Earlham College Employee Reviews

Showing all 14 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable environment
Food prep (Former Employee) –  Richmond INJanuary 10, 2017
Students were awesome, it was always nice to learn some things the students could teach. The way they lived, what they were studying, where they came from. The countries they came from.
Pros
Free Food
Cons
Not enough pay/seasonable
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with a lot of freedom for self innovation
French and Spanish Teacher Assistant (Former Employee) –  Richmond, INOctober 25, 2016
Working as a Language teacher assistant at Earlham college is very pleasant even though its demanding. The employers offer flexible times to meet the employee's schedule.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Application Support Specialist (Current Employee) –  richmond, IndianaAugust 17, 2016
Earlham College is a great place to work.

I enjoy working at Earlham College.

The students are the best part of my daily job.

Earlham College is a safe place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Res Life at Earlham
Resident Assistant (Former Employee) –  Richmond, INJuly 14, 2016
I really enjoyed being a resident assistant, Earlham is a community that fosters and builds on the idea of equality. It definitely had the greatest staff to work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The sense of community is a plus. It is a very human environment.
Visiting Assistant Professor (Former Employee) –  Richmond, INApril 15, 2016
I learned to be more relaxed and appreciate the academic freedom I had to accomplish the learning goals.
It promotes social justice, equality, and diversity.
It is a place where you find yourself as you are.
I love that college.
Pros
The diversity was great, the positive attitude of people
Cons
The technology in the classrooms. I had to take my computer with me.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed the work
Gift Processor/Data Entry Specialist (Former Employee) –  Richmond, INOctober 7, 2015
Co-workers treated me like family. I enjoyed the daily work. I had a difficult supervisor. She is a perfectionist and expected that from me. Just like most office, there were cliques that really frustrated me.
Pros
My own office, not much managing needed
Cons
difficult supervisor
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work!
Communication Specialist (Current Employee) –  Richmond, INAugust 4, 2015
I have great customer service skills.
I dispatch, so I log anything the officer does, I look up information for them and send them out of calls. If there's an emergency I am the go to person. I get calls from the officers, students, faculty, staff, emergency phones and elevators, if needed I contact the proper people. I also do Microsoft word and Excel. I'm in charge of the emergency phone, campus operator phone.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incredibly informative and fun
Cluster System Administrator (Current Employee) –  Richmond IndianaMay 7, 2015
Working with an amazing team of like minded individuals on real world problems. Hours are very flexible and its work and learn at your own pace.
Cons
Student employment
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Student Caller (Former Employee) –  Richmond, INJune 22, 2014
Student Caller at Earlham College. I conducted phone calls with alumni, their parents and friends of Earlham College, talking about Earlham Fund used for Financial Aids, Campus Enhancement, etc. Very often, according to their will to donate money to Earlham Fund, I made money transactions from their bank accounts to the College Account.
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting job that keeps you busy.
Stockroom Clerk (Former Employee) –  Richmond, INApril 5, 2014
Organizing and documenting the chemicals was fun, as well as washing glassware and readying labs for the next class. Going through MSDS sheets to compare to the chemical stock was time consuming but interesting.
Pros
Able to listen to music.
Cons
Only paid minimum wage, offered very few hours, no benefits.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work atmosphere
Assistant Baseball Coach (Former Employee) –  Richmond, INJune 13, 2013
Office hours from 9-4 would typically be one-on-one academic meetings with our student-athletes to keep them on track with their academics and schedule tutoring appointments if necessary. Two to three days per week, we would entertain on-campus recruits and their parents by touring the campus and facilities, taking them to lunch and discussing our program with them. Afternoons (4 pm - 7 pm) would consist of either a full team practice, individual practices, or team weight lifting/conditioning programs. Nights (7 pm - 10 pm) consisted of phone calls to prospective recruits, either to get them on campus for an initial visit, overnight visit, or follow up with them about a previous visit.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Assistant to Administrator (Former Employee) –  Richmond, INMay 21, 2012
Great education, Great Staff, Learned great people skills
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Consistant Work, Great Atmosphere
Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Richmond, INNovember 28, 2011
I loved working at Earlham College. I got to know almost everyone on campus and was treated very equally and with the most utmost respect!
Pros
free ticket to events
Cons
no free lunch in dinning hall
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Earlham College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 14 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.8
Culture
4.3

Earlham College Reviews by Location