Find companies:
Dunelm Mill
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
69 reviews

Dunelm Mill Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't bother. Honestly!
Customer Service/ Till staff (Current Employee), LiverpoolJanuary 21, 2014
Pros: none.
Cons: massive staff overhaul, long hours, job insecurity on whim, no room for error.
Being rushed off your feet to do everyone else's job.
Management are bully's; get you to do the jobs that they can't manage to do, although the results are unattainable.
Assistant managers are sack you if your face doesn't fit.
70 staff taken on for setup. 34 sacked by the end of a week, not keeping a promise to keep them on for a minimum of 3 months.
Team – more... leaders are mainly nice people, but management make the job unbearable. Look for a job elsewhere, or make it a short stop while you search for something else because this place is NOT the place to have a long time career. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor
Customer service (Current Employee), AshtonDecember 28, 2013
Pros: nice and warm
Cons: management
Worked there recently , poor training , poor management , will use you and then drop you at the drop of a hat , if the store not doing as well as expected you will lose hours , will give you unreasonable shifts , your expected to do extra after your shift finished , they pull there face if you leave at your stated shift finishing time , but your co – more... workers are great to work with – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
'There's no place like Dunelm' -- Too right there's not -- New Ashton-under-Lyne store (Previous Employee)
Sales Assistant (Former Employee), Ashton-under-LyneDecember 27, 2013
This company provides employees with Customer first training. Not a single member of management gave two hoots whether customers existed or not. They can barely manage a simple smile towards customers. This is more than staff get from them. I never saw a smile from the store manager, less from the assistant managers. Theres the general unhappy atmosphere – more... amongst staff and the managers dont seem to care about employee job satisfaction at all.
On a different note, some of the stock is overpriced rubbish that looks like its been made by toddlers...
There is more but im wasting no more time on this company. The only good thing I can say about this is that having experience at Dunelm on my CV will look good as they are a well respected company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management ie store manager and operations manager at ashton under lyne
sales assistant (Former Employee), ashton under lyneDecember 12, 2013
Store manager rude and DOESNT communicate to people with no people or man management skills, operations manager where to begin should never be a manager rude and another with non people skills it look like if your face fits you progress and as favourites which no manager of any description should have, expect you to do hundred tasks in a extremely unrealistic – more... time scales, its not a customer service role as is describe in the beginning, all looks good at the beginning with customer first training which is a waste of time because they task you every second of your shift, so don't get that customer first training they want.
They would like you to do more hours then contract to do like ten mins here and 30 mins here without pay at the end of your shift when its dark nights you got love ones picking you up and buses to catch so you not walking the street on your own, do they care management not a tall. one of the worst jobs there is out there would not recommend anybody to work for them.
what I have said that the tip of the iceberg so be warned. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A terrible company to work for! 2 years service (manager)
Operations manager (Former Employee), dunelmOctober 21, 2013
Cons: this company will take 10 years off your life expectancy ! be warned
After 2 years being worked to the bone I have now left the delights of my 45 hrs contract with Dunelm, over these 2 years I have never worked 45!!!! your average week will be around 55/60 hrs. with the delights of 16hrs shifts till 2 am or ever all night on occasions. THIS IS EXPECTED!! you will receive no pay and no time in hand for your hard work. – more... you will be working a part time job for free!!!! yay!

15% discount is poor for the average retailer

no sick pay even if your salary, (don't go breaking a leg or you cant pay rent!)

setup to fail on every task asked for by the company, e.g. (35 pallets of Christmas stock dropped in store and told to sit on it for 1 week. until they review were they can put it) embarrassing amateurs at any kind of setup or merchandising launches.

Massively high turnover of managers I have had 3 area managers, 3 store managers, and worked with 7 assistant managers in my short time. (I cannot count the amount of team leaders or staff I have seen pass)

bonus structure is terrible, the goalposts are moved constantly and you budgets are based on target + internet sales???? based within these magical postcodes around your store, that no one in the company seems to know, YOU HAVE NO DIRECT OR EVEN INDIRECT POWER OVER INTERNET SALES.

My share save has had 3 missing payments from the company (£450) even though they were taken direct from my salary!!!!!! now I have left and wish to cash out on my 3 year program I cannot get my money until Dunelm sort there miss organised mess out! YBS bank says its been going on for months and x employees are mad. (yes I am mad)

managers Salary between 18k-25k ( ive seen a few internal on less)

Save yourself the hassle in the long run and look elsewhere, even if you are desperate. you have been warned. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over Demanding with no respect for staff
Deputy Manager (Former Employee), East AngliaMay 18, 2013
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
Day to day tasks are too heavy to ensure the job can be done correctly and then you become punished for not completing the task. They fiddle time sheets to pretend they have met management targets and staff have to wait for wages to be re-paid at a later date. Deliveries are too large and staffing levels are too low in order to make it possible to complete – more... within the set time scales. The Area managers see you as a number instead of a human and you are very easily replacable. Any mishap and they are keen to get rid no matter how minor it is. Would never work for this company again and would not advise it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging
Customer Services Assistant (Current Employee), Northampton, ENGMarch 18, 2014
my role at dunelm is challenging dealing with everyday customers and there querys making sure they get the correct goods and treatment so they leave the store being happy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Senior Sales / Team Leader (Former Employee), Coventry, ENGMarch 12, 2014
I started with the company over seeing the market department. This department was the main area of the store displaying all promotional stock that came into store. I would manage my team efficiently to complete the deliveries to ensure accurate stock control and general keeping of the department.
I progressed to lead a large team of colleagues over – more... 4 departments across the store. With this I had the responsibility of planning sales, selling discontinued stock and implementing new stock into the store. On several occasions I managed the staff on the night shifts. Also I head development talks for all members of my team, putting in place personal goals for each individual to achieve in order to progress within the company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Complete waste of time- DO NOT BOTHER WITH PRIME TIME
Telesales/Customer service Advisor (Former Employee), North WestMarch 3, 2014
Pros: working with good people
Cons: long hours, doing the same tasks over & over again & rubbish manager
Prime Time Recruitment treat their clients like rubbish, they do not inform you at the right time when a vacancy is available instead they called me a day before which was less than 24 hours and I did not find the location of the company which was based in Bury and no other details of the employer was provided to me via email or post... A MAP WOULD – more... HAVE BEEN GREAT FOR STARTERS and not to forget the company name. All I was given was a contact number and address which shows they are not capable of running a recruitment agency. I withdrew my details from the company as soon as, I'd rather give my details to another agency who I know will be capable of providing assistance when needed or requested. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Workplace
SALES ASSISTANT (Current Employee), Wolverhampton, ENGFebruary 25, 2014
I was only with the company for a month whilst undertaking a marketing internship, but I thoroughly enjoyed my time there. Great workplace with great people who are dedicated to their jobs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok to work in.
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee), wellingboroughFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: canteen
Cons: overtime
Good time keeping at all times i was there.
How to unload boxes into trolly's and wheel the goods onto the shop floor ready to stack or unstack the desirable shelves.
Pretty shabby management.
Worked along side dunelms staff as part of a team.
lifting very heavy boxes from each pallet to the floor ready for the next box to be opened and unpacked for – more... the shop floor.
getting noticed on the shop floor and selling to costumers that come in and look around to find the best prices going. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced work place
full Time Nov (Current Employee), HemelJanuary 12, 2014
What i do on a typical day at work, custom made orders, i book in delivers, may have to send products to other store. cutting fabric, also deal with customers everyday. the people i work with are very friendly and everyone gets on. Best thing about my job is when you can help customers get exactly what they are looking for. The hardiest thing about – more... my job is trying to keep very customer happy and helping and finding everything they want. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Sales assistant (Former Employee), Newport, WLSJanuary 8, 2014
Pros: free tea and coffe and parking.
Cons: not always given new uniforms.
As a typical day at work I would stock the shelves, help on customer service and the tills when needed. Also help out in the warehouse and distribute the stock.

Management were always friendly and the co-workers were as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Store
Retail Store Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Bournemouth, ENGJanuary 7, 2014
Pros: challenging and rewarding, great customer engagement.
Cons: long hours
Constant review and maintenance of standards throughout the store.
Liaising with team leaders to ensure efficient stock control, ordering, and correct placement of new stock. Setting an example of excellent customer service, ensuring impulse add on sales are made. Setting up promotions and merchandising to a high standard. Opening and closing the store, – more... cash admin duties and banking. General trouble shooting and problem solving. Health and safety.
Like so many retail stores, a decreasing staff budget, larger workload and a culture of not valuing your staff exasperated by a new manager whose agenda was to get all his own people in, and a total lack of flexibility sadly led to me having to leave.
The hardest part of this position was the long hours, a 50-60 hour week was the norm with 14+ hour days during sale, promotions and stock take.
Despite the graft the position itself was always challenging but most enjoyable and rewarding, I was sad to leave. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a mentally stimulating job
Temporary worker (Former Employee), Leicester, ENGDecember 28, 2013
Enjoyed learning about fabrics and creation process.
Not an intellectual job.
Very repetitive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and fun workplace
Administrator (Former Employee), Radcliffe, ENGDecember 10, 2013
Pros: the breaks
Cons: shifts
During this role my main duties were to collect any post that needed to be taken to the post office, cancel any orders or items customers no longer wanted, close down all deliveries that came during my shift, run reports, move stock from one place to another via computer, write stock on and off, place orders for stock items, uniform and stationary, – more... all this was done on the computers using SAP. I also used Microsoft outlook, word and excel. General office duties were involved. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring/uninspiring
Till Operative/Floor assistant (Former Employee), Radcliffe, ENGNovember 4, 2013
Pros: 25% discount
Cons: boring
This was a dead end job with no real progression prospects. I was a till operative on a part time contract for a very quiet store
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place
Coffee Shop Manager (Former Employee), prestonOctober 28, 2013
In my role at Dunelm Mill my job was responsible for the effective management of the in house coffee shop from stock buying and control, managing 8 employees and recruiting new staff. Implementing a wage and sales structure in order for the business to be profitable. Daily and weekly cash reports, banking of cash and allocating monies for outstanding – more... utility bills and rent. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Shop Floor Assistant (Former Employee), Stevenage, ENGOctober 22, 2013
Pros: friendly staff, good hours
I thought it was a good place to work
Was offered overtime often which was helpful as i didn't have many hours to start with.
Friendly staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very short term
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee), RadcliffeOctober 17, 2013
Pros: nil
Cons: nil
Not there long but a given impression that it was not a very well run organisation

1 2 3 4