Find companies:
DURHAM SCHOOL
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
19 reviews

DURHAM SCHOOL Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love working with the special needs kids and I love being out driving a bus as well.
Bus Driver (Current Employee), Dundee, ILOctober 9, 2014
Pros: out driving, working with special needs kids
Cons: lack of hours and pay
It is a challenging and fun place to work. It is fun and exciting to be outside driving around and dealing with the weather, traffic and students on a daily basis. I especially enjoy working with the special needs students since my son is special needs also.

Most co-workers are great and I enjoy working as a team with my aide. The hardest part of the – more... job is the bickering and complaining by some employees but try to avoid it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible
Trainer/Safety Officer (Former Employee), Aurora, ILJuly 24, 2014
bad management terrible office staff poor choices the turnover rate is extremely high it was like a revolving door I m glad I left
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and exciting bus company
To help and assists kids with safety needs (Current Employee), Overland Park, ksFebruary 27, 2014
Pros: field trips
Cons: have to maintain a good work ethic
Its a good bus company and its basicalliy a job that helps kids get to school on time and in a safe manner.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
experience driving a variety of buses
Bus Driver (Former Employee), Aurora, ILFebruary 19, 2014
Complete a pre and post trip inspection of the bus
Pick up and drop off students
Received training in helping autistic children
Gained experience driving a variety of buses
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pleasant staff and co workers
School Bus Driver (Current Employee), Waterbury, CTJanuary 28, 2014
Pros: great work environment
Cons: only part time and no health benefits
i enjoy driving kids to school and home. i feel good getting the students to school and home safely. the students enjoy having me drive them
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
Dispatcher (Former Employee), Memphis, TNNovember 13, 2013
Pros: great co-workers
Cons: hard to advance
Wonderful co-workers it was the most enjoyable part of the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place.
School Bus Driver (Former Employee), Van Nuys, CASeptember 30, 2013
Pros: great hands on weekly training for driving skills impovment.
Cons: layoffs.
Productive work place, provided great training, and had a great loving group of kids!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No training, no success
Lead Dispatcher (Former Employee), Burnsville, MNJune 13, 2013
Pros: interaction with the driver staff
Cons: lack of training, lack of breaks
I was promoted to the Lead Dispatcher position in November, 2012 and was offered no training which was necessary for me to succeed at the position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, multi faceted transportation industry
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Rochester, NYMay 22, 2013
Pros: allowed time off for appointments; felxible hours
Cons: non competitive wages for employees
I have learned so much while working at A & E Transport / Durham School Services. I have enhanced my skills on a daily basis and have learned how to multi task and be ready for whatever comes my way. Co-workers have seen that I can accomplish much and know they can ask me for assitance to get any task completed. I am always willing to go above the expectations – more... to complete a job well.
My favorite part of working at Durham is the occassional break from the office to transport the kids to/from school. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great fellow emploees
Bus Driver (Former Employee), Carson, CAMay 13, 2013
Pros: great students
Cons: low pay
Drove School Bus for Special needs Students
Company was not great taking care of it's employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
bus driver (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLMay 7, 2013
Pros: weekley lunches
Cons: company got bought out
start 6:00 am picking up kids taking to school,i learned that not all kids are alike,if we have problems on the bus my co-workers would always be there to help each other out
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall, it is okay for a retiree and/or part-timer
School bus driver (Current Employee), Jacksonville, FlFebruary 28, 2013
Pros: well known and respected, healthy coworker environment
Cons: no advancement opportunity, too much off time (summer, holidays, ect)
I am back-up driver for routes that not covered to to driver absence. The toughest part of the job is that it is a safety sensitive job that requires good management skills with all grade school aged children and as well capable of navigating through a tough roadway environment. Coworker relations are great and I am well known and respected by both – more... drivers and upper management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fast paced
Fleet Maintenance Supervisor (Former Employee), Lakewood, NJOctober 8, 2012
Pros: good benefits
Cons: very few holidays off
typical day is 10to 12 hrs long,The hardest part of the job was keeping the fleet up to saftey standardsfor there daily runs
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GOOD PLACE TO WORK
Driver (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLAugust 18, 2012
Pros: very proffessional
Cons: good healthcare 41k
IT WAS A GOOD COMPANY CARE FOR THE EMPLOYES GOOD MANAGEMENT THEY LOST THE CONTACT
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I wouldn't recommend working for Durham
Contract Administrator (Former Employee), Downers Grove, ILAugust 17, 2012
Pros: they are a little flexible on work/home balance
Cons: they do not give annual raises. they just give more work.
It's a very poor place of employment in how they treat their employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a good job.
Driver (Current Employee), Milwaukee, WIJune 13, 2012
- A typical day is coming into work gettin my keys and doing my route.
-Management is ok but needs to be more professional.
-The hardest part of the job is the children.
-The best part of the job is being able to talk to people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An important job with rewards
Certified Trainer/Driver (Former Employee), Lewisville, TXMay 31, 2012
Pros: cultural experiences, comradery
Cons: short hours
I enjoyed the work, the people, the children and the responsibility. It takes certain individuals with patience, observing skills and multi-tasking to pull this off.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good insight into Marketing
Marketing Assistant (Shadowing) (Former Employee), Durham, ENGMay 1, 2014
Assisted in design of the 600th anniversary branding and ad campaigns for Durham School which are now in use.
• Adapted existing knowledge of the school and Marketing theory to target specific demographics that were likely to result in parents enquiring; using primary data.
• Participated in meetings with advertisement agencies to discuss pricing and – more... reach for the available above-the-line mediums (Radio, newspapers and magazines).
• Contributed in product portfolio decisions for the upcoming online shop (including branding decisions).
• Collaborated with a web-design company to aid in the discussion of an interactive timeline for the school’s website; providing my existing knowledge of what current web technologies would be able to achieve. – less