EarthLink Employee Reviews

Found 250 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Financial Issues
Senior Account Executive (Former Employee) –  Dallas TexasJuly 20, 2017
Company has many services to offer but can't execute on any of them.Failing business strategy. Poor internal communication and customer support due to multiple layoffs driven by poor margins and financial issues.
Pros
Looks good on paper
Cons
Can't Deliver
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved working here
Broadband Lead Support Technician (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJuly 11, 2017
well since they moved most of their tech support over seas to people who can barely speak english good luck getting a job here if you live in the USA.
Pros
pay check didnt bounce
Cons
penny pinchers closed down US support centers across the country
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and great people.
Director of Operations (Former Employee) –  Rochester, NYJuly 10, 2017
If you work hard it pays off. The people at ELNK are great to work with, they are very hands on and care about their customers. Mid-level managers need to learn how to work together and in unison, working to achieve the same business goals.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Work life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Loop Accept Tech (Former Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLJune 21, 2017
Great place to work. Management really cares and for the most part, company cared about their employees. The really only thing that was terrible is that you never know if you have a job the next day as the company outsourced many of their departments.

They laid me off because my job duties was moved over to another country after 12 years of service with them.
Pros
Cares about their employees
Cons
Outsources many of their depts, no job security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was what you made of it
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Rochester, NYJune 14, 2017
Working at EarthLink. They were very fair with expectations and generous with pay, bonuses and provided a really fun company culture with opportunities to interact with executives.The department I worked in was great. They were understanding of your family and the needs of daily life. Work came second to your children and you were appreciated for what you did. Earthlink was a family atmosphere company that relied on its team members to make sales and keep customers happy. I only worked there for a year,Work culture is getting to work, and start answering calls from customers having questions on their internet connections or computer problems. Mostly. customer service.
Pros
Free coffee/tea, decent location in downtown Rochester
Cons
Pay was a little below industry standard
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse and Active Environment
Program Assistant (Internship) (Former Employee) –  Denver, COJune 9, 2017
At EarthLinks there is always a project to participate in. There are incredible stories to be shared within the community and much support to be shared as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company until it was merged with Windstream on March 1st, 2017
Senior Account Executive (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJune 7, 2017
EarthLink was a great place to work and the executive team was excellent. I worked here for over 4 years and hoped to retire here. The workplace culture was one of hard work but fun at the same time. Our office is located in Midtown Atlanta and the space is first class. EarthLink merged with Windstream on March 1st, 2017 and everything is changing and EarthLink will no longer exist in the coming months.
Pros
Great workplace, exellant employees and Management teams
Cons
Have been merged with Windstream
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
EarthLink
Sales (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, CAMay 28, 2017
Great place to work until they started outsourcing onshore agents and shutting down call centers. I was laid off 2 different times. Great growth potential and development programs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clear goals and objective
Field Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXMay 23, 2017
Managed and led a 22 person cohesive team, enjoyed working with my team, strong rapport and support. Workplace culture was superb. Corporate values were in line with my own values.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic work place
Technician (Former Employee) –  Springfield, MAMay 22, 2017
Have to be responsible for checking your task sent via phone application every day then collect information that requires access and type of work to performed. It may require long distance (100 miles or greater). Hardest part is gathering all necessary information by going into multiple database to perform task. When a priority task or on-call is assigned you are responsible for ++getting all pertinent information and making contact with internal and external persons involved. Work also closely with NOC and Operations group is very important.
Pros
Good benefits good Team cooperation to understand work involved
Cons
Lots of travel 100+ miles, and on any given day and management does not pay overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about EarthLink?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for and fun culture
Account Director (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMay 6, 2017
I loved working at EarthLink. They were very fair with expectations and generous with pay, bonuses and provided a really fun company culture with opportunities to interact with executives.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
EarthLink is pretty great
Billing Specialist (Former Employee) –  West Point, GAMay 6, 2017
The department I worked in was great. They were understanding of your family and the needs of daily life. Work came second to your children and you were appreciated for what you did.
Pros
Great management and environment
Cons
Some longer hours and weekends
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pays the bils
Transmission Technician (Former Employee) –  Worcester, MAMay 2, 2017
Initial hiring wage is competitive, but raises are non-existant unless you threaten to quit. Doing more with less is the catch phrase, meaning that each person is expected to do the work of 5 people.

Work comes before anything, no balance.

Most enjoyable part of the job, your coworkers, the people working there are good people.
Pros
Having a job
Cons
Culture
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Larger Company with plenty of layers....
Director of Finance - Broadband (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, CAApril 30, 2017
Too much fat on the bone would be the best way to describe it... Fiefdoms and senior directors vying for headcount increases when they should have had their eyes on the bottom line. Tough merger and some bad investments in purchasing companies.

Growth was needed, but organic would have served shareholders much better...
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Sales Engineer Sr Manager (Former Employee) –  Anniston, ALApril 27, 2017
Earthlink was a family atmosphere company that relied on its team members to make sales and keep customers happy. I only worked there for a year, but it was one of the best places I have worked in my 33 year career.
Pros
Great management team
Cons
Merged with Windstream
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Call Center Experience I've Had
Customer Retention Agent (Former Employee) –  Harrisburg, PAApril 26, 2017
They valued you and worked as much as possible to encourage creativity. Their software was easy to use. Management did everything they could to make every day feel different. Unfortunately, they closed their office and outsourced overseas. I would have made a career of it if that hadn't happened.
Pros
Corporate atompshere
Cons
They outsourced
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employee Satisfaction was their priority
Customer service representative (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, CAApril 21, 2017
This was an amazing Company to work for. They treated their employees like family Unfortunately due to unfair trade practices they could not afford to stay in business in USA and had to take the call center to india.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
None
Data Analyst Support (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, CAApril 20, 2017
Work culture is getting to work, and start answering calls from customers having questions on their internet connections or computer problems. Mostly. customer service.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
accounts payable rep 2 (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAApril 14, 2017
work hard i was part time very easy process payments to vendors customer service both internal and external coding keying check process ach wires emails
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexable and Goal Oriented
Sales & Marketing Operations Process Analyst (Former Employee) –  RemoteApril 11, 2017
As a 9 year remote employee, I had the opportunity to see my kids in the morning and I had the chance to pick them up from school - nice. I also had the chance to work with people from different parts of the US. Mid Westerns Rule - shout out to Wisconsin ! Definitely miss working with people from different parts of the map from my home office.
Pros
flexible
Cons
job security
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at EarthLink. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 262 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
3.2
Culture
3.4