Find companies:
Dunham's Sports
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
62 reviews

Dunham's Sports Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Time demanding.
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee), Waterford, MINovember 25, 2014
Pros: co-workers
Cons: hours, lack of compensation.
I have learned a lot during my time at Dunham's Sports, working my way up from a Sales Associate to an ASM. They taught me organization skills, leadership skills, as well as my problem solving skills.
As a college student, balancing my personal life, school life, and work life has been incredibly difficult. Although Dunham's has created a good life – more... for me and has given me many opportunities, the demanding hours and inconsistent schedule has taken it's toll. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Geat Place to Work!
Cashier (Former Employee), Findlay, OHNovember 21, 2014
I loved management. Was a fun place to work. You meet alot of different people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad for a part time
KDC (Former Employee), Crawfordsville, IndianaNovember 12, 2014
Pros: employee discounts
Cons: pay....experienced management.
Constantly short staffed. Management was very junior and lacked actually experience managing staff. Resources were undervalued and there was no respect for policy and procedure. Store manager would not have had to quit if he showed respect for policy and procedure and listened to his people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be a fun place when not pushed to the limit by upper management
Store Manager (Current Employee), Portage, MINovember 11, 2014
typical retail management. expected to work long hours for minimal pay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun staff to work with but boring job.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Hannibal, MONovember 9, 2014
Folding shirts and organizing shelves is most of the job. During the week few customers and it gets slow. The co-workers are friendly and fun to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible company
Department Coordinator (Current Employee), ohioOctober 25, 2014
the upper management is non existent. dm is a horrible person with no grip on reality. treats employees like garbage...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging multi-faceted environment
Associate (Current Employee), Spencer, IAOctober 3, 2014
Pros: very flexible with scheduling, fun co-workers
Cons: wages aren't competitive, breaks are inconsistent
Ask every customer you see if they are finding everything alright, and direct them if needed. Assist in various areas of the store. The associates are knowledgeable and are used as resources to answer all questions. Children are often the hardest part of being an associate because of their moods change quickly. But when a customer relays that this was – more... one of the best shopping experiences they've had that brings a smile to my face and I know they will return to shop here. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job with excellent assortment of customers
Manager/Key Department Coordinator (Former Employee), Muskegon, MISeptember 20, 2014
Pros: excellent merchandise discount
Cons: the schedule was not very friendly to workers who have children at home
A typical day as a manager consists of a great deal of handling money and customer complaints and requests. Working in a sporting goods store, the customer base was very assorted and that was my favorite part of the job. Working with people and being able to make someone's day is very important to me. Moving up from cashier to manager taught me a lot – more... about authority and decision making. I absolutely loved my co-workers, and I also really liked the upper-management most of the time, but I did work under several different people. Each person had a different teaching style and I learned a lot from each. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, but not enough staff on hand.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Rome, GAAugust 10, 2014
Pros: long breaks, nice co-workers
Cons: rude managers, staying late past shift hours every night.
Good environment to work in but management is harsh to all employees and treat them with no respect. Under-staffed business with not enough shift hours. Unloading big trucks and sorting through the merchandise was probably the hardest part of the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dunhams
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Madison, WIJuly 15, 2014
Great career builder. Fun place to work and gain experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just another part time job
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Zanesville, OHJuly 13, 2014
Pros: great discounts, flexibe schedules
Cons: bad upper management
Fine individual store crew. HORRIBLE regional managers that are completely out of touch with daily issues of a store. As store is expanding, customer support options are improving.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Non productive associates, Bad attitudes
Associate (Former Employee), Bellefontaine, OHJuly 7, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: only one break, associates didnt get along with others
a normal day would include many associates being lazy and not doing their jobs. Manager doesn't say anything to them. Associates not getting along with other associates and assistant mangers in front of customers. many associates would be calling human resources on each other for their behavior and attitudes.

Enjoyed some associates and assistant managers – more... hardest part was dealing with associates behavior. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
employee discount.. Christmas Family Nights..
Store Manager (Current Employee), West Bloomfield Township, MIJune 10, 2014
Pros: sick day, personal days, vacations, great insurance
Cons: no overtime for salary
I started working at Dunham's Sports 28 years ago.I love my job and all the people that I ever had the chance to work with. I am 53 , ready to give my store over to a up and coming assistant. The hardest part of my job is to see employees leave , whether it's to go to school or they found another job. We have a very close team and all work together – more... to make our store a success ! A typical day at work for us of course daily task ,our number 1 job is customer service. What I have learned in my 28 years of retail ,I don't ask anyone to do anything that I wouldn't do myself ! Employees work harder when they see you working next to them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized and not productive
Cashier (Former Employee), Warren, MIMay 15, 2014
The location I was at the store manager was not very nice and things were hectic majority of the time being there
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experienced Store Manager
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Parkersburg, WVApril 24, 2014
• Responsible for aggressively driving store sales growth and profits through a thoroughly trained customer focused workforce; and ensure timely execution of company merchandising and operational programs.
• Responsible for providing superior customer service and achieving sales and margin budgets while managing growth and profitability.
• Accountable – more... for ensuring maximum productivity by monitoring weekly and monthly sales in comparison to payroll expense(s), markdowns, tracking of inventory, and numerous other store conditions – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace if you enjoy the retail setting.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Rib Mountain, WIApril 16, 2014
The management was laid back yet professional. The days went pretty fast especially on the weekends. Met numerous customers and created long-term relationships with them. Had many requests for my specific assistance after a few months of working there. Sometimes miss the fast-paced environment of black friday season!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Key Holder (Former Employee), Ludington, MIApril 14, 2014
Pros: people
Cons: no set schedule
This was my very first job I had. The hardest part about this job was that there was no set schedule to work and you also had to work a lot of weekends which meant less time with my family. The most enjoyable thing about this job was the people, there may have been some that weren't happy but I could deal with that and try to help them to the best of – more... my abilities. My co-workers didn't always get along they just needed to communicate better. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manger (KDC)
Manager (Former Employee), Fremont, MIApril 10, 2014
Pros: working with the public
Cons: the hours, and the lack of hours
I like working for Dunhams, but I went to school and want to get into the field that I went to school for.
Waiting on customer, working with the public I really enjoy.
I think the hardest part of the job is the retail hours. I don't see my husband much or my grand children.
Probably the most enjoyable part of my job is meeting and talking with the customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just a fun filled enjoyment place!
Cashier (Former Employee), Alexandria, MNApril 8, 2014
Pros: getting a discount on everything including under armour
Cons: our only benifit was discounts on all the items. still happy for what i got tho!
I would work with customers, help sell stuff on the floor when not busy with cash register! I loved working with the co-workers. we where like a big family's! Managers, where great we had a tiffs but we all got together! Hardest part of the job was dealing with some of the crabby customers if they didn't have there way then bash the managers, and the – more... store. But I learned just to keep it in and not speak my mind because at those moments, you want to say what's on your mind. The most enjoyable part was a day that I sold 8 kayaks and 3 guns! Man it was such a experience helping the customers find and get them to buy what they wanted. It was one of my best days! I always tried to beat that record but nothing as good as that day but close! That day it was my first time selling guns!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sport's store
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), saginaw, miMarch 27, 2014
helping customers find what they need. cashiering when needed the most enjoyable part of the job is to be able to help other people

1 2 3 4

About Dunham's Sports

It's all about athletic leisure at Dunham's Athleisure. The company's Dunham's Sports stores sell sporting goods through more – Read more