Find companies:
Duane Reade
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
372 reviews

Duane Reade Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What I learned
Stock Clerk (Former Employee), New York, NYMay 19, 2014
Only good thing is working overnight very peaceful less drama.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Duane reade
Cashier/Overnight Stocker (Former Employee), New York, NYMay 19, 2014
Come in on time work begins as soon as i clock in . Help Customers . Work with Coworkers to get task done as fast as possible . restock all items to shelves after unloading the truck . take out garbage on truck nights . clean and maintain store .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be a great job depending on Supervisors
Front Clerk (Former Employee), New York, NYMay 19, 2014
Pros: very good experience opportunities
Cons: *see review
The customers that walk into Duane Reade were great humble people, mostly. However managers always had issues with each other and demeaned workers.Every employee had to do supervisor's job at one point or the other. I had the luck to become a generally respected worker and so the experience there was a bit less hectic for me than my co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PRODUCTIVE AND FUN WORK PLACE
Cashier (Former Employee), Manhattan, NYMay 18, 2014
Pros: discounts on lunch
Cons: short breaks
A TYPICAL DAY ITS VERY FAST PACE
IVE LEARNED ALOT HOW TO STOCK HOW
TO EXCHANGE AND DO REFUNDS.
MANAGEMENT IN THE MORNING WAS GOOD BUT THE
NIGHT MANGER WAS HORRIBLE.
MY CO-WORKERS WAS THE BEST ALWAYS HELPED OUT WHEN I DIDNT KNOW WHAT TO DO
THERE REALLY WAS NOT A HARD PART TO THE JOB YOU JUST HAVE TO GET USED TO IT
EVERYTHING WAS THE MOST ENJOYABLE SEEING – more... PEOPLE SMILE HELPING AND GETTING MY JOB DONE – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a productive work place.
Stock Person/Cashier (Former Employee), New York, NYMay 5, 2014
Pros: good customer service skills
Cons: disrespectful customers
The job helped me learn cashier skills. Working well under pressure and customer service skills
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Made it a very productive and friendly environment
Shift Leader (Former Employee), New York, NYApril 30, 2014
A very tight knit family orientated staff that always the customer feel welcome. Being a part of the management I learned how to deal with different personalities, how to ensure a safe work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady pay and hours, management quality depends on store, no holidays off, little benefits outside of health (excluding sick days)
Shift Manager (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYApril 29, 2014
Pros: all prescriptions are low priced with medical coverage.
Cons: short to no breaks as your often the only manager in the building.
A typical day of work would usually include closing and given several tasks despite an often understaffed store, during the busiest hours. Staff us usually hard working wherever you go.

Ive learned a lot, especially how to multi-task (youll have to do that all day) and dealing with every type of individual.

Most managers in this company believe in – more... either a negative (personality wise) or leadership (working with while managing) manner. Accountability and planning is key. Most management are quick to leave without fully explaining all issues. There are typically 3 managers per store, unless its a 24 hour or extra large store.

Coworkers are usually good with this company. They often have workers who have been in the stores for quite a while and know what needs to be done.

The hardest part of the job would have to be the running back and forth dealing with many tasks. Never ending.

The most enjoyable part would be dealing with repeat customers who truly enjoy your service. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Head Cashier (Former Employee), New York, NYApril 28, 2014
This was a wonderful variety drug store that sold almost everything.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to advance carreer, company more concerned with profit then family life.
District Loss Prevention Manager (Former Employee), New York, NYApril 21, 2014
Grateful for the opportunity to advance my career, but when Walgreens bought company the culture changed and most positions were cut.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Hewlett, NYApril 19, 2014
Pros: great work environment
Great work environment. Great management. Good place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fast paced
PHARAMACY TECHNICIAN/CASHIER (Former Employee), New York, NYApril 18, 2014
They lack opportunities to move up in the company. The pay is not too good it took me over a year to get a raise that was due to me for promotion to pharmacy technician and it was only $1.00 raise. Co-workers believe in team work. Management was lazy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experince
Shift Leader (Former Employee), New york New yorkApril 12, 2014
Pros: i gain a lot of experince working with this company
Cons: it's a lions cage, you have multitask
A wonderful place to work by far ; never a down time always busy . A typical day at my job was driven by how much you can achieve in one day. The day started with me counting the safe which holds up to $15,000 by hand . I had make sure till in the cash register draws were 100.00 even, which they were 10 of them that come's to a total of $1,000. Since – more... I work the over night shift ,so I was in charge of getting the store ready in the morning ; which means the store must be: face, overstock rotated, expires pulled, garbage change, bathroom clean, break room clean , stock room clean, counter clean, floor swept and mop, and windows clean. All in all my day still consist of much more , because I didn't even mention the $50,000 truck that has to be down in 3 hours. the most enjoyable part of my day is the job being done. when the customers come in and they say a professional clean environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, very organised environment.
Cashier Associate (Former Employee), New York, NYApril 7, 2014
A typical day working with Duane Reade is a great experience i got along with all my mangers and co-workers i loved my job and the position that was giving to me. what i learned on this job was pharmacological work, phone skills, also computer skills.The hardest part was doing invetory that seemed very difficult but i got the hang of it after a while – more... i enjoyed every part of my job at Duane Reade. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy
Work as a cashier (Current Employee), new york, NYApril 6, 2014
Pros: union
Cons: alot of work but less pay
There is always things to do so i am always moving around. when its slow in the store i am either ordering for the store, checking the on hands of each product or redesigning a section. there is always something new to learn because i am always asking questions. I am very responsible and reliable so my manager gives me more work then others which is – more... because i was trained more than others. Everyone at work is very friendly and respectful towards each other. Some makes me feel like family. the hardest part is knowing to much. i say this because when you know too much the managers expect you to do everything. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Duane Reade is company under utilizes their staffs ability to perform their jobs.
Store Manager (Former Employee), New York, NYApril 4, 2014
Pros: gain great experience and customer service.
Cons: company that never fully utilize your abilities and values of bottom line over the quality of work
*Typical morning is greeting my customer. Correcting on -hands,
cycle. . *Going over associates time sheets . *Checking vendors invoices. *5 minutes huddles with associates,going over day before sales
numbers. *Dealing with changes from the company heads who constantly
changing display and layouts on a weekly basis. Lack of
communication between higher – more... ups who were constantly at odds
with one another.
* Interacting with customer – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard workin
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee), New York, NYMarch 31, 2014
Pros: non
Cons: non
• Assisted customers in locating merchandise, responded to inquiries and provided information about sales
• Arranged stock on shelves and assigned promotional areas, maintained and restocked inventory, as needed
• Maintained merchandise in orderly fashion, marked and priced merchandise for store displays
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stock/Cashier
Cashier and Stock (Former Employee), New York, NYMarch 31, 2014
• Money and card transactions in exchange for store items
• Assisted in transporting products from truck to shelves and vice versa to ensure proper location of products to eliminate clutter with in working environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive environment.
Cashier (Current Employee), New York, NYMarch 28, 2014
Pros: experience
Cons: unprofessional managers, pay rate
Its a good job for fresh out of high school students. I have learned a lot here but do not recommend this job to career minded adults.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a part time job, they are fun people to work with
Service Clerk/Cashier (Current Employee), New York, NYMarch 24, 2014
Pros: employee's discount 10% and balance rewards card for everyone
Cons: short breaks and thirty minutes lunch time
When I get to work I greet the manager and co-workers, make sure the store looks good, then ask for my work assignment for the day.
The hardest part of the job is when i have to bring up or carry down stock to the storeroom.
The most enjoyable part of the day is when i help the customers get what they need and they leave the store happy and satisfied – more... with their shopping experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and great learning experiance
Pharmacy Assistant (Former Employee), New York, NYMarch 17, 2014
a typical day was very smooth going on some day. iv learned how to be patient with customers, great multitasking as well.

About Duane Reade

Duane Reade -- the Big Apple of drugstores -- has been swallowed by a big fish: Walgreen. Named after the two streets where its – Read more