DURHAM SCHOOL Employee Reviews in United States

Found 56 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not very happy with this job. I chose it because of my kids.
School Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Hollywood, SCJuly 10, 2016
They don't care about the individual, they don't back you, and dome of don't make enough to get by. The summers are unexceptable .
Pros
Im home with my kids when they are out of school.
Cons
I don't make enough money to provide or pay my bills.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All in all a good company
Driver (Current Employee) –  Carbondale, ILJuly 9, 2016
Good place to work routes are bid on according to seniority. Buses are kept in good shape by an on site garage. The other drivers are pleasant to be around. Management listens to my concerns when I don't understand something. I enjoy meeting students from all parts of the world.
Pros
Good hours
Cons
Very monotonous
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the job for someone that loves kids
Driver (Current Employee) –  Pflugerville, TXJuly 2, 2016
My typical day at work will go by pretty smooth because I just went to work because I love working with children. The management here wasn't so good, some of the staff were quite rude but then the other drivers and monitors they have a good humor but it is mostly older people just looking for something to do.
Pros
You could definitly get your over time being on a regular route
Cons
No good benifits, special needs drivers dont get many field trips (overtime)
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working with kidz
Bus Monitor (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAJune 30, 2016
well i learned how to work in group , how to stay calm and patient ,the hardest part of the job is maitaining the kidz to stay seated in their sea because we can touch them to sit them down only verbally, i enjoey working with kidz they make my day.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i enjoy talking to my co-workers during break
Bus Aide (Current Employee) –  Carpentersville, ILJune 26, 2016
the hardest part of the job sometimes is when the kids are not having good day but if you talk to them they love to know that we are there for them at the end of the day they like that they are being understand by someone.
Pros
end of the year party
Cons
management sometimes dont care.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job, Hard to live with
School Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Tacoma, WAJune 20, 2016
Job is great and the work is fun and challenging. complete new management is rough and lack of benefits hurt. Split shift and lack of hours plus being seasonal is tough to make ends meet with.
Pros
split shift and seasonal, hourly pay, driving
Cons
split shift and seasonal and bad management
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work
Bus Aide (Former Employee) –  Redford, MIJune 13, 2016
I can honestly say this company became like family to me. Management was the best. The hardest part for me was leaving
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall I enjoy my job because I love children and keeping them safe.
School Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNJune 7, 2016
A typical day at work is enjoyable.This jobs definitely will sharpen recognant skills.Great mgt.The hardest part of this job is it is seasonal.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable and flexable
School Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  East Haven, CTMay 25, 2016
you are not only a teem player you are a family member and make a large impact on the people and city and children you transport the hardest part is extreme weather conditions
Pros
flexabity
Cons
seasonal
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unperfessional
Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  Santa Ana, CAMay 23, 2016
over worked and under paid and GM unprofessional with staff. Expected to do other people jobs with no help. Bus drivers have walked away from this company because of staff and GM.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace.
General Manager (Current Employee) –  Bettendorf, IAMay 11, 2016
The Team of bus drivers is like a family to me. They are dedicated to the kids they deliver, safety and working as a team. These are the things that make it enjoyable to go to work each day.
Cons
too much work for only one person to do
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the biggest bus companies around
Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Wallingford, CTMay 9, 2016
This is a great company to work for just not very much room for expanding. You become a driver you stay a driver. They work with their employees though and provide a safe and fun environment for all employees and people that we transport.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Bus Monitor (Former Employee) –  Huntsville, ALApril 12, 2016
Fun interactive day at work with students and bus driver on a daily basis. Managing the students to and from their destinations. Keeping the students maintained in their seats while the bus is rolling. Also keeping students happy.
Pros
Students happy
Cons
Discipline students
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Environment
Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Indianapolis, INApril 11, 2016
Durham school services is a great place to work. They provide the necessary skills training to become a great coach operator.
Pros
the work schedule especially if you have school aged children
Cons
The Breaks during the school year. i.e. winter, spring, summer, fall breaks and unable to collect unemployment
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Driver (Current Employee) –  Grayslake, ILApril 9, 2016
good place to work i just need more hours great staff and work ethics
works well with my scheduled and if i had a problem they try to fix it right away
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
clean buses and break room
bus aide (Former Employee) –  st louis moApril 9, 2016
learned how to train and and operate medical eguipment needed to take care of special needs children. ride with driver and help with backing up and whatching kids. love the job and working with disabaled students.
Pros
scheduling
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The most enjoyable part of the job?
Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Hutchinson, KSApril 8, 2016
The kids our the most enjoyable part of the job. I love the k-6 children and the singing from the kids. The kids also tell us about their day.
Pros
Taking our buses home.
Cons
Healthcare.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have nothing good day about NEC
cover driver, dispatch, payroll data entry (Current Employee) –  Livermore, CAApril 3, 2016
I cannot say anything nice about National Express - so I have nothing to say, The staff in Livermore is great, however, we are not treated fairly by Hayward - and are not given newer equipment or even have buses replaced that Corporate will not pay to repair. We are left to fend for ourselves.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company to work for
School Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Chattanooga, TNMarch 28, 2016
Great for single person or person with older children that are capapble of getting off to school safely.
Company does allow children to ride bus with parent to go to school
Family attitude company
Pros
Children are allowed to ride bus with parent
Cons
no benefits available
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working with Special Needs children
School Bus Monitor (Former Employee) –  Aurora, ILMarch 16, 2016
It was nice, but wanted to more for myself. I am Certified in Microsoft Office and would like employment in that area.The work environment was nice for the most part, but there was no Unity with the staff and employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at DURHAM SCHOOL. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 57 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.2
Culture
3.6