DUVAL COUNTY HEALTH DEPARTMENT Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Medical Assistant/ Laboratory Technologist I (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLSeptember 18, 2017
Fast paced environment. Meet new people of different cultures. Learned many different procedures. Assisted in processing refugees.
Performed TB tests under RN supervision.
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work if you work for the State.
Personnel Technician I (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLAugust 4, 2017
Professional, Fast pace work place, Policies and Procedures are often update so you have to attend many training sessions. Can be demanding at times but overall a great place to work if you plan on retiring from the state.
Pros
Stable, reliable
Cons
Stressful, demanding.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provides needed services to the community
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLAugust 3, 2017
The community was provided with needed services for which I was grateful to be a part of. Working with limited resources is always a challenge but one does become resourceful with experience and networking.
Pros
Being helpful across the board.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.Bringing in the revenue from the various contracted and non-contract vendors
Accountant II (Current Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLApril 6, 2017
Bringing in the revenue from the various contracted and non-contract vendors. Talking and helping our clients understand the billing inquires or concerns they may have.
Pros
The job itself is a challenge everyday and I love helping people.
Cons
The pay can be a whole lot better.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Medical Billing
Medical Billing Clerk (Current Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLFebruary 9, 2017
I review medical notes and see why we need to appeal different DX codes make sure all the claims are getting filed and to make sure if the accounts are paid
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
To interact with my clients in person
Senior Clerk (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLJanuary 30, 2017
A typical day at work was hardworking
I learned management skills
Management was very organized
The workplace culture was very friendly
The hardest part of the job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
internship
Dental Biller (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLJanuary 25, 2017
At the time I found it to be a little unorganized. I enjoyed my brief time there. I was welcomed and treated fairly. I learned how to decipher various insurance bills and how to work with various dental insurance companies.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kids 'n Care
Senior Clerk (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLSeptember 22, 2016
it was great working intake for the only Foster Care clinic in Florida. we did a lot of amazing things for children who were less fortunate. it was an experience i'll never forget. sad to see the program ended.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it
NCMA Externship (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLAugust 7, 2016
I really enjoyed working at the women's and children's center. I learned so much from the doctors and nurses. It was clean and they showed so much compassion to the families.
Pros
Great staff
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job security
Medical Assistant (Current Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLFebruary 15, 2016
very good place to work being that you actually do learn a lot, but job security is not so good due to the fact that whenever money runs low the possibility of you getting laid off is high.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
OPS, Fiscal Assistant II (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLJanuary 28, 2016
Working at the Health Department was an experience that I will never forget. The services that were provide were amazing and the associates really did care.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and fun place to work
Senior Clerical Specialist (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLDecember 17, 2015
Very family oriented workplace , your co worker make you feel right at home. Management always want to see you better yourself weather it's career or school. Recommend this workplace to anyone.
Pros
Verygood medical benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very deversified Work Place
Accountant II Lead (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLNovember 4, 2015
Working at Duval County Heatlh Department allowed to to gain the experience I needed in Medical Billing. Because of the its fast pace work conditions I was able to multi-task and learn to work very well on my own.
Pros
I didnt have to wear uniforms
Cons
Was not a permanent position
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pharmacy technician
pharmacy techinican (Current Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLSeptember 16, 2015
Interacts with customers and resolves problems related to customer prescription inquiries.

Assist the pharmacist in processing, interpreting, and entering prescriptions.
Pros
I love the field I work in
Cons
Pay, Stress, Less staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fun laid back
Billing and Insurance claims (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLAugust 9, 2015
I loved my job being able to satisfy patients and insurance providers was the best part of my job. Working around helpful co workers made it enjoyable
Pros
working in a comfortable environment
Cons
No Cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding
Nutrition Educator (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLMay 4, 2015
Each day I would council pregnant women or mothers with their children. I would review their dietary recall and offer suggesting when needed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice people
EXTERNSHIP (Former Employee) –  jacksonville,floridaFebruary 13, 2015
The people in the office were great. Always a smile on there face and an open heart. I learned so much from all of those who worked at the office
Pros
billing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really enjoyed my job until new management took over.
Director of Clinical Operations (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLJanuary 21, 2015
This is a very disorganized, unpleasant place to work. The management style is to intimidate rather that collaborate. I really enjoyed my job until the new management took over.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace
Medical Assistant/Help Support Tech (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLAugust 27, 2014
loved everything an everybody learned a lot from different it was great working there
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Senior Clerk (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FlAugust 6, 2014
Enjoyed working for the Duval County Health Department. The managers were very professional and easy to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at DUVAL COUNTY HEALTH DEPARTMENT. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 40 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.8
Culture
3.9

DUVAL COUNTY HEALTH DEPARTMENT Reviews by Location