Find companies:
E*Trade Financial
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
68 reviews

E*Trade Financial Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Analysis Focused
Fraud Prevention Strategist (Former Employee), Jersey City, NJDecember 23, 2013
Fraud Policy Development and Implementation
Vendor Management
Data Mining and Analysis
Investigations and Root Cause Analysis
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful work enviroment great company to work for
Internet Specialist (Former Employee), Hiram, GADecember 23, 2013
Pros: free coffee!
Cons: i missed my family back home, no local friends
I enjoyed working for Etrade. They were located in Atlanta GA, and I had moved there by myself and lived alone. Typical work day was addressing customer concerns and helping them with technical support related issues. Co workers where all college educated and a pleasure to work with. Hardest part of the job was to not drink too much of the free cappuccino – more... coffee. The most enjoyable part of the job was the impressive campus and work environment, and the positive attitude of management and coworkers alike. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok for a fast paces introduction to the securities industry and trading
SENIOR FINANCIAL SERVICES REPRESENTATIVE (Current Employee), Alpharetta, GANovember 11, 2013
Pros: learning about the industry
Cons: call center environment, fast paced and serious environment
Customer service is a high volumn non stop call center
New to industry learned alot
Management was ok
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fund and ping pong tournament
Restricted stock (Former Employee), Jersey City, NJSeptember 24, 2013
Pros: pot luck lunch where everyone brought in a dish
Cons: all work and no play
an enjoyable work place with caring co-workers. supervisor was pain to get along with, but it was my co-workers that got me through the day
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
QA Analyst/Tester
QA Analyst/Tester (Former Employee), Boston, MASeptember 11, 2013
Worked as QA Analyst/Tester on the Web Based Projects EDTS (Equity Desk Trading System)
PTMS (Portfolio Trading Management System) for the On-line Brokerage Etrade. Etrade specializes as a premier On-line brokerage service catering to various small, medium investors and its regular clients to trade in Stocks, call and put Options. Application provides – more... users with a capability of On-line trading, maintaining their portfolios, Stocks and Research Quotes, Updated markets news of the Fixed Income, Equities and Derivatives. The project involved testing the functionality, integration of various modules and system integrity testing – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Absolutely incredible work environment
Day Trader (Former Employee), onlineSeptember 6, 2013
Pros: work was made fun.
Cons: recession job cuts
Face paced work environment, boat casino cruises, immense opportunity to meet new people, major accomplishments under team work, constant development of accounting skills, helped enable the motto 'Think fast, think productive, cut loses, increase financial turn over'.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culture? What culture?
manager (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 19, 2013
The culture of this company can be summed up as "I am the boss and I do whatever I want". HR is useless - they don't listen to worker bees only to managers and up. No confidentiality guaranteed either. Some people work 12+ hours a day and some spend days browsing. If you want to feel unequal employment get in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Merger issues
Vice President of Information Technology (Former Employee), Huntington Beach, CAJuly 2, 2013
After the merger LoansDirect, ETrade Financial, management changed. There were too changes to the dynamic environment prior to the merger.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good team and great place to work.
Senior Staff QA Engineer (Current Employee), menlopark ,CAJune 21, 2013
My daily work schedule is writing selenium/Ruby script for web page testing using SELAF framework and also Selenium webdriver,Eclipse,TestNG test case for Etrade API and also automate the ETPRO testcases using squish automation tool. Analyse the regression automation failure, raise defect in defect management tool or raise itrack in case environment – more... issue. Follow up with the functional QA and rerun the test case and make it pass. Generate reports to upper management on the regression run status (Automation Report) also the collection of productvity report for the team meeting. Handle any adhoc request comes to our team. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not an encouraging place to work
Senior Operations Analyst (Current Employee), Jersey City, NJMay 11, 2013
Pros: accommodations based on hours
Cons: the uneasiness of management
Overall the company itself is okay. I like their concept (the whole trading on-line thing made easy for those whom never traded before). However when it comes to the culture well that's a whole different story. I resent condescending people especially when it's someone you have to report too. A very sarcastic, know it all in their eyes that assume you're – more... inferior to them. I guess I didn't get the memo when I was told they own the company because you would think they do by the way they behave. Management suppose to be people that are easy going and easy to work with. I do not feel they represent that notion, again I am only speaking of the management I interface with. So, if you like to be talked down to as if you are an adolescent, be my guess join the group. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place for entry level
Senior Corporate Services (Current Employee), Alpharetta, GAMay 10, 2013
Pros: able to obtain certifications, work life balance, easy place to begin your career
Cons: no room for advancement outside of customer service, micro management
This is a good company to get your foot in the door in the financial industry, but not a place to build a career long term. Micro management as well as limited positions for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Fallen Star...
The Business-Side of Things (Former Employee), Menlo Park, CAApril 29, 2013
Pros: website
Cons: "d"-team employees
Best house on the worst block. Company does some things well such as website and branding. Personnel is "uninspiring." Bottom-up driven org where lower levels come up with strategy. Think office-space environment for culture. Pedigree is mostly absent across board.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging
PRODUCT MARKETING LEAD, SENIOR MANAGER (Former Employee), Menlo Park, CAApril 11, 2013
This review references my experience back in early 2000 before the dotcom bubble. With their high profile Super Bowl ads, the company definitely had a confidence and swagger about it and it started with the very talented marketing team. The work was challenging, the hours were long, but I learned a lot from those around me. I've heard that the culture – more... may have changed quite a bit since, but that's for someone else to comment on... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You can compete in sports leagues with co-workers.
Senior Financial Services Representative (Current Employee), Alpharetta, GAMarch 24, 2013
Pros: good benefits
Cons: short lunches
E*TRADE is a team environment with people who are willing to help you accomplish a task.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great entry company to finance and markets
Financial Services Representative (Current Employee), Sandy, UTMarch 23, 2013
Pros: exposure to numerous markets and finance conditions
Cons: operations and bureaucracy, poor review process, more sales focused han customer service
Call center location, 8 to 10 hours on the phone with customer who have questions about the markets, banking transactions, tax questions, cost basis questions.
Management tries very hard. However they have very little impact on daily operations or challenges. There is a big lack of consisentcy
People are all educated. More skilled workers seem to leave – more... for better companies.
Sitting all day is the worst part of the job. You become seditary and it takes a toll on your health. No company initiative for movement or alternative working space (standing work stations) or onsite gyms or long breaks to allow for movement.

The best part of the job is the initial training. They pay for the series 7 and 63. They do a great job of getting you through the test. After that all training seems to stop and you are left to figure out the rest. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun place to work at
Sr. Systems Engineer/Market data Engineer (Current Employee), Alpharetta, GAMarch 22, 2013
Pros: great people, work environment, and flexibility.
Cons: not enough training
ETRADE is probably one of my favorite place to work at. I'd really enjoy having a fun and supportive team to work with. There are always so much going on but everyone is there to assist when you need them. Though, there are a lot of projects to work on simultaneously, it keeps you on the edge and allows you to learn something new everyday. I think the – more... most challenging part is learning to work well with other teams but have them follow certain software development life cycle guidelines. But if you're able to develop a good relationships with other teams it makes every project more smooth and productive. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a day in the life of a rep
Financial Services Representative (Former Employee), Sandy, UTMarch 11, 2013
Pros: time
Cons: pay
great foot in the door to help learn about the industry. People help you study for series 7 and 63 licenses and they are very helpful. Work can be boring but it pays the bills. co workers are friendly and hardest part of job is sovling issues when clients in your headphones waiting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to start for college grad but won't be a career
CS Team Lead (Former Employee), Alpharetta, GAMarch 8, 2013
Pros: stable...pay okay
Cons: no advancement
Most ppl starts from entry level, which is great for college grad. But it is very difficult to get advancement. Your job performance bases mainly on how well you can 'sell' a financial consultant to customer. They give you training to make sure you can be put on the phone, then hardly get anything to help you improve.

And in a lot of situation, you – more... are forced to deliver poor customer service b/c some of the works must be done by the other teams who regularly reject any work you submitted so that ther is one less thing for them to do. Not to mention that some colleagues will tell you to your face that they won't help you and to some extentm just hang up on you.

Like any call center environment, it can be stressful to make sure you get to work early enough to get the slow running compuer ready for you to clock in in time. Many managers are micromanage and very demanding. Even they know (I assume thet do) they can't get both quality and quantity up without compromising the time facor. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and liberated environment
Day Trade Investor (Current Employee), Mobile, ALJanuary 25, 2013
- Fun entity with areas for growth
- I manage my own portfolios
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service and Sales
Financial Services Representative (Current Employee), Sandy, UTDecember 11, 2012
The company starts you out in Customer Service and expects you to feed leads to Financial Consultants. Management focuses mainly on the sales portion while completely ignoring the customer service you are providing. If you do well in sales, you can move to other departments. If you do not provide enough sales leads, they look for ways to make you miserable. – more... Highly micromanaged company. They pay you enough to keep staying at the job, but your advancement is dependent on office politics. – less

About E*Trade Financial

E*TRADE is an innovative financial services company offering a full suite of easy-to-use online brokerage, investing and related – Read more