Find companies:
EarthLink
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
42 reviews

EarthLink Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Employment Experience Ever
Sales Executive (Former Employee), United StatesApril 16, 2014
Pros: decent training
Cons: leadership, leadership - there is none
After being heavily recruited over a 2 year period decided to make a move from a very stable employment situation. Big mistake - HUGE. And many others experienced the same. EarthLink talked a great game. After CEO abruptly retired, I was laid-off with hundreds of others with NO SEVERANCE. Direct Manager lacked synergistic and many other skills. Senior – more... management completely blind and deaf - very lackluster. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Company - Will use you not build on you
Help Desk Analyst I (Former Employee), BuffaloApril 8, 2014
Pros: flexible dress attire
Cons: micromanagement hell, manipulative staff, management has no clue as to what the issue are that help desk analyst are working
Poor Training ... no pay raises ... do NOT like free thinking. If you are looking for work desperately grab the check but trust me they only pay 12 an hour LOL and they want you to perform like you were paid 30 an hour.

They will cut you down, talk you down and only care about the numbers. If you are applying to Buffalo position head this warning. – more... The current management lead is a liar, has no backbone, and when presented with ideas to help turns the other cheek.

They care ONLY about the numbers not the individuals. Yet they will bribe you with food ... and yet not raises .... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Talks a good game
Director (Former Employee), AtlantaMarch 24, 2014
Pros: free coffee
Cons: executive management, vision, strategy, follow-through, job security.
If you want a company that promises an invigorating and challenging environment and delivers on those promises look elsewhere. However, if your sole purpose is to work for a few months to a year and then collect unemployment, then this is the company for you.

Executive managment lacks vision and what vision it does have, they cannot deliver. They reward – more... their competent workers by either laying them off or blaming them for misfires and then laying them off.

Delivering services to a customer is a drawn out mess of missed due dates, incompatible systems and processes, personality conflicts, and lack of technical fundamentals knowledge. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunities
Data Analyst (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAFebruary 24, 2014
Earthlink was my first stop in an office environment. I was promoted several times with the company, asked to relocate for new positions on 4 occasions, on the 4th I declined, having move my family 3x already and took severance.

Overall a great company to work for, however, many jobs were lost due to moving to outsourcing, but still a great company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Local Exchange Carrier providing voice and data to businesses and residential customers.
Voice Repair Technician (Former Employee), Burlington, MAFebruary 5, 2014
Pros: high level of energy with people running around trying to solve problems.
Cons: high turnover of senior managment. continual change of policies and responsibilies for everyone.
-Answer telephone calls from customers regarding phone and data problems.
-How to adjust to changing policies on a weekly basis.
-Management is very concerned about reducing costs.
-Great bunch of people who work hard and help teammates.
-Remembering what the escalation policy is this week.
-Helping customers get their service working again.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a very educational experience with many opportunities to learn new technologies.
Marlborough, MA - Field Service Technician (Former Employee), Providence, RIJanuary 24, 2014
The Data Center Support position was a great opportunity to advance my technical abilities and learn all facets of the industy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work great environment
IT Procurement Administrator (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAJanuary 19, 2014
Pros: great company
Cons: great company
This ia a great company and the vacation time you get as a new hir is wonderful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing company still trying to find its way
Order Solutions Engineer (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAJanuary 6, 2014
Pros: work life balance
Cons: poor leadership and company direction and stability
Typical work day includes - connecting with clients and additional members of the order processing team to accomplish the implantation and installation of customers service
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Studied in university of technology in Baghdad (2008-2012) . BSc in Electrical Engineering .
Engineer (Current Employee), OMCDecember 29, 2013
Pros: no pros
Cons: the length of the work
my work start at 8:00 AM to 4:30 PM , Between this time thare are hard things and simple things.
I get information about wireless links and practical work in the sites.
I have good friends in jop and they ready to help me if i need.
hardest part is the working under long hour from pressure .
The most enjoyable part of the job is the conversations with – more... my friends. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company is awful. Do not work here.
Repair Technician (Former Employee), Marlborough, MADecember 19, 2013
Pros: this company may be aquired next year.
Cons: management, telco
This company has failed everything it has tried. New oss failure, new managed services failed, new leadership failed. They lost more than 200 million in the first quarter and have lost most of their value. The sell flags of major traders have come and gone. If they intend to turn this around they better start right now! To all who may think that this – more... is a great company you must not have any stock options. The old school idiots from delta com and various other failed companys have dragged this company to the brink of disaster. Step away from this company and work for almost anyone else. Next year may very well be the end for the Massachusetts holdings. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Savvy
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Harrisburg, PANovember 18, 2013
Rewarding and promotional but not typical work environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
RUN FAR FAR AWAY!
sales engineer (Current Employee), Atlanta, GANovember 6, 2013
Pros: good pay
Cons: former management from global crossing and xo communications ruining earthlink!
Unless you have been unemployed for a good period, stay far far away from this place! Unstable company run by former Global Crossing and XO Communications senior management. I wish I were kidding, but it is the hard truth about this place. Company is trying to focus on IT services but is failing miserably because it is run by telco managers who have – more... no idea what they are doing so their product set and service delivery fail miserably. A good share of cronyism occurring where XO management is hiring former co-workers who have no qualifications for the positions they are in. Place is going downhill and is going to get a lot worse before it gets better! Be smart and pass on this place! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Senior Sales Rep, dealt with Major business accounts
SR. BUSINESS SALES CONSULTANT / TEAM LEADER (Former Employee), San Jose, CAJune 18, 2013
I loved this job, first real experience with B2B sales. Setup major accounts, hit quotas, developed relationships, coordinated with Install teams, Customer Service teams and Tech Support teams.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unstable company with Senior Management problems
Senior Solutions Consultant (Former Employee), Southeast USJune 3, 2013
Pros: great salary and benefits
Cons: very unstable. no job security.
After being actively recruited to EarthLink, with a salary and benefits that were well above average, I was informed of my layoff only 3 months later.

The company was going through a restructuring when I was hired, and only three months later went through another. This company has great potential, but senior management needs to figure out what arena – more... they intend on playing in and stick to a business plan long enough to see results. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall
Help Desk Analyst (Former Employee), Amherst, NYMay 13, 2013
Pros: monthly free lunches, free cofee
working as level 1 you take calls and the users are business people that deal with customers so there are user that are rarely curse at you so this call center there are less stress than normal.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont expect much from this company. They talk a good game, but they dont follow through.
Service Activation Technician (Former Employee), Anniston, ALMay 11, 2013
Pros: my supervisor was very nice, but not very informed.
Cons: little and inadequate training.
Worked for this company through a staffing agency, at the beginning of 2013. After 7 days on the job, they let me go.

It seems they expected me to learn everything there was to know about how everything worked in 7 days.

They gave me a test on my 7th day and when the results came back. I was told I did not do well enough.

The funny thing was, while – more... I was waiting for the results, I asked some of my fellow workers, what some of the answers to several of the question that I did not know the answers too were. They did not know the answers either. How is it that I am expected to know the answers to these questions on the test, when the very people who were supposedly "training" me didn't even know the answers?

It would seem to me, they were the ones who should have taught me what those terms meant that I was expected to know. How was I expected to know the answers to questions on a test, when the very ones trading me could not even tell me what the answers were.

7 days. Really? What a joke! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer service
Customer service Representative (Former Employee), Harrisburg, PAMay 6, 2013
customer service for internet company. taking orders for new services and existing account upgrades. tech operations for T900 internet device.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not there long
Field Sales Representative (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OHApril 25, 2013
I was there for the tail end of the dial-up internet era...when it went, so did my position. But the company treated me very well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
At the time, a perfect blend of MindSpring's jolly with Earthlink's corporate attitude
Senior Customer Representative (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAApril 17, 2013
Pros: gameroom, outings, relaxed dress code and location
I learned that a corporate environment did not have to be stuffy and rigid. You could have a fun and relaxed environment while maintaining a professional approach to your coworkers and customers. We were treated as responsible adults and thus reacted as such. If you did not, there was a system in place to address this and to let you go if necessary. – more... The environment was a reflection of the people and they were excellent to work with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team environment, while it lasted
Inbound sales (Former Employee), Roseville, CAApril 9, 2013
Pros: base plus commission
Cons: outsourced
Great company, great employees, great benefits and pay. High-volume inbound call center dealing with consumers and business accounts. If you're good enough, you can work both sides

1 2 3

About EarthLink

Some of us spend way too much time online, and EarthLink is OK with that. The company provides Internet connections to more than 1 million – Read more