Find companies:
EMT
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
101 reviews

EMT Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helping others in their worst circumstances
Emergency Medical Technician (Former Employee), Jasper, FLApril 12, 2014
Pros: chance to help others, benefits, flexible hours
Cons: mentally taxing, emotionally difficult days
Long periods of quiet inactivity abruptly interrupted by shear chaos. Helped people on the worst days of their lives through traumatic accidents and extreme illness. I enjoyed being able to help patients and ensure their safe arrival at the hospital, but some times the stress was profound. Saving lives is an amazing experience, and immensely rewarding, – more... but it does come at great cost. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
EMT/Medical Technician
Medical Technician (Current Employee), Barksdale AFB, LouisianaApril 2, 2014
I love nothing more than to see a patient smile and be satisfied with their care. I do all in my power to see that everyone receives the care they need. I have learned that the key to patient care is building rapport. In a short time you must make them know and feel that you are there to care for them mentally, physically and emotionally. When you come – more... upon a patient, you are seeing them at their most vulnerable time. Seeing a patient joke, laugh, open up...makes it all worth while.
I have had to opportunity to work with some of the most amazing people! Doctors, nurses, medics, pilots, etc. Every aspect of the medical field, flight crews and command in general make my job something I love and never want to give up. It is never easy to see a fellow Soldier injured in any shape, way or form, but knowing I can make a difference makes my career choice worth every minute. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
emt/firefighter
Firefighter 1 (Former Employee), Hudson, NHMarch 31, 2014
what can be said

richly rewarding saving lives

downside is union driven

age is deterrent when seeking employment later in life
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall, a good job.
Paramedic (Former Employee), Lake Isabella and Kernville, CAMarch 20, 2014
Pros: being a preceptor
Cons: the selling of the company.
The typical assignment is all responses as dispatched. Training was good. The field supervisors were fair. Most of the working personnel were good at their jobs, new personnel, as usual, needed help. (There's nothing wrong with that, that's how you learn) The hardest part of the job was waiting for the boss to sell the company. On the other hand, in – more... the bosses defense, he told me when I was haired that the company was for sale. It was a good company and he was a good boss. The best part of the job was working with the new personnel. They were right out of school so you, as an experienced employee, had better have an answer for their questions. It was funny to watch some of the "experienced" personnel grimace. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Thrilling
VOLUNTEER (Former Employee), Silver Lake, WIMarch 9, 2014
Excellent experience. I learned good assessment skills and was on call overnight and weekends.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great contractor job
Express medical transportation (Former Employee), arnald mo.March 6, 2014
Pros: giving back to the elderly, and tax write offs
Cons: bring wheel chair patients down steps
i started working when every i wanted to as a independent contractor,i transported patients to and from doctors appointments,used wheel chair lift for disable clients,the hardest part of the job was coming down stepts with wheel chair patients,the best part of the jod was helping people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well structured safe place
EMT-Basic (Former Employee), Redding, CAFebruary 25, 2014
watched over the park to ensure safety of individuals, I was able to work outdoors and interact with the general public
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Independent Contractor
Driver (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOFebruary 9, 2014
Pros: great communication with one another
Cons: inconsistent pay
I worked for this company and I still have a great relationship with the person over the contractors. I've even been asked to come back at times and even asked not to leave when I did put my notice in. Although I was my own supervisor, the coordinator who was over the drivers, always made me feel like she cared. Although we my try to keep our personal – more... life issues away for our work they still sometimes intertwine. And the coordinator there showed she cared then and still cares. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Emergency Medical Technician (Former Employee), Riverside, CAFebruary 7, 2014
Pros: helping people.
Cons: odd hours
Working on an ambulance was awesome. Some days you can go a whole shift with one or two calls, some days you're nonstop all day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding but can be a rewarding job at times
EMT (Current Employee), Riverside, CAFebruary 2, 2014
Pros: good feeling at the end of the day that you helped someone.
Cons: poor managment and stress
You can never tell what the day will bring as far as the calls you will run. I have learned alot from this job but there is really no advancement opportunities. I would reccomend working as an EMT toi gain experience but then move on to nursing or PA.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great enviroment. Great people to work with. I enjoyed going to work.
EMT Basic (Former Employee), Texas and FloridaJanuary 27, 2014
Pros: you learn from your paramedic
Cons: as a emt i really had no cons. other than long work hours. and being away from my family
As a EMT you learn from your Paramedic. I was a EMT Basic for many years before I became a Paramedic. I had many wonderful Paramedic partners that had been medics for many yrs. And they taught me a lot. I wanted to know, and learn a lot on the Paramedic end before I went to school to obtain my Paramedic.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
EMT
emt (Former Employee), Rayville, LAJanuary 18, 2014
Pros: down time.
Cons: workmanship
Its a EMS service. The work is typical of every other ambulance service in the field. Long hours lack of sleep. Good employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great entry level job
BLS Driver (Current Employee), Owings Mill, MDJanuary 14, 2014
Pros: out on the road during shift
Cons: shifts cut early sometimes
Job is great, management cuts shifts in order to save money, not reliable for full time employment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
weekly meetings monthyly dinners. Sunday morning fundraisers pancake breakfast for the community
EMTB (Former Employee), Cromwell, CTJanuary 7, 2014
Pros: learned how to be a team player, learning that it takes more than 1 person for success
Cons: seeing people in my community in need of the emergency service
Was a member of the fire dept. worked a 6hr shift on Sunday mornings. Very much enjoyed working with all of the members of the dept.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working in healthcare and retail are very exciting with customer service
Instructor for NCTI (Current Employee), Garland, TXJanuary 7, 2014
Pros: amazing co workers, learning new things everyday, customer service
Cons: while working on the ambulance we do not get breaks at all to eat during the 12hr busy shifts.
Learning how to work with large companies and all the changes that happen. The most enjoyable part is dealing with customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Exciting days
Medic One Ambulance Service (Former Employee), Jonesboro, ARDecember 28, 2013
Pros: some very late nights and having to be back in the morning.
Cons: best job anyone could ask for.
I would check in with dispatch then start cleaning and stocking entire ambulance. Drove ambulance to and from emergency and non-emergency sites. Assisted partner with medical needs as per my protocol and patient needs. Stocked and cleaned ambulance after every call. Documented on paper as well as computer patient information and assessments done throughout – more... entire ambulance ride. Gave report over radio to dispatchers on all calls. I had a wonderful partner that could teach anybody any part of his job if needed. My boss's were all wonderful, fun but strict and by the book. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
EMT/Paramedic Student
EMT (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PADecember 20, 2013
I am currently an EMT in Paramedic school. I've been an active EMT for a little less than a year. I am willing to learn more. I am very hard working and dedicated to my job. I've already have started doing an internship in an ER Mercy Fitzgerald hospital. I am very familiar with setting up ECGs, AquaCheks, and starting IVs. For the past couple of months – more... I have been trying to get into a good a reputable hospital. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
EMT was voluntary
Volunteer EMT/Fire Fighter (Former Employee), TexasDecember 17, 2013
Pros: felt like i helped people
Cons: no pay
There is nothing to really review; I volunteered occassionally as an EMT for a few years at different departments.
Rode the ambulance and assisted persons as needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy large patient care workload
EMT (Current Employee), Aurora ColoradoDecember 16, 2013
Pros: great variety in work load
Cons: would like to work more in er and ambulance team
At present work as independent EMT in interventional radiology with large patient work load placing 10-20 IV's a day and taking care of all primary medical patient care with no supervision. Incharge of all training of Radiology Techs, maintain and utilize all medical supplies and equiptment and assessment and treatment of patient care needs including – more... Codes, Anaphlaxis,and other major medical problems. I also work part time in ER as a Tech and Lab as a phlebotomist. Great with working alone or with a team. Currently ACLS.Pals,NRP, IV,EKG, and CPR certified. I love my Job for I was able to create it into what it is today and was given the ability to change and modify it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My co-workers were great to work with
Ambulance Driver (911) (Former Employee), Natick, MADecember 13, 2013
Pros: lots of discounts on car and home insurance, phone service, and other companies such as rebok, and oakley glasses.
Cons: management was horrible it was like they wanted to lose contracts.
I met a lot of great people being an EMT for 6 years. It really helped me strengthen my customer service skills as we dealt with hospital staff, families, and the patients. Unfortunately AMR did not have a good management system. They lost contract after contract to other Ambulance companies. I do miss working for them but do to all the loss of contracts – more... the company is not doing well constantly laying people off. In fact I am not even sure if they are even in business anymore as Brewster Ambulance has taken over most areas now. – less

1 2 3 4 5