Find companies:
Dyson
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
29 reviews

Dyson Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Keep looking
Marketing (Former Employee), Chicago, ILFebruary 14, 2014
Pros: discount on cool products
Cons: it's adult day care
Not a fun place to work. Expectation is you dedicate your life to Dyson, that is it s privilege to work there and employees are not valued as assets. There's no training or career development. They constantly look outside the company versus promoting from within. Management constantly changes and the company is a revolving door, the only constant is – more... James Dyson. They try had to create a unique culture, talk about wrong thinking, but it's a typical company at the end of the day. There's no flexibility, so don't come in late or try to leave early. Most people only stay one and most two years, rare to find someone with more than three years experience. Unless they are from the UK. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and talented workplace.
Associate Production Manager (Former Employee), Chicago, ILSeptember 25, 2013
Fast paced environment. Interaction with all departments and all levels. Management of external vendors as well as internal clients. Resident expert on materials, costs and timing for all POP & POS displays and collateral. Very approachable management. Extremely talented and friendly co-workers. The amount of active projects going at once. The freedom – more... to manage my workload as I saw fit. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Freedom at a technology company
Demonstrator (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLAugust 23, 2013
Pros: great pay, the best employee discount i have ever had, ability to take time off every month
Cons: part time job so no benefits
Dyson was a great company to work for because employees are given a lot of freedom to accomplish objectives. The company pays employees well and the products are fun and easy to sell.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Design Engineer at Dyson
Senior Innovation Engineer (Current Employee), Malmesbury, ENGAugust 14, 2013
Pros: creative environment, freedom to explore ideas. motivated, dynamic staff
Cons: poor progression.prospects. significantly below average engineering salaries
Fantastic environment for a creative engineer with ideas. Genuinely passionate staff. Particularly low engineering salaries reflects job demand, prestige and lack of other employers in the wiltshire area.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Steppingstone
Customer Experience Specialist (Current Employee), Aurora, ILJuly 18, 2013
Dyson is a great company started by an innovator. A typical day at work introduces you to several people eager to register their new "Cadillac of Vacuums". I've learned that the best way to ascertain customer satisfaction is to educate your customers. The hardest part of the job is having to say no. The most enjoyable part of the job is showing a customer – more... how much they can do on thier own. The management team focuses a lot on numbers and often times you feel like a number. That's the only bad part! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
National Account Sales Manager (Former Employee), Hudson, WIJune 12, 2013
Pros: discounts on technology
Cons: not for those not liking a fast past environment
Fantastic technology! Very innovative designs where function drives everything. People are fresh thinkers and are not afraid to fail.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
James Dyson is a visionary and creates great opportunities
Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJanuary 1, 2013
Pros: great helping your focus and communication in general
Cons: low pay for work, did not like the way they gave short notice on move of call center which left me jobless.
Dyson had a month long training i say it should be called a boot camp. I learned how to listen attentively and question skillfully. I also learned to pull out what the customer is trying to say when troubleshooting and maintain a high level of performance in a minimal time. Never missed the paid for performance bonus.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a poor place to work.
Customer Experience Representative (Former Employee), Chicago, ILAugust 14, 2012
Pros: company sponsored events
Cons: poor pay and poor management
This is an extremely poor company to work for, they are poorly managed, they are racist and they are very segregated. The customer service department is treated like garbage, they handle everything from trouble shooting, processing refunds, setting up customer repairs etc, etc and are only paid $13.50hr. Most companies are paying about 16hr for what – more... they are doing. They bought in a bunch of temps which started out at $13hr and after about 7 or 8 months of stringing them along they finally hired them and reduced their pay to $12hr and they only decided to hire them because a lot of their staff quit after announcing it's move to Aurora. And to add insult to injury they are moving the company to Aurora because they want to add a "New face" to the company meaning there is to many blacks working in the call center. The supervisors are not helpful, the team leads don't want to help and you are pretty much on your own. They only provide a 30 minute lunch and two 10 minute breaks which sucks!!! I wish I never went to work for this company and unless this is a last resort for you I wouldn't advise you to work here either because you will definitely regret it unless you are not working in the call center. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would not work here or recommend them to anyone.
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Chicago, ILJuly 31, 2012
Pros: 4 day work week, benefits ie: vacation, sick and insurance are all great.
Cons: overworked, underpaid and they treat you like a second class citizen.
A typical work day is a muddled mess of politics and upper management that does not work well together. I learned that I do not desire to work for Dyson moving forward. I met a lot of good people and enjoyed my time here and I have build relationships that are sure to last the sands of time. The hardest part of the job was never getting a consistent – more... message from the top down and the most enjoyable would be the people. I really feel that there are good people that work there but they were not allowed to advance or share ideas so most move on. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy, young environment
Fixed Asset Accountant (Current Employee), MalmesburyApril 18, 2014
Busy, young environment
Great experience in the manufacturing industry, everyone at Dyson is very friendly and have flexible working attitudes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Day to day responsibilities
Reliability Reporting Data Analyst (Current Employee), Malmesbury, ENGMarch 17, 2014
• Responsible for delivering reliability reports and communicating these to the Reliability manager and other areas of the business.
- Analyze SQL/RIS queries in order to determine reliability concerns, highlight these to the relevant project teams/departments and work closely with them to solve any issues.
- Undertake necessary research into these – more... findings in order to determine the best possible fixes for these issues.
- Make proposals which will improve reliability issues and potentially save the business money.
- Complete audits and product inspections in order to get a first hand experience of potential issues.
• Responsible for creating and maintaining diagnostic call scripting for helpline users.
- Run analysis reports on how the diagnostic system is used and suggest possible changes to improve usability/productiveness.
- Advise the Helpline of any new potential issues that need addressing and work with the I.T department to implement these changes into the call scripting.
- Hold meetings and discussions with other members of the Helpline to raise and issues/concerns with the diagnostic program
- Provide training and additional material in order to support the Helpline.

• Co-ordinating the trialing of new products in order to take a pro-active approach to discovering potential reliability concerns/issues.
- Creating reports to support these theories using a wide range of materials including charts, graphs and PowerPoint presentations.
- Inputting and sorting data collected from the trials and presenting these to various project teams.

• Undertake audits of new products to ensure these meet the required specifications.
- Check machines thoroughly for any faults or defects and report these back to the reliability manager.
- Ensure all packaging and insets are to spec and report and issues to the relevant departments.

• Produce product failure reports for customer liaison team detailing the cause of failure and provide testing documentation to support these claims. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Surveyor planner (Current Employee), BrighouseFebruary 25, 2014
Invoicing and arranging surveys for surveyors.
inputting data, arranging hotels and transfers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a typical work place
Part-Time Brand Ambassador (Former Employee), kuala lumpurOctober 26, 2013
The pay for this company is good. Is hard to promote as some of the Dyson products would have out of stock when the customer want to buy it in store.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Manager (Former Employee), MarkhamOctober 25, 2013
Great place to work. Good culture, people, Senior management is excellent.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed being outside/ co-workers
Cavity Wall Installer (Former Employee), crawleySeptember 30, 2013
Pros: paid holiday/bonuses
Cons: stuck in traffic
Following job role according to contract, policies and procedures, health and safety. How to work as a team member as well as an individual when required, the amount training required. To follow instructions as given, to attend meetings,training as relevant. Understand that management have a duty to their role. Communication is necessary between co-workers – more... when working as a team member. When customers have a discrepancy it is necessary to write a written report which takes time, I would not always have the time to complete this and would therefore need to complete after my allocated finishing time. Co-workers, customers satisfaction, feedbacks. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review about work
Graduate Electronics Research Engineer (Current Employee), Malmesbury, ENGAugust 20, 2013
The work at my current employment is very extensive in terms of the possibilities to learn. Various fields to cover at once and interesting work with people of different departments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun place to work
Assembly Operator leader (Former Employee), Birmingham, ENGAugust 20, 2013
Pros: good hours
Cons: there is none
assemble hoovers make sure they worked if you had a problem management would come & help most enjoyable part was working with others & very freindly atmosphere
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to Work for. Never worked for one better.
Demonstrator (Current Employee), ShropshireAugust 15, 2013
Pros: really care for thier employee's. support & training is fantastic.
Cons: would like more hours
Love it. I love working for Dyson & in the Stores I am allocated to work in. Communication from Dyson is 24-7. Always someone available even Co. Workers if needed for advice etc.Great on Line Site for Employees plus all the information I need to do my Job. They look after us really well & help & support is always there if you need it. (Not that I Have – more... yet). I Love working in the Stores as you become part of another Team but the most enjoyable Part is dealing with the Customers in Store. I love that. Especially when you know you have made there day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and forward thinking, but poor management
Senior R&D Scientist and Team Leader (Former Employee), Malmesbury, ENGJuly 10, 2013
Loved working at Dyson, my first real job. Had great fun with the colleagues as place had fantastic atmosphere. However, the management (back in 2005) could be ruthless, every year there was what was named "The Christmas Cull", where those not in favour would be thrown out (made redundant) as quickly as possible. Apparently better now!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture
Customer Advisor (Current Employee), Malmesbury, ENGJune 11, 2013
Dyson has an excellent working culture. Co workers all have the same can-do attitude. A typical day is busy, never boring, and can be fun at times.

About Dyson

Inventors. Heroes. Wrong thinkers. Problem solvers. Dyson is a place for the unconventional. Frustrated with a Hoover that – Read more