Find companies:
EMT
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
123 reviews

EMT Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Location 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best place to work
Certified Firefighter (Former Employee), Arcadia, INAugust 20, 2014
Pros: great schedule
Cons: low pay, no chance for advancement.
Underpaid and not given a chance for full-time advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amercan Ambulance
Emt, Medic first aid instructo (Former Employee), Fresno Ca.August 13, 2014
Pros: family envirnment
Cons: very dangerous
Just as I had stated before. Wonderful upper management, Everyone was great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Security Officer (Current Employee), Scottsdale,AZJuly 25, 2014
Job is great. Great coworkers and management really listens to staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A stepping stone to further a career in the medical field
EMT-Basic (Former Employee), Omaha, NEJuly 21, 2014
Pros: experience
Cons: little pay, little sleep, high stress
A job that i learned to respect because the reason we are their is to help the people that are sick, dying, and need help one way or the other. Helping those in desperate need to get better or simply get a ride home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job for helping people
Captain (Current Employee), Crown Point, INJuly 14, 2014
great job if you like to help people. Takes a unique person to tough out the challenges but many step up and are great at it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends on my day ?
Unit secretary (Former Employee), Downey, CAJuly 8, 2014
Pros: great co-workers
Cons: dept. morale wasn't good in the dept
Always fun to come in and save someones life, and make a difference in someones life. A typical day varies depends on many factors such as how many patients, any acute patients in the dept. etc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love this job!!!
EMT (Current Employee), Heber-OvergaardJuly 7, 2014
Pros: this job is great!!`
Cons: nothing
Anwsering to the call of duty. Responding to EMS calls along with Wild Land Fire Calls. Having to adapt in an ever changing situation. Thinking on your feet.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
live and learn
EMT (Former Employee), Prescott AzJuly 3, 2014
Pros: bettering my skills
Cons: lack of sleep
Long and hard work
Bettering my EMT skills
About average
I sitll have friends for working there
Work LIfe balance was hard
Helping others
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Each day is different, and you meet alot of interesting people
Paramedic (Current Employee), Donald Martens & Sons based out of Brooklyn OhioJune 21, 2014
Pros: meeting new people every day
Cons: heathcare benefits/no pto time
I work 12 hour shifts, I am a full time employee (base squad) which means we have the same partner and squad all the time, which helps to be very efficient at our jobs, knowing typically who does what during each call whether it be an emergency call or a basic transport. And you can keep your squad organized. I have learned to adapt to many changes/surprises – more... and how to improvise when equipment is not functioning at 100%, while you are in the middle of a call. My direct supervisor is a wealth of knowledge and is always willing to answer questions and help solve any problems or concerns we might have. I think due to the nature of our job, we all seem to have a bond and help each other out when needed. Some of are closer than others, but over all everyone gets along. The hardest part of my job would be watching some of the patients suffer, or their families pain as a loved one is about to or has just passed, But I try to comfort them as much as I can EX; making sure their loved one is as comfortable as can be and be as gentle as possible when moving patients etc.. Probably the best thing I like about my job is when we were able to make a difference in a persons life and watching a person with determination get well after a year of pain/suffering/rehab and the patient actually gets to live a life as they knew it or perhaps even better. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay
Basic (Former Employee), Nanuet, NYJune 20, 2014
The company is very tight knit. The employees try to always help out one another. Unfortunately the bosses care more about contracts then about employees that may potentially get hurt due to negligence. Some of the bosses will wait until the owner is gone to fire people. The job is very rewarding and the co-workers make it worth while
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The most enjoyable part of the job
SECURITY OFFICER (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVJune 19, 2014
I would say it would be having the opportunity to meet new people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
emt (Former Employee), Ocala, FLJune 17, 2014
Daily job requirements included stocking and operating emergency vehicles.
Providing basic and advanced life support to patients in emergent and non emergent situations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job with poor management
Paramedic (Current Employee), Lorain, OHJune 8, 2014
I work 16 hour shifts. I enjoy helping people. would be a much better place to work if management was in sync with workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and exciting
Data entry of call sheets and scheduled burns (Former Employee), Pahrump, NVJune 3, 2014
you can only love this job as you never know what to expect from minute to the next. The crew was like family to me and they are very much missed. They are willing to go above and beyond for their fellow co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working with the people we had in the house
EMT (Former Employee), Memphis, TNMay 31, 2014
fast paced work enviroment, never dull, always something new
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great learning environment
Firefighter (Current Employee), suffolk, vaMay 16, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: no personal life
Great learning environment and employees, long hours, and always something to learn.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Like the independence
Driver/Transporter (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOMay 9, 2014
Like the independence, like the people. Did not like having to by my own gas or having no benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
EMT (Former Employee), Miami, FLMay 6, 2014
Great experiences in this field of emergency medical services .Very honorable work, true heroes of our community.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life in the fast lane
Paramedic, Beacon Ambulance (Former Employee), Ironwood, MichiganApril 27, 2014
Pros: the shifts were unique
Cons: working every weekend.
Working as an EMT meant working 24 hours on duty and 48 hours off duty. If you were duty on Friday, then you were on-call back-up on Saturday and if your duty fell on Monday, you were on-call back up on Sunday. The typical day began at 0800 with a briefing from the previous crew, followed by equipment checks of equipment/supplies and routine cleaning/stocking. – more... These activities were often interrupted by emergency calls. I loved bringing organization to chaos on the call. That was the job. Fast thinking and fast management could mean the difference between life and death. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteered
Basic Technician (Former Employee), Winterville, NCApril 23, 2014
Have fun doing this when I was not in school. Can be stressful as with any other job.

1 2 3 4 5