Human Communication 101" than my coworkers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun workplace
Cashier (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: great evironment, pay was good
Cons: short breaks
Great work environment. Pay was great, most customers were friendly. I did not mind helping out. Few crazy customers here and there but very manageable
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Numbers Driven Daily goals Driven
Assistant-Manager (Current Employee), new yorkFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: fast pace, team oriented working environment
Cons: long hours, poor worklife balance.
Making sure you continue to increase business daily with giving great customer service. And continuing to increase sales and make profit for the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workers but bad management.
Service Manager / Shift Lead (Former Employee), New York, NYFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: interacting with customers and other people.
Cons: management tends to be very hostile and rude.
I've worked at three different stores throughout my career at Duane Reade, while the entry level workers IE; cashiers, stock clerks, etc. were polite, friendly and easy to get along with, the Assistant Store Managers and Store Managers with the exception of my first store, were rude, abrasive and hostile.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent job
Cosmetic Sales Associate (Current Employee), New York, NYFebruary 8, 2014
A typical day at work would be me ordering makeup every week, making sure cosmetic aisle is fully stocked, stay updated on the latest beauty lines (per season). I've learned so much about skin care in this line of work, managers are very understanding and nice to their employers, I have the best co-workers, and the most enjoyable part of my job is helping – more... someone who's just learning about makeup and skincare, I'm happy to be apart of that. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
*****
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), various locations, in brooklyn, n.y.February 5, 2014
as manager, performed all duties (opening /closing store), registers, review all associates who were in attendance, ordered merchandised, tend to all customers.

About Duane Reade

Duane Reade -- the Big Apple of drugstores -- has been swallowed by a big fish: Walgreen. Named after the two streets where its – Read more