Find companies:
DuPont Pioneer
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
40 reviews

DuPont Pioneer Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace production, responsiblity and decision making
Production Supervisor Tech (Current Employee), Plymouth, INOctober 10, 2014
Pros: can be self sufficiant and some free time. safety is first always
Cons: long hours, not a good work life balance
At Du Pont Pioneer the task vary seasonally.
Plant production is September to March. This is a challenging time as corn production only has months to produce output requirements of sales. typical day can be operating size machines and de-stoners to setting up programs on the Sortex z+ color sorting machines. This is a multifaceted job requiring many – more... skills and time management. Open to new ideas and ability to work in a close team environment.

Field duties can include operating machinery to assist in the planting and tasseling duties. Has taught time management and how to implement white boards and 5s into the farm operations of growers. Bolstered grower relations and improved seedsmanship skills on different agronomic issues. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low stress environment with very friendly co-workers
Lab Technician (Former Employee), Johnston, IAOctober 9, 2014
Pros: low stress, good people, always new things to learn
Cons: constant last minute duties
I learned something new almost every other week. My managers were awesome. They were very intelligent, helpful, understanding, and laid back. My co-workers were friendly, and also helpful. I really got a sense of teamwork even though we worked on different projects. I was given much independence from my managers to determine my schedule, which almost – more... always varied from day to day.

About 3/4 of my time was spent in the lab, and the other fourth was spent doing field work. My manager would teach me new techniques every other week, and I would I then do those procedures by myself.

In the morning, I would quickly go through the items I had planned to do that day with my manager. He would approve, deny, add, or change my agenda. The rest of the day would be spent performing experiments and/or doing field work. I had to be very flexible with my time because any moment I could be called into another project. The lab experiments was the most enjoyable part of my job.

The toughest part of the job was having to almost "jump" into things. From day one, I was running experiments I had never performed before. It was almost like a sink-or-swim type of training, but I loved the challenge. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work. They need to work on the teamwork and communication skills.
Maintenance Coordinator (Current Employee), Utica, ILOctober 7, 2014
Not much to say about this. This is a good company that is going in the right direction but there is a lot of people that have been here for a long time and stuck in there ways. They don't take to change very well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive work environent
Production Technician Two (Former Employee), Mount Pleasant, IASeptember 9, 2014
Pros: great learning environment, great coworkers and management.
Cons: plant closed causing me to seek employment elsewhere.
I enjoyed my time at DuPont Pioneer. It was a good place to work with a great work environment, I just wish that it would have lasted longer. It came to an abrupt end with the closing of the Mt. Pleasant plant.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work
Data Entry (Former Employee), PRAugust 28, 2014
Pros: a lot of security and healthcare, provided items such as goggles, glove, an what ever required to get the job done
Cons: hot days came with alot of work an rainy days maid the land difficult to work
a typical day on the field requires taking long walks an counting plants and putting the data on the provided pda some times we took care of the corn fields an even helping in the harvest.Over all i liked the job because i love agriculture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First contact person in busy Crop Insurance Service
Agency Support Specialist (Former Employee), Johnston, IAAugust 20, 2014
Pros: loved the variety in the job. lots of task to perform on daily basis.
Cons: reduction in the company
Provided customer service to farmers, agents, insurance carriers and co-workers related to crop insurance. I loved being the first person in contact and had a variety of task to carry out on a daily basis. Was helpful with everyone whether it was internal or external.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dupont Pioneer is good place to work.
Research Scientist (Former Employee), Johnston, IowaAugust 19, 2014
Dupont Pioneer is good place to work. DuPont Pioneer is science driven company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
promoted safety culture
Safety Assistant (Former Employee), Woodland, CAJuly 10, 2014
Pros: great compensation
Cons: bored easily
The daily administrative duties consisted of answering phones, assisting all staff support in the safety programs. Management was not flexible in different and innovative ways to promote safety culture. I loved all my coworkers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for growth
Administrative Coordinator (Current Employee), Johnston, IowaJune 2, 2014
If you are looking for a great company to grow within, this is it!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Supervisor Interno Agrícola (Former Employee), PRMay 28, 2014
Dupont Pioneer gave me the opportunity to have my first job and the growth as an employee and as a person and supervising groups of people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly place to work and much to learn about.
Temporary Research Worker (Current Employee), Johnston, IAApril 29, 2014
There are various tasks to do every day. Before I started working within Dupont Pioneer, I knew nothing of how research in science worked or what there is going on. I have learned much during my time here. All of my co-workers have been friendly. Management for each position here have been helpful with my scheduling needs during school and around big – more... holidays. I love the fact that each position, within every day is different and that I'm always learning. I think the hardest part of my current position is loading and unloading large machinery due to my physical height. Being a temp employee, I do not get to enjoy benefits like health and vision. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work but....
Maintenance Supervisor (Current Employee), Dahlgren, ILApril 23, 2014
Pros: great place to work
Cons: merger causing turmoil
DuPont is the parent company for Pioneer. The company is absorbing Pioneer into their culture and causing great turmoil with the complete restructure. It remains to be seen whether this will remain a good place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Established, secure company
Senior Business Process Analyst (Current Employee), Ankeny, IowaApril 14, 2014
DuPont Pioneer provides its employees with excellent benefits, opportunities for career advancement and skill development, and encourages life/work balance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place to work for a young person trying to learn new things
Farming (Former Employee), Janesville, WIApril 10, 2014
Pros: outside all day
Cons: sun burnt
clocking into work, going out into the field, and going to your row of corn and fertilizing the corn, you could get a drink anytime and were outside all day in the sun, if it was raining you were still out but if it was thundering you weren't allowed to go out you had a 30 minute lunch break and you meet new people that you got along with all the time
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Quality Testing Laboratory Coordinator (Current Employee), Johnston, IAMarch 31, 2014
Good working conditions, nice people, good environment. Good balance between work and home. Leave every day with a sense of accomplishment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits the only strong point
Treater Operator (Current Employee), Plymouth, INFebruary 14, 2014
If you're looking for a company that provides a good balance of work and a home life, keep looking. Very seasonal peaks, but it goes from one busy season right into the next with no slow time at all. If you're looking to work a lot of hours nearly year round then look no further. Almost no room for advancement as people rarely get fired from their position – more... even if they're terrible is said position. Which, in turn, makes a strong point for job security. Overall if you want to work at place like this, go for it, but it's just not for me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work minded place to work
Warehouse Associate/Forklift Operator (Former Employee), Maxton, NCFebruary 6, 2014
Pros: profit sharing every year
Cons: biased in some aspects of work.
Daily work varied, loved all my co-workers,have a deep love for forklifts.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, easy work environment with a ping pong table for breaks
Soybean Research Assistant (Former Employee), Volga, SDJanuary 12, 2014
Pros: laid back comfortable work expierence
As a Pioneer employee you are treated with the highest respect and are valued. Everyone is friendly and professional. They follow "the more you know the more you can help" motto. They work hard to teach you how the business works so that you can help as much as possible with every opportunity you are given. They work hard to see that you have opportunities – more... for advancement throughout their extensive network. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My job involves...
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Wahpeton NDJanuary 12, 2014
I answer phones, take down sale and offer information, record field information. I use GSFM and SAP/R3 on a daily basis for inputting and retrieving data.

Part of my responsibilities include acting as the plant Training Coordinator. In that role I maintain records on the Document Management System as well as cooperate with the trainers to plan training – more... sessions and supply the necessary material. Tied to that position I act as the site Document Controller. I update when both high level (company controlled) and low level (plant controlled) documents have been revised. This ensures the proper trainings may be conducted.

I also function as the Contract Conditioner Coordinator. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work at
Temporary Programmer (Current Employee), PRDecember 7, 2013
Pros: great culture, great people, great work
Cons: contract renewal every month, unstable
I like where I work right now. The people are very nice, my supervisors are great people. The work is my profession, which is very nice because I'm working in what I love. It's a great place overall. My only problem with it is that my current job there is unstable. I renew contract every month, which makes it a bit difficult for me and I'm looking for – more... something more stable so I can begin some changes in my life. – less