Dutchess Community College Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 22 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internship
PEER TUTOR (Former Employee) –  Poughkeepsie, NYJune 12, 2016
This was an internship, basically. We barely got paid, though I suppose being paid at all is a good thing for interns. Everyone who ran the writing center was great, and we had good times including conferences and things, but the school as a whole was poorly organized, the writing center was a disaster, and half the time we were just winging it.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average
High School Equivalency Instructor (Current Employee) –  Poughkeepsie, NYMay 10, 2016
I enjoyed most of my coworkers, and the work environment was average. Plenty of time off, but no benefits for community service staff, and little room for upward mobility.
Pros
short hours
Cons
no benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice for Students
Student Account Representative (Current Employee) –  Poughkeepsie, NYApril 25, 2016
They are very flexible with hours. You get to work in a professional setting with little pressure. Learn new skills that can be applied to the workforce after graduation
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quality Educational Institution
Assistant Professor (Current Employee) –  Poughkeepsie, NYApril 22, 2016
Quality Education Institution, where the faculty and staff are dedicated to assisting students achieve success in their academic endeavors, and to prepare students for their future career.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Computer Lab Help Desk (Current Employee) –  Poughkeepsie, NYMarch 21, 2016
Good to have some teachers here. Help is always available. Helping troubled students get through their problems feels great.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dutchess summary
Peer mentor (Former Employee) –  Poughkeepsie, NYJanuary 14, 2016
Beautiful school but horribly organized. Working here was bad, they didn't have any benefits and in addition, the pay period was always confused.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Organization
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and lay back
Student Aid, Educational Opportunity Program (EOP) (Former Employee) –  Poughkeepsie, NYJune 3, 2015
- I learn how to deal with custumers and figure out what there need were.
- Great management
- Great co-workers
- There weren't any hard part in the beside making calls for appointments.
- fun and one of the greatest place to work.
Pros
Not stressful
Cons
making phone calls
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent source of education. Teachers are always willing to assist you and want you to succeed.
Testing Lab Monitor/Proctor (Current Employee) –  Poughkeepsie, NYMay 13, 2015
I would recommend Dutchess Community College as excellent place for any high school student to begin their future goals. The teachers are always willing to assist you and their goal is to make sure students are successful in the class.
Pros
Education
Cons
A lot of reading.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Getting educated and working at DCC...
Computer Help Desk Lab Technician (Current Employee) –  Poughkeepsie, NYApril 24, 2015
It's been a good couple of years here. I truly appreciate DCC after spending time at another community college. It's a beautiful campus.
Pros
Relaxed environment.
Cons
Food choices here are terrible.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great interaction with fellow students
Tutor (Former Employee) –  Poughkeepsie, NYDecember 2, 2014
Tutor students in Spanish and help them achieve their goal in passing the course.
Pros
share knowledge and skills in my native language
Was this review helpful?YesNo1

Want to know more about Dutchess Community College?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work.
Student Ambassador (Former Employee) –  PoughkeepsieNovember 14, 2014
Attending meetings was always pleasant, exposing potential students and parents to the great activities the college offers and being part of the team felt great.
Pros
helped with student loans
Cons
few hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-workers and Support Staff are excellent
Instructor in Behavioral Sciences (Current Employee) –  Poughkeepsie, NYJuly 7, 2014
Most days one can simply go into work, meet with the secretary, pick up any materials one needs to and go into the classroom and teach. I've always got my prep-work done. Working with other faculty and staff is almost always easy: by simply emailing the required documents it's possible to get tests, papers, etc duplicated on time and sent on to the right office for class. Computers are available for instructors to use. The Director of my department is a reasonable, amiable guy who is easy to talk to if one has any questions about policy or if an issue with a student comes up. The best part of the job is simply the teaching--I love to teach and do it well. The hardest part of the job is the lack of security, low pay and relative distance between the common instructor and upper levels of administration, many of whom have never taught in a classroom.
Pros
flexibility, good atmosphere, good students
Cons
poor pay and low job security
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tutoring - Good Experience
Tutor (Former Employee) –  Poughkeepsie, NYJune 16, 2014
Enjoyed my time tutoring mathematics but had to stop due to time constraints.
Pros
work around your availability.
Cons
takes time from studying
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
EMS Instructor (Current Employee) –  Poughkeepsie, NYMay 29, 2014
Well organized and excellent workplace. Great staff and facilities.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to be
Front Desk Assistant (Former Employee) –  Poughkeepsie, NYNovember 17, 2013
Meeting new people was always fun. Coworker were easy to work with and very easy to relate to.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Site Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Poughkeepsie, NYSeptember 24, 2013
Very nice work environment filled with great co-workers and very fair supervisors. A great place to work.
Pros
good co workers
Cons
tough hours at times
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Top Notch Educational Institution
Instructor (Former Employee) –  Poughkeepsie, NYAugust 28, 2013
It was a pleasure to be able to help my students understand the techniques of Sound Recording in a top notch learning environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning experience
Student Aide in security (Former Employee) –  Poughkeepsie new yorkApril 23, 2013
I learned a lot working at the college in the security office.
Pros
good learning experience
Cons
student aides aren't paid enough
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic
Student Aide, Peer Tutor, Writing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Poughkeepsie, NYApril 22, 2013
Great place to work! No two days are ever the same! Flexible hours and educational opportunities
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work and earn a degree
Student Aide, Intern (Former Employee) –  Poughkeepsie, NYJanuary 10, 2013
i loved working and going to school here. I just wished I didn't move out of the state and found work in my career field of office assistant.
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 22 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture