Find companies:
East Orange General Hospital
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
50 reviews

East Orange General Hospital Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice co-workers, always kept busy.
Summer Intern (Former Employee), East Orange, NJSeptember 13, 2014
Pros: free lunch and breakfast
Cons: short breaks
A typical work day for me was coming into work and signing in. I would go to my station and greet and be greeted by all my fellow co-workers. I would wait for my manager to give me my assignment. The manage liked her papers vey organized. She was nice but always kept me busy. The hardest part of my job was all the paper work that I had to file and put – more... away. I worked for about five hours a day Monday through Thursday from 8:30 in the morning to 1:30 in the afternoon. At 1:30 I would sign out and go home. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my day at work
PATIENT ACCESS ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), East Orange, NJSeptember 5, 2014
handling all patients coming in the ER, learned how to be more patient with the sick and elderly, managed mostly be myself worked over night shift, and work very well with nurses techs and doc, wasn't no hard part because I love working with sick people help put smiles on faces, enjoyable part was my last statement as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun working environment
Unit Secretary - Emergency Department (Current Employee), East Orange, NJAugust 18, 2014
I enjoy my work place everyday. its not the same each day, for it takes time, patience and energy. My co-workers are my family and we spend a lot of time together learning, teaching and representing each other.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and exhausting
Emergency Room Physician Assistant (Current Employee), East Orange, NJAugust 7, 2014
Pros: flexible scheduling
Cons: no lunch time
busy er a bit understaffed though.
er is oftentimes treated like a primary care office but i guess thats never really going to change
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Admitting Office Support/Volunteer
Secretary/Volunteer (Former Employee), East Orange, NJJuly 20, 2014
Pros: free breakfast and lunch
Cons: short breaks
Worked 9:00a.m-4:00p.m Monday-Friday
I Got along will with co-workers.
The hardest part of the job was not having enough to keep me busy throughout the day.
The most enjoyable part of the job was interacting with the patients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Place I've Ever Worked in My Life!
Food and Nutrition (Former Employee), East Orange, NJJuly 7, 2014
Pros: cheap lunch
Cons: pay
The hospital is old, dirty and moldy and professionalism is nonexistent
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
Revenue Cycle Specialist (Current Employee), East Orange, NJJune 27, 2014
Pros: affordable food
Cons: great breaks
very busy
team players
great managers
always new things to learn
happy patients
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Transitions in Care Director (Current Employee), East Orange, NJJune 16, 2014
I learned to become a leader
Started a new program
A great opportunity to collaborate with multi-disciplinary team
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful environment
Registered Nurse (Current Employee), East Orange, NJJune 5, 2014
Typical day at work involves dealing with a lot of difficult patients, family members and even doctors as well. I have learned to be tough at this facility as the saying that "nurses eat their young" is true for this facility, although it is not only the nurses who do it but the doctors as well. Hardest part of the job is keeping calm and collected – more... when patients are getting verbally abusive which happens quite often. The most enjoyable part is when you have patients who are very appreciative and thankful for the work that we nurses do for them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awful place, it's scary!
RN (Current Employee), East Orange, NJJune 5, 2014
Pros: cheap cafeteria, some staff members are really nice, it's quite the learning experience
Cons: just about everything else you could possibly think of
typical day: everyone that comes in complains. if they come in on time. pharmacy never delivers medications. doctors and staff are mean. run around a lot because of disorganization and lack of support. understaffed. high nurse to patient ratio. no support. no replacements for call outs. it's known that all nurses leave. and when they do, you envy them. – more... doctors don't call back. if they do, they yell at you or maybe tell you that you are stupid. most things are hush hush. alot of contradiction. no structure. the lab in non existent. you do your own bloodwork unless you want doctors yelling at you because the lab doesn't do their job.
they do hire anyone because nobody in their right mind would want to work there. or if they get hired, they do not stay unless they are desperate and can keep quiet. everyone is miserable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it is fun working with great peeps
safety/security (Current Employee), East Orange, NJMay 19, 2014
Pros: nope
Cons: yes
this is a great experience working with peeps on medical field
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A two man department, full support of hospital management
Senior Internal Auditor (Former Employee), East Orange, NJApril 28, 2014
Pros: i determine my own audit approach
The audit program is used guide the auditor with approach to work. Review prior audit work papers noting down significant findings and recommendations. These will be discussed in preliminary meeting with the auditee. Prepares my test sample and proceed to verify compliance with hospital policies and procedures. Write down exceptions from SOP. Investigate – more... non-conforming evidence. Resolve issues and write recommendation for improvement. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Emergency Room Care
Mental Health (Former Employee), East Orange, NJApril 7, 2014
Pros: flexible
Cons: pay
Fast pace environment, friendly and flexible with hours. The hospital is making improvement to serve the patients more.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Outpatient Hemodialysis Clinical Dietitian (Current Employee), Easr Ornage, NJApril 4, 2014
Pros: free lunch, flexible
Cons: not challanging or interesting
Typical day is from 8am-4pm, but I do dtay late once a week to cover the late shift. Even though it is a good place to work and they do offer good benefits and job security, managment could be better. I don't think there is anything difficult about this job. It is very flexible but for right now as a young dietitian I would like something more chalanging – more... and interesting. I want to explore and learn more which I can definitly do at a teaching hospital rather than a dialysis center where there is no challang and nothing new to learn. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to start your medical career
Mental Health Aide (Former Employee), East Orange, NJMarch 2, 2014
I enjoyed the work I did on the Behavioral Health Unit. The staff and I cooperated with each other and got along exceptionally well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
alot of work but a learning exp
Nursing Assistant (Former Employee), East Orange, NJFebruary 4, 2014
Pros: good benfits
Cons: short breakes
working with this company was a little crazy was my first job in the hospital but adopt kick and learn a lot
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast pace environment
Unit Secretary (Current Employee), East Orange New JerseyJanuary 27, 2014
taking doctors orders and transcribing them for the nurses its alot
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
VERY ACTIVE
lead cook /dietary aide (Former Employee), East Orange, NJJanuary 7, 2014
VERY BUSY WHEN WORKING AS A SHORT ORDER COOK
FRIENDLY CUSTOMERS,FUN ATMOSHERE,MY CO WORKERS WERE AWESOME
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PRODUCTIVE
Accounts Payable/Disbursement Specialist (Former Employee), East Orange, NJJanuary 7, 2014
Pros: affordable lunch, diversity
Cons: salary
EOGH was a great place to gain experience and knowledge. My average work day was for the most part productive, overwhelming, and comfortable environment. Work was overwhelming but teamwork was great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy; management creates a hostile work environment.
Social Worker (Former Employee), East Orange, NJJanuary 6, 2014
Pros: close to home, free parking and cafeteria on the grounds.
Cons: there aren't yearly raises; there is no praise for a job well done.
I worked for EOGH for 10 years. I was a hard working and dedicated employee. Management does not like workers who are independent thinkers or employees who advocate for a fair work environment. The atmosphere at EOGH is do as I say do and speak when spoken too.

1 2 3

About East Orange General Hospital

East Orange General Hospital is an independent, fully accredited, acute care hospital located in East Orange, New Jersey. East – Read more