Find companies:
DURHAM SCHOOL
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
21 reviews

DURHAM SCHOOL United States Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
transporting of children
School Bus Driver (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLDecember 1, 2014
to have experience with different personalities, and understanding needs of others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace and safe work place
School bus driver (Current Employee), san bernardino caOctober 14, 2014
Pros: excellent work
Cons: not enough work hours
pre-trip and post trip a school bus pick up and take students to and from school
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love working with the special needs kids and I love being out driving a bus as well.
Bus Driver (Current Employee), Dundee, ILOctober 9, 2014
Pros: out driving, working with special needs kids
Cons: lack of hours and pay
It is a challenging and fun place to work. It is fun and exciting to be outside driving around and dealing with the weather, traffic and students on a daily basis. I especially enjoy working with the special needs students since my son is special needs also.

Most co-workers are great and I enjoy working as a team with my aide. The hardest part of the job is the bickering and complaining by some employees but try to avoid it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible
Trainer/Safety Officer (Former Employee), Aurora, ILJuly 24, 2014
bad management terrible office staff poor choices the turnover rate is extremely high it was like a revolving door I m glad I left
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and exciting bus company
To help and assists kids with safety needs (Current Employee), Overland Park, ksFebruary 27, 2014
Pros: field trips
Cons: have to maintain a good work ethic
Its a good bus company and its basicalliy a job that helps kids get to school on time and in a safe manner.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
experience driving a variety of buses
Bus Driver (Former Employee), Aurora, ILFebruary 19, 2014
Complete a pre and post trip inspection of the bus
Pick up and drop off students
Received training in helping autistic children
Gained experience driving a variety of buses
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pleasant staff and co workers
School Bus Driver (Current Employee), Waterbury, CTJanuary 28, 2014
Pros: great work environment
Cons: only part time and no health benefits
i enjoy driving kids to school and home. i feel good getting the students to school and home safely. the students enjoy having me drive them
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
Dispatcher (Former Employee), Memphis, TNNovember 13, 2013
Pros: great co-workers
Cons: hard to advance
Wonderful co-workers it was the most enjoyable part of the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place.
School Bus Driver (Former Employee), Van Nuys, CASeptember 30, 2013
Pros: great hands on weekly training for driving skills impovment.
Cons: layoffs.
Productive work place, provided great training, and had a great loving group of kids!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No training, no success
Lead Dispatcher (Former Employee), Burnsville, MNJune 13, 2013
Pros: interaction with the driver staff
Cons: lack of training, lack of breaks
I was promoted to the Lead Dispatcher position in November, 2012 and was offered no training which was necessary for me to succeed at the position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, multi faceted transportation industry
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Rochester, NYMay 22, 2013
Pros: allowed time off for appointments; felxible hours
Cons: non competitive wages for employees
I have learned so much while working at A & E Transport / Durham School Services. I have enhanced my skills on a daily basis and have learned how to multi task and be ready for whatever comes my way. Co-workers have seen that I can accomplish much and know they can ask me for assitance to get any task completed. I am always willing to go above the expectations to complete a job well.
My favorite part of working at Durham is the occassional break from the office to transport the kids to/from school.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great fellow emploees
Bus Driver (Former Employee), Carson, CAMay 13, 2013
Pros: great students
Cons: low pay
Drove School Bus for Special needs Students
Company was not great taking care of it's employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
bus driver (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLMay 7, 2013
Pros: weekley lunches
Cons: company got bought out
start 6:00 am picking up kids taking to school,i learned that not all kids are alike,if we have problems on the bus my co-workers would always be there to help each other out
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall, it is okay for a retiree and/or part-timer
School bus driver (Current Employee), Jacksonville, FlFebruary 28, 2013
Pros: well known and respected, healthy coworker environment
Cons: no advancement opportunity, too much off time (summer, holidays, ect)
I am back-up driver for routes that not covered to to driver absence. The toughest part of the job is that it is a safety sensitive job that requires good management skills with all grade school aged children and as well capable of navigating through a tough roadway environment. Coworker relations are great and I am well known and respected by both drivers and upper management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fast paced
Fleet Maintenance Supervisor (Former Employee), Lakewood, NJOctober 8, 2012
Pros: good benefits
Cons: very few holidays off
typical day is 10to 12 hrs long,The hardest part of the job was keeping the fleet up to saftey standardsfor there daily runs
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GOOD PLACE TO WORK
Driver (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLAugust 18, 2012
Pros: very proffessional
Cons: good healthcare 41k
IT WAS A GOOD COMPANY CARE FOR THE EMPLOYES GOOD MANAGEMENT THEY LOST THE CONTACT
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I wouldn't recommend working for Durham
Contract Administrator (Former Employee), Downers Grove, ILAugust 17, 2012
Pros: they are a little flexible on work/home balance
Cons: they do not give annual raises. they just give more work.
It's a very poor place of employment in how they treat their employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a good job.
Driver (Current Employee), Milwaukee, WIJune 13, 2012
- A typical day is coming into work gettin my keys and doing my route.
-Management is ok but needs to be more professional.
-The hardest part of the job is the children.
-The best part of the job is being able to talk to people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An important job with rewards
Certified Trainer/Driver (Former Employee), Lewisville, TXMay 31, 2012
Pros: cultural experiences, comradery
Cons: short hours
I enjoyed the work, the people, the children and the responsibility. It takes certain individuals with patience, observing skills and multi-tasking to pull this off.

DURHAM SCHOOL Salaries

Bus Driver
$14.00 per hour
$25,000 per year