Find companies:
East Jefferson General Hospital
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
30 reviews

East Jefferson General Hospital Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment and nice co-workers.
Patient Transporter (Former Employee), Metairie, LAJuly 31, 2014
Pros: flexable hours.
Cons: short breaks
I worked in Patient Transport and enjoyed all of my co-workers. The job had very flexible hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enclosed below
ER Tech/ER (Current Employee), Metairie, LAMay 6, 2014
Pros: everyday was different you never know what is going to come through the door, everyone worked as a team
Cons: there is no cons
East Jefferson General Hospital was a great place to work and it is a great place for advancement but i decided to re-locate to ca leaving my job after 9 years but i know if i ever decide to move back to la i know that i would be able to go back to work there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
AWESOME
Patient Access Representative III (Current Employee), Metairie, LAApril 9, 2014
Pros: free lunches, nice break times
team worked awesome together, management team were fun to be around, made everyone welcome, nothing was really to hard, because they were hands on at this facilty.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and gratifying place to work.
Continuing Medical Education Coordinator (Current Employee), Metairie, LAApril 7, 2014
Responsible for the planning, organization,
direction and control of the continuing medical education (CME) and graduate medical education (GME) programs for the hospital's Medical Staff. Responsible for the documentation and monitoring of clinical research trials and studies for the hospital’s
Institutional Review Board (IRB).
East Jefferson General – more... Hospital (EJGH) is a 550-bed acute care facility with over 650 physicians on staff. Responsibilities include networking with administrative personnel as the Chief Medical Officer, the hospital Chief of Staff, hospital Medical Director and physician departments.

Served as hospital Institutional Review Board Specialist by coordinating and performing a variety of research and administrative activities required in the management of clinical trials research conducted by principal investigators at EJGH. Performed a variety of independent duties involved in the collection, documentation and compilation of clinical research data.

Followed established guidelines in the collection of clinical data and/or administration of clinical trials; assisted in the determination guidelines for new protocols. Conferred with physicians to explain protocol and to elicit compliance with regulations; ensure adherence to FDA and protocol guidelines; identified potential problems and/or inconsistencies and reported to the IRB board as needed.
Prepared reports, documents and correspondence for regulatory agencies, participating clinical trials sites and hospital IRB to assist in the ongoing monitoring, evaluation and progress of clinical trials.
Responsible for soliciting and receiving grants and fees associated with clinical trials review and management from industry-supported clinical research.

Have developed a productive work enviroment and network well with other team members.

The hardest part of the job is the uncertainty of the future of the facillity. Stabilization of employment in the future is uncertain. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Phlebotomist (Former Employee), Metairie, LAMarch 10, 2014
I love this company, my supervisor was the best at her job, and it was like a small family. We watched over each other and it was a pleasure and joy to work for this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work
Medical transcriptionist, clerical (Former Employee), Metairie, LADecember 9, 2013
Pros: friendly, professional workplace
Cons: electronic medical records making my job as a transcriptionist unnecessary.
I enjoyed working at East Jefferson General Hospital Family Practice. I got along well with the doctors, my supervisor, and fellow employees. The only reason I left was so that I would be able to work from home while my children were young. I am still in touch with them on a personal basis. While I was there, I was primarily a medical transcriptionist, – more... but I also spent time answering the switchboard and making appointments as well as helping in the medical records department of the office. I would say the hardest part of the job was getting used to transcribing for residents who had foreign accents; however, this proved to be a valuable skill that I was able to develop. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging but rewarding career
IT Manager (Current Employee), Metairie, LANovember 3, 2013
Pros: having leadership that values technology
Cons: difficult to take time off for vacations
Each day brings its own set of challenges that test your skill, knowledge, patience and ability to work with others. I love technology but in management you have to learn people as well. I've been blessed to work with and to help develop great teams who meet challenges head on with the same determination to overcome them as I have.

In my career, to – more... this point, I haven't met a challenge too big to overcome. My team(s) and I have done amazing and innovative work to strengthen and make more efficient the clinical workflows in our hospital. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly autonomous nursing role
RN-Interventional Cardiology/Radiology (Former Employee), Metairie, LAOctober 27, 2013
Cons: hospital in financial trouble, no overtime allowed
Great workplace culture/values, friendly employees, great workplace relationships
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Imaging technologist
Imaging Tech (Former Employee), RadiologyOctober 20, 2013
Pros: decent pay
Cons: short hour shifts
as a PRN employee, at times I would go to work only to be sent home within 2 hours span because patients did not show up. Too volatile shifts as a PRN.
Radiology field is oversaturated so management at all the local hospitals don't have to respect workers' time or skills. No insurance discount benefits are offered in an industry that is supposed to – more... be caring for people's health issues. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There are better places to work.
Nursing Assistant, Department of Surgery (Current Employee), Metairie, LAOctober 8, 2013
Pros: very few
Cons: managment
It is a big hospital. If you work there, you know what I'm talking about.
Sadly it used to be a fun place to work, with good benefits, yet things have change for worse.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working as a team
EMT Medical Dispatcher (Former Employee), Metairie, LouisianaSeptember 5, 2013
Pros: team member of the month
Cons: 12 hour shifts
Saving lives and having patients with the callers to gain any medical background on the patient. Knowledgiable about what you are doing in ref to giving cpr instructions and any medical advise that will help the patient
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Newly remodeled place, clean and bright
Certified Pharmacy Technician (Current Employee), PharmacyAugust 30, 2013
Pros: drug reps bring lunch often
Cons: short lunches, 30 mins instead of 1 hour/ pay need to be higher/no advancement opportunity
Working PRN is very flexible
Co-workers are fun to work with
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over worked, under appreciated
Patient Account Representative (Current Employee), Metairie, LAAugust 23, 2013
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
A typical day would begin with catching up on all duties and patients that the previous shift did not complete. Once that is complete I would basically complete all pt registrations as they come in. Due to cut backs, we are always short staffed, so we are responsible for twice as much in the time of your shift. During my shift their is only one other – more... co-worker, sometimes we may have more, in which they won't work. They move at a slow pace in a fast paced area. Our supervisor is rarely seen, only heard from thru emails. She does not help with any duties if we as a team are overwhelmed. The hardest part is working in an enviornment that lacks the values of the hospital. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Providing quality care to patients is the number one priority
Clerical Assistant, Radiology (Current Employee), Metairie, LAMay 1, 2013
Pros: flexible work hours, great medical and dental benefits, co-workers are like family
Cons: low pay, no room for advancement
During my seven years at East Jefferson, my customer service skills have enhanced. I've learned to be more of a leader and to voice my concerns about different situations. I am a team leader so therefore I get along very well with my co-workers. I won't say that the job is hard, but I am challenged some days by dealing with irate patients or physicians. – more... The most enjoyable part of the job is seeing satisfied patients. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall - Good
Insurance Billing Rep (Current Employee), Metairie LaApril 30, 2013
Pros: convenient location
Cons: pay not comparable to education acquired
A good place to work when team-members work as a team to accomplish a common goal.

Benefits are a plus
Promotions/Advancements are very low
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Scheduling is very versatile
NREMT-Paramedic/ EOC representative (Current Employee), Metairie, LAApril 18, 2013
I work 12.5 hour night shifts on a 5-2-5 rotation. Management could do better with communicating with their employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Allowed me the ability to help people in emergency situations
Dispatcher (Current Employee), Metairie, LAApril 5, 2013
My typical day included dispatching calls in emergent and non-emergent situations as well as coordinating transportation of patients from hospital to residents and nursing homes. I worked 12 hour shifts and got along with my co-workers even though at times we were under tremendous stress. The hardest part of the job for me was dealing with the deaths – more... of children, even though I know that death is a part of life. I most enjoyed the satisfying feeling that I got from assisting people that needed it the most. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Unit Secretary (Former Employee), Metairie, LAJanuary 18, 2013
Pros: paid health care and discounts at doctors offices
Cons: i really cannot think of any.
I transcribed doctors orders, scheduled all tests, ordered medication and assist nurses and family members. I learned so much about healthcare. The head nurse and shift leaders were great nurses and easy to get along with. I enjoyed meeting new people, seeing the happy faces when patients were well enough to leave. The hardest part was when we lost – more... a patient. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FUN WORKPLACE
Nutrition Assistant (Former Employee), Metairie, LADecember 15, 2012
PLENTY OPPORTUNITIES TO ADVANCE. MANAGMENT IS GREAT TO WORK WITH.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wounderful place to work
Certified Nurse Aide (Former Employee), Metairie, LANovember 25, 2012
I enjoyed working here. Management was awsome. There was always room for advancement. While working here i felt like I was always surrounded by family.