East Carolina University Employee Reviews

Found 130 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational
Graduate Assistantship (Former Employee) –  Greenville, NCJune 17, 2014
Learned a lot about Geographic Information Science and the techniques associated with ESRI 10.1.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work for students
Student Production Technician/Computer Lab Tech (Former Employee) –  Mendenhall Student Center, Wright AuditoriumMay 23, 2014
Working at East Carolina University is both fun and informative. You can learn many valuable skills to make you a more productive member of the workforce and society.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place that allows a person to gain knowledge and experiance
Teacher Assistant (Former Employee) –  East Carolina UniversityMay 20, 2014
A typical day would consist of students coming in an learning the steps of cooking, temperature, safety and sanitation regulations. I have learned to manage, organize, close and be exposed with working with others. The most enjoyable part of the job would be teaching others and giving them more experience and knowledge.
Pros
high pay
Cons
not as many hours
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and something new to learn each day
Nurse Practitioner (Former Employee) –  Greenville, NCMay 14, 2014
Saw workers comp pts with new injuries or in folllow up. Active in occupational and infetion control issues during the day.
Pros
working hours. weekends off
Cons
slow progression salary and promotion wise.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching Assistant
Geologic Field Mapping Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  New MexicoMay 7, 2014
Typical day included hiking around classic geologic mapping areas of New Mexico, assisting students in the creation of geologic maps by identifying rock types and structures.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Greenville, NCMay 4, 2014
Great place to learn and work. Work pace and attitude is probably more a function of who you are working for.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Instructor (Former Employee) –  Greenville, NCApril 8, 2014
Really enjoyed teaching at this excellent university. Great leadership and I got along great with other employees
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ECU Graduate assistantship
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Greenville, NCApril 8, 2014
This position requires great knowledge of public health, research design, participatory research, community-based research, and organizational skills. The position involved travel, which was provided, and required independent and group work. Employee must be self-motivated.
Pros
free travel, free lunch, great people
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clean steamers
Technician (Former Employee) –  Greenville, NCApril 3, 2014
Put dirty cages into high temp sterilizing cleaners, i learned how to operate industrial cleaner how to transport cages into and out of cleaner log my daily duties and provide a clean and safe work environment. I had two or three co-workers that provided assistance if asked. I also would help them if they asked me for assistance. Most enjoyable part of the job was lunch and talking with co-workers about life. Hardest part of the job was transporting the animals to and from cages.
Pros
great place to work, work inside
Cons
lots of dangerous chemicals and frequent animal bites
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Undergraduate Assistantship (Former Employee) –  Greenville, NCApril 3, 2014
Through this job I learned skills that are not offered in the classroom and helped my adviser with his research project.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning experience
Administrative Support Specialist (Current Employee) –  Greenville, NCMarch 31, 2014
Typical day is very busy practice, learned so much of the day to day of the clinic, my coworkers and management is very easy to work with. The hardest part of my job is to see how the patients is suffering and the most enjoyable is watching the patients come in with back problems and have surgery and they are wonderful after.
Pros
working with patients
Cons
those patients that are doctor shopping
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good classes
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Greenville, NCMarch 21, 2014
I learned a lot in my classes, my research assistantship gave me a great deal of experience in the field
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Job
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Greenville, NCFebruary 23, 2014
Working with ECU is a great experience, they are normally very open understanding that you are also a student and are mostly willing to work with your schedule and workload. I was able to get a lot of my schoolwork done during downtime.
Pros
great for students, on campus, able to get work done
Cons
take a lot out in taxes
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing Workplace
Internship (Former Employee) –  Greenville, NCFebruary 19, 2014
The Brody School of Medicine at ECU is a well-rated medical school with respect to rural medicine.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great place to work
Network Analyst (Former Employee) –  Greenville, NCFebruary 11, 2014
You never know what to expect when going into work. It keeps you alert and helps you sharpen your job specific skills throughout a typical work day. The management is great and easy to work with. Overall, it is just a great place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and friendly work environment with great flexibility
Student Technology Analyst, ITCS (Former Employee) –  Greenville, NCFebruary 5, 2014
I truly enjoyed being a part of the ITCS team and was amazed by the friendliness of management and colleagues.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall great place to work
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Greenville, NCJanuary 10, 2014
Good place to work, supportive environment that works to do the right thing
Was this review helpful?Yes7No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing workplace
Camp Counselor (Former Employee) –  Greenville, NCDecember 19, 2013
Great group of workers and a very enjoyable part of my life. Extremely fun time but work was tough
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good university
Ph.D student (Current Employee) –  Greenville, NCNovember 28, 2013
it is a good university for pursuing degree
There are lots of nice professors and students
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice small town academic research environment
Research Associate (Former Employee) –  Greenville, NCNovember 22, 2013
good academic research environment. Good medical school.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 134 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture