Find companies:
ESL Federal Credit Union
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
20 reviews

ESL Federal Credit Union Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Start Here And Go No Place
Teller (Former Employee), Rochester, NYJuly 1, 2014
Pros: getting terminated - the start of my growth
Cons: managemnet goals stress no advancement turnover
Not a place for talented agressive young educated people. You will be used, abused forced to make goals and them forced out the door. Your advancement potential is sololy dependent on your onnections or sucking up but not in anyway from your job performance. Most advance out the door in less than a year. The biggenst problem is that the managemnet does – more... not care about you or the members. Its the drive to make goals and numbers that they are totaly consumed with. Its just sick. They have forgot why they are in business. I enjoyed my job at McDonalds more than ESL. At lest I was respected and was having some fun while going to college. No fun here. My college degree is wotrthless here. They are just looking to fill seats not long term employees. Its move them in and move them out like cattle. They just do not care. You have to wonder how long they can run a business like this before it all falls apart. I could not even sleep at night from the stress. Who need this BS for the pay? Its like working in a sweat shop. Ask others that have worked here before you get a job here. You have been warned. You will start at higher pay with more advancements opportunities and less stress at other financial institutions in town. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working Here Is A Joke
Branch Supervisor (Former Employee), Rochester NYJune 2, 2014
Pros: no pros
Cons: horrible work environment that values greed and vanity rather than hard work and serving customers.
You are forced to make sales goals or be fired while the CEO is passing money out all over town and getting recognition. You will be taking advantage of the poor and elderly while the CEO gives a $100,000 to the food bank and a half million to the United Way.You will get little if any reward for being a predator but be able to keep your job. You are – more... expendable and that's how you are treated. Little if any future or advancement for you. If this sounds great then apply at ESL. The truth. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to Work
Collections Specialist (Current Employee), Rochester NyMay 23, 2014
ESL Federal Credit Union is a great place to work. They care about their employees and their customers. They go above and beyond to deliver a superior customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
“"DON'T WORK HERE!"”
Member Service Representative (Current Employee), Rochester New YorkApril 3, 2014
Pros: there are no pros other than getting a check while looking for another job!
Cons: too many to list.
The culture is evil but could be inviting to some who thrive in this environment. Management does not know how to communicate with employees. VP - Branch Center Director will not ever acknowledge you exist unless you are an Assistant Manager or higher. What would it take to just say hello or acknowledge you exist? Very arrogant, rude and vain just like – more... many of the other upper managers who do the same thing. CEO on vanity trip. The managers have their favorites and it shows. Many termination notices every week from tellers to CFO. You never know who will be next in line for the ax. Very disorganized at corporate level all the time. Advancement and recognition based on who you know and how well you play the game and kiss up. Performance seems almost secondary. Most never advance as you will stay where you come in. ESL is a credit Union. It should be serving members but its serves management first. Backstabbing happens daily. Trust no one. You can not afford to have friends here as they may eat you alive. You must keep your mouth shut and speak to no one to survive.There is too much power in the hands of those that are really not qualified to be over people, lead or hire. Lots of mangers with very fancy titles at ESL, especially in HR. To bad their titles do not represent their management skills or intelligence. ESL could be a good place if not for much of management. The truly great managers/employees are gone that once made ESL great. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable, fast paced company and field to be working in.
Teller (Former Employee), Rochester, NYMarch 30, 2014
Most of my day was depending on the day was fast paced work, but surrounded by knowledgeable people. Throughout the day I would process teller transactions, identify member product or service gaps and make cross sell recommendations. I was consistently successfully perform cash drawer balancing. I have gained a lot of experience in working with people, – more... and how to accommodate to their needs. My most enjoyable part of my job was working with other tellers to make the best out of each member's experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a nice place to work
Banker (Former Employee), Rochester, NYFebruary 28, 2014
Pros: benifits/health isurance - they helped pay for my psychiatric visits
Cons: management is the big problem. those in charge are clueless on how to run a company
North Korean Style Management/Leadership ( Kim Jong Un ) at the top. Assassinations daily and erratic changes made all the time You never knew who would be executed next or what crazy management decision would be made out of the blue. Most made no sense. Stress Level in the ozone every day. I was on anti depression/anxiety medicine until I left. I worked – more... in back office and the branches. The branches are worse. Manager/supervisors and fellow workers could not be trusted at all. A very sick environment to work in. There were days I did not want to get out of bed to go to work. The management has made it that way. You will make your goals or you will be gone. No exceptions. You could loose your mind here? ESL is at every Job Fair begging for workers. This says a lot. They even advance hire because so many quit or get fired . This keeps people in the pipeline ready to go. They can not keep help. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly Toxic Work Environment
Tele-Banker II- Call Center (Former Employee), Rochester New YorkFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: benifits
Cons: highly toxic work environment
Many of the reviews here on Indeed for ESL Federal Credit Union tell you what you do on a Typical day. Count money, work with customers, review mail, balancing cash and answer phones. A typical day. We all know what you do at a bank daily or in an office environment. How about how you are treated? Advancement? Stress? Managers? Training? The training – more... was ok but not the best. You will most likley not advance at ESL but leave for another job unless you have contacts. Very High Stress level daily with goals. Managers are a joke. Very unprofessional in how the treat employees. Working at ESL was like being a slave. I felt used and abused. I dreaded to come to work daily. Managers/supervisiors very unqualified and had favorites and they made it known. They loved to play head games. Not an enjoyable work environment. I had no fun here. You will be watched and monitored daily. A fish bowl environment. Very poorly managed organization to work for!! Not many long term employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Place to work
CSR in Call Center (Former Employee), Rochester NYJanuary 10, 2014
Pros: new building
Cons: sick culture- trust no one- high turnover-goals-stress-poor leadership
Sick culture. Constant backstabbing. You never know who is going to be terminated next. It's always someone, which causes a high degree of paranoia and "looking over your shoulder". Trust no-one, because almost no-one can be trusted. Arbitrary changes to departments, usually poorly planned. Management only cares about goals not employees or customers. – more... ESL is good at 'dangling carrots' to get results, but if you have any sense of decency, you see through it pretty quickly. I found that my sense of right and wrong was tested by the need to meet goals to satisfy management. I loved helping my members, but could not in good conscience 'force' loans or long-term products to people simply to make myself look good. I found another job that truly allows me to help people without having to make myself look big for my boss' benefit. Less stress + not compromising my values = happier person. Very satanic culture at ESL. If you can survive in this environment you could be a candidate for Satan. Many just quit. Those with integrity that question leadership are usually forced out, many are fired and some are just burned out from the nonsense. The leadership is the major problem at this Credit Union. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
Member Service Representative (Former Employee), Long Pond BranchDecember 26, 2013
Pros: on the spot recognition, employee of the month and other perks.
Cons: health care (hsa)
A typical day at the credit union is very busy. We come in a half hour ealier than we open and have a lot of duties that need to be completed before we open the branch for the day. These duties can include filling cash dispensers, alarm test and other audit procedures that need to be completed. I have held a lot of differant positions within the branch – more... in the last 9 years that I have been employed at ESL. I have learned how to adapt to my surroundings. I know that not everyone has the same personality and that I have to adapt to each individuall. The banking industry is forever changing and the hardest part of the job is keeping compliant with the current policy and procedures. The management team does a very good job keeping the team updated as needed. The most enjoyable part of my job is seeing the member leave satisfied with the service I gave them. I always take pride in customer service and I give everyone my full attention. At the end of the day I enjoy leaving for the day that I know I did my best. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Proficiate with counting currancy
Teller (Former Employee), Rochester, NYOctober 2, 2013
Helping customers with their banking needs. Balancing cash drawer and helping coworkers balance their cash drawer. Great team players we always helped each other.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed working with the people
Mortgage Closing Representative / Notary Public (Former Employee), Rochester, NYSeptember 18, 2013
Pros: company annual party
Cons: working 14 hour days for 4 years straight
Very Busy office
Co-workers were always helpful
Typical day was work at a high paced environment, answered phones, reviewed mail, prepared documents, review figures, calling attorneys to complete closing docs. Prepared mortgage docs for closings. Faciliated the closings reviewing, explaining and notarizing documents. Be sure when customer left the table – more... they were happy with the experience.
hardest part of job was time management. had to be very detailed oriented to complete all facets of the position
Most enjoyable part of the job was the smiles on the customers face when they were all done with the mortgage closing. Having them be happy and sometimes even getting a hug. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting
Tele-Banker II- Call Center (Former Employee), Rochester New YorkJune 4, 2013
Learned how to manage accounts and make recommendations based on members need

Linda101 – June 16, 2013

The are all fake comments.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved banking but was only part time
Member Service Representative (Former Employee), Rochester, NYMay 13, 2013
I loved it at ESL, except I was only working Part Time and Full time never came up as often as I wanted it to
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Searcher Beware!
Home Equity Processor (Former Employee), Rochester, NYApril 30, 2013
Pros: benefits
Cons: supervisors/management-work place conduct
Very poorly managed organization to work for!! I observed bullying and work discrimination in the department during my time there as an employee. I sadly learned that some of the smiling faces of the supervisors/managment there are not at all who they initially portray themselves to be, and further demonstrated their inability to manage and control – more... the behaviour of their staff.

*Not a recommended job choice environment to consider! – less

Linda101 – June 15, 2013

The company discriminates and uses people. Lots of bad bosses. Hard place to work. You will stay were you come in. Lots of turnover. Its worse in the back office than the branches. We do have a nice training/fitness area and indoor parking but not much else to offer. . I am looking for a new job. I am fed up.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at ESL FCU
Research Specialist (Current Employee), Rochester, NYApril 26, 2013
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: being a temp
A typical day at ESL FCU is getting to interact with friendly co-workers and have fun! Since I've been an employee I have met so many wonderful people. For most people it's a drag to go to work everyday, but for me becoming an employee at ESL FCU is one of the best thing that could have ever happened to me. I truly love my job and I would highly recommend – more... employment for anyone at ESL. The hardest part of my job is leaving when I have to head back to school. The most enjoyable part is coming back every summer and winter break and getting to work with such great people! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Employer cares about each employee
Teller I (Former Employee), Rochester, NYApril 20, 2013
Pros: benefits for full-time and part-time employees
Greats place to work or begin a career. Great working environment.

Linda101 – June 15, 2013

I do not think so. Employer cares about making money and goals not employees. Very poor working conditions and lots of stress. Very high turnover. Employees are used and dumped. Poor management. The management is the problem at this company. No fun here. You will be happy when you have found another job.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful job
Collection Representative (Former Employee), Rochester, NYJanuary 28, 2013
• Collected on secured and unsecured debt 16 to 30 Days delinquent.
• Charge-off account when past due.
• Assigned auto account out for repossession.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work for
Senior Teller (Former Employee), PenfieldJuly 10, 2012
Great company to work for in the first 3 years. Changes made it impossible to work there
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Banker (Former Employee), Rochester NYApril 11, 2012
Pros: the enviroment
Had a blast , one of my most memorable places to work. I would have stayed if I could have put my heart into the work.