Durham School Services Employee Reviews

Found 538 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very stressful workplace
Bus Monitor (Former Employee) –  Canandaigua, NYMay 25, 2017
Starting pay is not very competitive. Monitors and drivers elsewhere start out making more money. The insurance given is very hard to utilize. The only thing I really enjoyed about the job was working with the kids.
Pros
Working with kids
Cons
Bad hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I liked Durham
School Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLMay 24, 2017
This was a more calm atmosphere before the union came in. The employees in GSA 5 were complaining about the rules and ended up getting the company moved out of our area bringing in the union.
Pros
pay
Cons
student/parent behavior
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Happy place
Payroll Specialist (Former Employee) –  McKinney, TXMay 24, 2017
Such a happy and jolly place to work. Feels like a family. Flexible hours... great to work for a company that helps kids and the community. Friendly environment.
Pros
helping kids
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very unprofessional
Bus Monitor (Former Employee) –  Pflugerville, TXMay 23, 2017
This is very unprofessional job they pay is bad and they are very ghetto. It is filthy dirty in there and people always leaves while on the clock. Everybody messes around with each other.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
For part-time work, it's okay... but no good if you need fill-time
School Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  McKinney, TXMay 23, 2017
Dealing with kids can be a handfull, but can be rewarding too. Not a difficult job, but definitely underpaid. No benefits to speak of. ..................
Pros
Good part-time gig
Cons
No full-time, underpaid.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rewarding but stressful at times/ good co-workers
Bus Driver/Monitor (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, IAMay 21, 2017
A typical day at work for me is preparing to do my job the best way possible.

I learned to deal with a variety of people in the most courteous way.

management was outstanding and professional.

Workplace culture: there were definitely opportunity to grow within the co.

The hardest part of this job was having to leave it.

The most enjoyable part was the people I worked with.
Pros
food provided for meetings
Cons
long breaks between work hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for retirees
School Bus Attendant (Current Employee) –  Spokane, WAMay 21, 2017
If you have another source of income (SS, SSI) this might be a good fit. Turnover is high. Morale could be better. Pay is low compared to other transport. Subpar benefits.
Pros
180 days / year workweek
Cons
Just about everything else
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun!
Payroll Admin (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIMay 20, 2017
I enjoyed working for Durham and would have continued employment had I not relocated to Texas. Although fast paced co workers found ways to make it enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for part-time almost full-time. Hard to make a living.
Driver/Operator (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXMay 20, 2017
You learn how to drive a bus. You obtain a CDL. It is not a job you can really make a living. If you could make a living it would be a great job to have.
Pros
Obtain CDL, and nice co-workers
Cons
Not paid for training, almost a part-time job
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wish I was still employed
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  North Charleston, SCMay 17, 2017
Driving school buses was a bit different for me but by the time I reached my 6th month I noticed that I built so many different relationships with students, parents, and school officials. I wish I never left I regret every moment of it.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Want to know more about Durham School Services?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible management!
Driver/Monitor (Former Employee) –  Minetto, NYMay 17, 2017
The general manager was over her head. They neglected to inform me that I had to be there almost 2 years before I got ANY benefits and the training was NONEXISTENT! I was also never informed that I had to watch 240 hours of videos BEFORE I could touch a bus, prior to my being hired! Plus I id not find that little ditty out until approx. 4 weeks of employment and constantly being refused to be trained!
Pros
My fellow workers were awesome people!
Cons
No training, management is incompetent!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The drivers made working there good.
Driver (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOMay 17, 2017
I would not refer anyone to work there. Thr buses are not in total working order. There is no advancing at this company. The routes are never correct.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
San bernardino
Driver/Operator (Former Employee) –  San Bernardino, CAMay 16, 2017
Very stressful place to work although the pay is great. Senior dispatcher is great. Other have bad attitude. Busses are nice and clean. GM is cool. Training
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Durham School Services
Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Stratford, CTMay 16, 2017
This is a great job if you want to supplement your normal job and/or you have a pension. The company teaches you how to drive a school bus and they will work with you to obtain your CDL school bus/passenger endorsement. However , the catch is you do this free of pay for an average of about 13 weeks. The pay off is you do get a CDL license that's worth its weight in gold.
The job is fairly easy and the pay for the hours you work is very fair. You MUST have patience with the young children you drive and realize that they are kids. You must also be aware that you are working in an environment of lower educated people. The kind who think work is General Hospital or Peyton Place. As long as you mind your own business and do your job , you should be ok. The job is rewarding because you've helped bring children home safely to their family and you may even get a thank you or two from the kids you drive home.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
not enough pay to live on
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Durham is a family oriented place
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Iowa City, IAMay 16, 2017
I loved working for Durham. It is a very family oriented place and environment. The managers are caring and takes care of their employees by being very understanding and helping in anyway they can to help you succeed.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Need patience
School Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Spokane, WAMay 13, 2017
Driving school buses are fun, but you need a lot of patience to deal with all the students. You never know what mix you will get. Pay is the lowest of any school bus drivers in the area. You do get weekends and holidays off, which is a plus.
Pros
Weekends off, usually set hours.
Cons
Lower pay and little to no summer work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working with my kids
Special Needs Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Milford, CTMay 13, 2017
The Bus company I work for is fair to there employees. We are compensated fairly. I drive autistic and wheel chair children. I am attached to them now.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company to work for.
Area Manager (Former Employee) –  Various citiesMay 8, 2017
A Great Company to work for. I highly recommend them to anyone. I was in Management with them for 20 years. They are all about the customer and the employees.
Pros
Positive work place
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work and still have free time to take care of business
School Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIMay 8, 2017
This job really does require much but to make sure your on time and at each bus stop on time to pick up students and get them to school on time safety is key
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
could have been better
Human Resources/Field Trip Coordinator (Current Employee) –  North Charleston, SCMay 3, 2017
Great job at time like working with people however the management was not that great. The pay is not what it seems. Turnovers is high. Management do whatever
Pros
Off on major holidays
Cons
pay not great for what you do
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Durham School Services. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 540 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
3.0
Culture
3.2