Find companies:
Duane Reade
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
322 reviews

Duane Reade Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workers but bad management.
Service Manager / Shift Lead (Former Employee), New York, NYFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: interacting with customers and other people.
Cons: management tends to be very hostile and rude.
I've worked at three different stores throughout my career at Duane Reade, while the entry level workers IE; cashiers, stock clerks, etc. were polite, friendly and easy to get along with, the Assistant Store Managers and Store Managers with the exception of my first store, were rude, abrasive and hostile.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent job
Cosmetic Sales Associate (Current Employee), New York, NYFebruary 8, 2014
A typical day at work would be me ordering makeup every week, making sure cosmetic aisle is fully stocked, stay updated on the latest beauty lines (per season). I've learned so much about skin care in this line of work, managers are very understanding and nice to their employers, I have the best co-workers, and the most enjoyable part of my job is helping – more... someone who's just learning about makeup and skincare, I'm happy to be apart of that. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
*****
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), various locations, in brooklyn, n.y.February 5, 2014
as manager, performed all duties (opening /closing store), registers, review all associates who were in attendance, ordered merchandised, tend to all customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy job, very poor management and co-worker drama.
Service Clerk/Stock Control (Current Employee), New York, NYFebruary 4, 2014
Pros: customers are cool and nice. good work and life-balance. good for students.
Cons: short breaks, poor management, general sense of poor work ethic, huge turnover 40+ employees in one store, but 4 employees each shift
The job is pretty easy and sometimes I enjoy working there, but it can be pretty slow-paced. The customers are awesome, I love meeting the tourist and the holiday season, there is a lot of holiday spirit in the area. The coworkers are ok to work with, but they can be pretty immature and not willing to do all aspects of the job, making it difficult to – more... work during peck hours. To put it simple, Duane Reade seems to hire just about anyone and there is a huge turn over rate. I've come across some amazing co-worker in the past though, good thing that they moved on. The management is terrible as well, needs tons of improvement. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manager gave me a hard time
General Clerk (Former Employee), New York, NYFebruary 2, 2014
Pros: co workers
Cons: manager and pay
Did not like the job at all. The schedule was inconsistent. I was the cashier. I learned how to handle cash. The co workers were nice people. The manager was annoying. The hardest part of the job was standing all day all working as at the cash register. The most enjoyable part of the job was the co workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Day in the Life
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), New York, NYJanuary 30, 2014
Pros: paycheck with benefits
Cons: low pay, no job advancement
I must make sure the coolers are stocked with beverages and the water section is restocked. The most important lesson I learned in retail is know your area and what sells. There is very little interaction between senior management and workers. My co-workers are nice. The hardest part is doing work below myself. The most enjoyable part is the interaction – more... with the public and learning about the products. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYJanuary 30, 2014
Pros: great job for starters
Cons: not enough hours and less pay
management was great, co-workers were awesome the hardest part was rush hour but it wasn't an hassle
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
depends
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee), New York, NYJanuary 29, 2014
Pros: cool coworkers
Cons: schedule isnt that flexible some times
to each its own. Everyone is different ............................................................
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
regular job with routine duties.
General Clerk (Current Employee), Bronx, NYJanuary 24, 2014
The day to day activities do not change. the most important part is to provide excellent customer service to a diverse group of customers. I try my best to keep my store looking nice.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work where you get to meet and greet people from different ethnic backgrounds.
Service Clerk (Former Employee), New York, NYJanuary 24, 2014
A typical day at Duane Reade consists of stocking shelves, helping customers find products and also promoting a vast array of promotional items. management was very knowledgeable about the products they sold and were very familiar and personable with the patrons. as for my co-workers we were like a family and were a direct extension of the management – more... team when it came to the patrons we served. the hardest part of the job was on delivery days where we would have to unpack the truck and still serve the patrons without sacrificing productivity or great customer service. the most enjoyable part of the job was the connection with the patrons. when you serviced them and they left the store feeling like someone really cared about what they wanted. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work place
Cashier/Stocker (Former Employee), New York, NYJanuary 23, 2014
good management and co-workers
the hardest part of the job is my day off
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent compensation , Gained a lot of experience .
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee), New York, NYJanuary 23, 2014
-Unload daily merchandise deliveries
- Maintained a strong and consistent level of customer service.
- Ensured registers contained enough currency for transactions.
- Closed out employee registers at end of shifts.
- Was first point of contact on customer service issues.
- Recognized as top performer on several occasions.
- Trained newly hired team – more... members.
- Assisted in merchandising of sales floor.
-Organizing planograms.
-Motivate and lead others to perform a variety of tasks .
-Ensure store is well stocked and product is rotated accordingly to state guidelines.
-Prioritize, plan and coordinate work activities for the entire staff using effective time management skills.
-Count office safe/Prepare money envelopes for Garda. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
expect something new everyday
asm t (Current Employee), new yorkJanuary 23, 2014
Cons: short break
just do your best,sooner or later you'll be recognized. always follow the instructions from top management and you'll be on their good books.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Walgreens has a vision for beauty and life.
Look Boutique Manager (Current Employee), Flushing, NYJanuary 22, 2014
My employment with Duane Reade a subsidary of Walgreens has been one of the most informative places to work in my work history. The company has a big vision for beauty and being great at catering to the customer's needs and the employee needs. I have never worked with any other company that did not have as much of a passion for there workers like Walgreens – more... does. Walgreens has belief in there vision for the future and a passion for growth. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its Decent for Starting
Stock/ Cashier (Former Employee), BrooklynJanuary 22, 2014
Its Decent for Starting.
Horrible place.
Management Team Sucks.
Pay Sucks.
Customers treat you less then a person.
Work here for a few months then move on.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Little change in day-to-day activities, rather quiet environment
Cashier/Stock (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYJanuary 22, 2014
Pros: night differential
Cons: the work was too easy and i was very often bored.
I worked the overnight shift, which was nice because I got paid night differential, but was extremely quiet and got boring fast because the work presented no challenge. I was required to stock the shelves with new merchandise, but I was also the only cashier so I had to listen for any customers who might need to check out during the night. This made – more... my job more tedious because I was the only employee who wasn't allowed to listen to music while I worked, including management. The hardest part of the job was staying awake enough to work quickly, made more difficult by the monotony of my work and quiet atmosphere of the store, while the most enjoyable part of the job was trying to best my work from other shifts--each night I would try to finish more than I had done the night before. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An Okay Job For Building Experience, But That's All
Official title as a SIMS (Current Employee), New York, NYJanuary 14, 2014
Cons: short breaks, no overtime, inflexibility, forced union
The job is really not too difficult when you are first starting out, assuming that you are starting out as a cashier/stock guy. There really isn't much too it, except for dealing with customers and task relating to the sales floor, such as stocking and setting up sales displays. Eventually, if you develop more skills and work hard you will move up to – more... a SIMS Coordinator position, which can potentially lead to a management position (while using the words 'potentially' loosely). Task can become repetitive, unfufilling and frankly, unrewarding, as you eventually develop the skills to do the same type of work Shift Leaders do, except without the increase in pay and benefits.

Some managers can be pretty decent people, while others are full of themselves and seem to believe what they do is the next greatest thing to bio-engineering. Its retail, not rocket science. The job is much better if you are working with people who enjoy being around. The only enjoyable part of the job is dealing with regular customers, which depends on the type of store you will be located at. This also varies from person to person. Some people will be good at deal with customers, while others will tend to struggle.

This is a union job, and being that this isn't a right-to-work state, you are forced to job the local union if you want the position. You are not official in the union until after your first three months, but for whatever reason the Union feels that it should subtract union dues from you before that time. You won't be able to get your Union benefits until after the first six months, of which you will be eligible for paid vacation. After your first vacation, you have to wait until you've made your second year in the company to have two weeks paid vacation. It all depends on the union contract.

Being part of the union also gives you paid leave for sick pay, but Duane Reade policy forces you to bring a doctors note for you to acquire your sick pay. Because the company is going to reimburse you to see the Doctor out of your own pocket. This is not supposed to be an expense, but a personal benefit for you. The only way to avoid all of this is to get health insurance through the company, but you need to work full-time in order to be eligible for all of this.

Overall, it is a good place to work if you want to build some work experience for your next possible job. It can also be a good place to work if you have no other marketable skills other than retail. Other than this, you really should expect too much from working here. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy Busy Work
Sims Coordinator, Inventory (Current Employee), New York, NYJanuary 11, 2014
I work the hectic overnight shift and I am always stocking the shelves and working on the cosmetic aisle. My co workers are awesome and I love my boss.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An enjoyable postion; working in Duane Reade time always seemed to fly by
Cashier and Customer Service (Former Employee), New York, NYJanuary 10, 2014
I actually took pride in working in Duane Reade, the customers and my co workers were extremely cooperative and even managers appeared to be pleasant to work with. Although it was a fast past environment working there was always a breeze and time always seemed to fly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was productive and fun. It kept me busy.
Cashier/Stocker (Former Employee), New York, NYJanuary 9, 2014
Pros: friendly customers, i always had something to do, and the hours were good.
Cons: short breaks
My typical day at work was always something to look forward to because i loved my customers. I learned to become a better person by working there because i was always around a positive crowd. My managers were wonderful. They always praised me for my hard work and dedication. You need that type of praise because it would make you want to do your job – more... better. My co-workers were the best because we always helped each other out. They made me look forward to going to work. The hardest part of my job was when the business became slow because it felt like i had nothing to do and i like to stay busy. The most enjoyable part of the job was when the holidays came around because I liked to see the smiles on the customers faces especially the children. – less

About Duane Reade

Duane Reade -- the Big Apple of drugstores -- has been swallowed by a big fish: Walgreen. Named after the two streets where its – Read more