Find companies:
Duane Reade
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
280 reviews

Duane Reade Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very face paced but an laid back enviorment
Cashier (Former Employee), Manhattan, NYSeptember 30, 2013
my typical day at this job was cool i did more cashier work then anything i helped customers save with the rewards card with different items packed out totes stock shelves i learned how to really interact with customers and developed alot of customer service experience at this job the manangement was ok didnt really have no complaints my co workers – more... were very helpful we really did well as a team this job wa pretty easy didnt really had to do nothing but communicate with the customers ring them out and help them save the most enjoyable part of this job was when i had a satisfied customer i really love to help customers – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High-volume retail environment
Pharmacist (Former Employee), Manhattan, NYSeptember 28, 2013
Focus on customer service. Each client received very individualized
care . Very rewarding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers to work with. Get along well and help each other when needed.
Customer Service, Cashier, Pharmacy (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 20, 2013
Pros: you learn patients and tolerance of other people
Cons: disrespectful cutomers, thieves
A typical day at work would be helping customers find what they need if they are having trouble locating it. If the store is not busy, I would come from behind the counter and face products that are messed up in the aisles. I would also packed out items to put in the aisles. I worked on the registers as well. I helped get rid of items that were expired. – more... I assisted in the pharmacy with refilling and labeling medications. Counted medications when it was time for inventory. Management was not all that great. The Manager of the store was highly unfair to a lot of my co-workers. They made complaints and he promised to make changes and nothing never gets done. The assistant manager was great. He understood and listen and did his best to help us. He was such a caring and great person. My co-workers were great we helped each other out a lot. we got along just fine. Didn't have no problem working with my co-workers. I actually missed them. The hardest part was just to be there and see the unfairness go on with the manager of the store. The most enjoyable part of being there was working with my co-workers, the pharmacist, and the assistant managers and also the shift leaders. They are the ones to having a great day at work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good beginner job
Cashier (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 17, 2013
Dealt with customers on a daily basis. Learned how to use a register and to deal with the public. My coworkers were a blast. No hard part about it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
life in Duanereade
Cashier/Stocker (Current Employee), New York, NYSeptember 16, 2013
Pros: the vibe everyone gets along and works as a team
Cons: healtth insurance not enough hours
Typical day at work is customer asking me questions and the best is that I love doing what I do.helping others making sure they find what they and leave with a smile on there face is a satisfaction to me.I enjoy working with my coworkers and working as a team to make sure everything is going good in the store.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning experience
Shift Leader/Assistant Manager (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 16, 2013
• Responsible cash control, inventory, safety and management of entire staff
• Maintained outstanding customer service
• Assisted with directing merchandising, staffing, customer service and inventory control
• Support store manager in the execution of all company initiatives
• Processed incoming and outgoing freight, maintain records pertaining to – more... orders – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work and Friendly Co Workers
Stock Associate (Current Employee), New York, NYSeptember 14, 2013
Pros: meet great people
Cons: a lot of micro managing, the management within the company do not believe in their own mission statement
Unload Delivery for store
pack out delivery
rotate inventory
assist customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Duane Reade
Sales Associate (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 12, 2013
Pros: paid vactions, discounts, union, healthcare benifits
Cons: short breaks
Duane Reade was always busy. Real fast paste.

Here is where I learned how to be social with customers and what customer service is all about.

My managers where AMAZING! They where definitely were like parent figures at work.

My co-workers were really cool. Enjoy working with them.

The hardest thing about working at Duane Reade was trying not to – more... work myself too much. Being that it was a fast paste job I was always active. Didn't mind this because I always got the job done and I learned how to work at a fast paste.

I loved serving customers and seeing regular customers daily. I soon grew relationships with a couple. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good company, with its flaws
Pharmacist/Pharmacy Supervisor/Pharmacy Manager (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 11, 2013
Pros: good pay
Cons: employee treatment not what it could be
I moved through the chain, starting as a drug clerk (even though I was told I would be starting as a technician), moving up to tech, intern, grad intern, pharmacist, pharmacy supervisor, and finally pharmacy manager under Walgreens. Overall, it was a good company to work for with good compensation and benefits (as soon as you reach the pharmacist level). – more... A little too much downward pressure focusing on everything... You cannot focus, by definition, on EVERYTHING (ie customer service tends to suffer when you try to push for numbers...rapid, excellent, courteous service is, while not impossible, incredibly difficult to achieve). On the other hand, the PDMs were generally approachable, providing advice as to how to reach preset goals. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place and good experience.
Cashier/Sales Associate (Current Employee), Brooklyn, NYSeptember 7, 2013
Pros: customers
Cons: bad pay and vacation pay
Duane Reade is a god job to work for, especially if your attending school. Its also a fun environment and the workers are funny and cool.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working in Duane Reade
Pharmacy clerk/Cashier (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 5, 2013
Pros: understandable managers
Cons: to many call out from employees
working at Duane Reade was very interesting, dealing with prescriptions was such an experience. There were nice coworkers, and lovely customers. I have learned so much about customer service and the patients that come along. The only thing that was a little difficult was, doing a lot of things at once. Overall i loved it !
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail
Cashier/Stock Clerk (Former Employee), Astoria, NYSeptember 5, 2013
Extremely smooth way of doing things. Management was pretty relaxed while making sure the job was fone correctly. Enjoyed my time here extinsevely!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great managemtn experience.
Assistant Manager, full-time (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 4, 2013
Pros: great training
Cons: boring job
Duane Reade is a very professional company with a great training program for managers. I learned more from this position than any other.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent
Cashier (Former Employee), New York New YorkAugust 28, 2013
I worked at Duane Reade for nearly a year at 2 Penn Plaza although i was only receiving 7.25 an hour I loved every minute of that job. I met exciting people both co workers and customers. The store is extremely hot in the summer and cool in the winter but the atmosphere is lively and comforting. The management team was very understanding and pro-active – more... with employees needs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cool
Shift Leader (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 27, 2013
Pros: vactions
Cons: cant move after shift leader
it good if you what to go the school and meet new people and good job to learn about working for retail
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Cashier (Former Employee), new yorkAugust 26, 2013
Duane Reade is a good store and as almost everything u need there.The workers there are cool and fun to be around.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a day at work
Stock Clerk (Former Employee), Staten Island, NYAugust 22, 2013
Pros: customers
Cons: anger customers
liked working here manager was really nice and coworkers also
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Didn't compensate well, no benefits
Pharm Tech (Former Employee), New YorkAugust 21, 2013
Pros: you have a job.
Cons: everything
It's a menial job not even close to mediocre. Customers and pharmacists treat you with little to no respect. The pay is so low for the job that you do. Understaffed. Feels like you take hits from the patients and the pharmacists all the time even if it's not your fault. Very stressful and no sense of fulfillment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Super low salary, no benefits, psycho pharmacists
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 21, 2013
Pros: some coworkers, customers
Cons: low compensation, lazy pharmacists plus the crazy one in this store
Was in a busy store with 2-3 working in the pharmacy at one time. On my first day i did the register with $7.25/hr rate. i was new so i guess they gave me that rate. i wanted to get a full 40 hours but they said i can't get because DR didn't have the budget. i kept going thinking it would get better. i worked for 36 hrs a week because 37 would make – more... you full time. in Toys R Us i got $8/hr and $9.10/ hr before i left plus benefits.i had to go because my mom and i moved here in NY. Anyway, my pharmacist got booted and a new one from another store came in and i absolutely hate her. She is youngish with a weird name. She acts like she was the coolest thing in d store. Everyone hates her. She makes mistakes and blamed it on us. The new tech gave the wrong pills that she checked and dispensed and when the patient came back she was yelling at us and blaming us for it. She's the dampharmacist, it's her job to make sure everything she bags and dispenses is right, otherwise what's her use? She also blames tech for wrong prescription processes she processed herself that's why i hate her. She has delusion of grandiosity and she just wouldnt apologize fir her mistakes and not admit to it. In more than the 3yrs i stayed techs came and went, my job didn't get better. I was given more to do for a cent. From a $7.25 in 2008 to a $7.75 in 2012, from being the drug clerk to a lead pharm tech in DR was hell.
DON'T WORK HERE. Nothing will ever happen to your life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i have been getting job search result which help me to look for a better job
Inventory Control Specialist (Current Employee), New York, NYAugust 20, 2013
A typical day at work is when it rain I just stay in and work.
I learn drifferant kind of skill from basic to management level which help me in my every day life.
I enjoy working with my co-workers, because we help and learn from each other.
The hardest part of my job is when management some times give me work their don`t let me try things my way to – more... see if it`s works.
The most enjoyable part of my job is help customers. – less

About Duane Reade

Duane Reade -- the Big Apple of drugstores -- has been swallowed by a big fish: Walgreen. Named after the two streets where its – Read more