Find companies:
Duane Reade
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
351 reviews

Duane Reade Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning expierience
Pharmacy Technician Extern (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYMarch 13, 2014

Assisted head pharmacist

Assisted customers with pick-ups and drop-offs

Counted medication

Verified prescriptions and insurance

Provided outstanding customer service at all times
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place.
Cashier/ Pharmacy Technician (Current Employee), New York, NYMarch 12, 2014
Cashier
Stock shelves The Co- Workers are very friendly, management is very strict on policies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and exciting
Stock Person/Cashier (Former Employee), Manhattan, NYMarch 10, 2014
a typical day for me at work is just re-stocking shelves working at the cashier and un-loading the truck. i learned that a lot of people are lazy when it comes to this type of work and the harder i work i can get a promotion. My co-workers i really didnt have time to get to know them. The Hardest part of my job is having to un-pack the truck by myself. – more... the most enjoyable part of my job is the look on the customers face after i help them with what they need. Also when my bos tells me the good work that i am doing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Team Member (Former Employee), New York, NYMarch 10, 2014
Pros: good breaks
Cons: no cons
A typical day at Duane Reade is good, Ive learned that hard work pays off. Management was good and co-workers was friendly. No hard part to the job. Having great customer service is the best part of the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very cool and fun place to work
Cashier (Former Employee), Manhattan, NYMarch 8, 2014
the job was very easy i got along with everybody real well my co workers where very patient with me during training over all the job was one of my best experiences with working retail
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GReat place to work temporarily if your in a store and your manager actually works.
Front End cashier (Current Employee), Brooklyn nyMarch 3, 2014
Pros: overnight less customers
Cons: overnight
Being a cashier.my coworks are the creates and managments is so skillful
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and relaxed work enviroment
Stock and Front End Clerk (Former Employee), New York, NYFebruary 20, 2014
Pros: employee discount, unionized, reputable company
Cons: shoddy pay, not much room for development, deteroriating store (if not renovated post buyout)
Came in everyday, walked up to a manager, and asked for any assigned tasks. If there were any, I completed them, if there were none, I would either tend the front end checkout or stock the store. The co workers were awesome. It was always enjoyable working with them, and they actually enjoyed my company too! The management was great too, I just figured – more... placement would be a little more strict based on things like a person's demeanor and dress code. Never offered overtime, and turned away if asked, but great benefits. Hardest part of my job was incidentally where I enjoyed it the most. If I'm ever at the front, they directed non-English speaking customers to me, apparently I got a higher score in "Basic Human Communication 101" than my coworkers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun workplace
Cashier (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: great evironment, pay was good
Cons: short breaks
Great work environment. Pay was great, most customers were friendly. I did not mind helping out. Few crazy customers here and there but very manageable
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Numbers Driven Daily goals Driven
Assistant-Manager (Current Employee), new yorkFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: fast pace, team oriented working environment
Cons: long hours, poor worklife balance.
Making sure you continue to increase business daily with giving great customer service. And continuing to increase sales and make profit for the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workers but bad management.
Service Manager / Shift Lead (Former Employee), New York, NYFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: interacting with customers and other people.
Cons: management tends to be very hostile and rude.
I've worked at three different stores throughout my career at Duane Reade, while the entry level workers IE; cashiers, stock clerks, etc. were polite, friendly and easy to get along with, the Assistant Store Managers and Store Managers with the exception of my first store, were rude, abrasive and hostile.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent job
Cosmetic Sales Associate (Current Employee), New York, NYFebruary 8, 2014
A typical day at work would be me ordering makeup every week, making sure cosmetic aisle is fully stocked, stay updated on the latest beauty lines (per season). I've learned so much about skin care in this line of work, managers are very understanding and nice to their employers, I have the best co-workers, and the most enjoyable part of my job is helping – more... someone who's just learning about makeup and skincare, I'm happy to be apart of that. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
*****
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), various locations, in brooklyn, n.y.February 5, 2014
as manager, performed all duties (opening /closing store), registers, review all associates who were in attendance, ordered merchandised, tend to all customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy job, very poor management and co-worker drama.
Service Clerk/Stock Control (Current Employee), New York, NYFebruary 4, 2014
Pros: customers are cool and nice. good work and life-balance. good for students.
Cons: short breaks, poor management, general sense of poor work ethic, huge turnover 40+ employees in one store, but 4 employees each shift
The job is pretty easy and sometimes I enjoy working there, but it can be pretty slow-paced. The customers are awesome, I love meeting the tourist and the holiday season, there is a lot of holiday spirit in the area. The coworkers are ok to work with, but they can be pretty immature and not willing to do all aspects of the job, making it difficult to – more... work during peck hours. To put it simple, Duane Reade seems to hire just about anyone and there is a huge turn over rate. I've come across some amazing co-worker in the past though, good thing that they moved on. The management is terrible as well, needs tons of improvement. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manager gave me a hard time
General Clerk (Former Employee), New York, NYFebruary 2, 2014
Pros: co workers
Cons: manager and pay
Did not like the job at all. The schedule was inconsistent. I was the cashier. I learned how to handle cash. The co workers were nice people. The manager was annoying. The hardest part of the job was standing all day all working as at the cash register. The most enjoyable part of the job was the co workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Day in the Life
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), New York, NYJanuary 30, 2014
Pros: paycheck with benefits
Cons: low pay, no job advancement
I must make sure the coolers are stocked with beverages and the water section is restocked. The most important lesson I learned in retail is know your area and what sells. There is very little interaction between senior management and workers. My co-workers are nice. The hardest part is doing work below myself. The most enjoyable part is the interaction – more... with the public and learning about the products. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYJanuary 30, 2014
Pros: great job for starters
Cons: not enough hours and less pay
management was great, co-workers were awesome the hardest part was rush hour but it wasn't an hassle
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
depends
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee), New York, NYJanuary 29, 2014
Pros: cool coworkers
Cons: schedule isnt that flexible some times
to each its own. Everyone is different ............................................................
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
regular job with routine duties.
General Clerk (Current Employee), Bronx, NYJanuary 24, 2014
The day to day activities do not change. the most important part is to provide excellent customer service to a diverse group of customers. I try my best to keep my store looking nice.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work where you get to meet and greet people from different ethnic backgrounds.
Service Clerk (Former Employee), New York, NYJanuary 24, 2014
A typical day at Duane Reade consists of stocking shelves, helping customers find products and also promoting a vast array of promotional items. management was very knowledgeable about the products they sold and were very familiar and personable with the patrons. as for my co-workers we were like a family and were a direct extension of the management – more... team when it came to the patrons we served. the hardest part of the job was on delivery days where we would have to unpack the truck and still serve the patrons without sacrificing productivity or great customer service. the most enjoyable part of the job was the connection with the patrons. when you serviced them and they left the store feeling like someone really cared about what they wanted. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work place
Cashier/Stocker (Former Employee), New York, NYJanuary 23, 2014
good management and co-workers
the hardest part of the job is my day off

About Duane Reade

Duane Reade -- the Big Apple of drugstores -- has been swallowed by a big fish: Walgreen. Named after the two streets where its – Read more