Find companies:
East Penn Manufacturing
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
37 reviews

East Penn Manufacturing Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Plate Prep Operator (Former Employee), Fleetwood, PAMarch 7, 2014
Pros: very rewarding
Cons: short breaks, high risk of lead poisoning
Very rewarding and enjoyable job space, poor management, 100% hands-on with production, lock-out machine for repairs, co-workers were very productive but made the job enjoyable, job was mostly easy until came repairing broken/worn parts of machine
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its great for someone who wants to move up
Cos Floater (Current Employee), Corydon, IAFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: your treated with respect and gratitude for your work
Cons: cant really think of anything incentive rates could be better but there not terrible
I seen nobody has put in a review from corydon iowa East Penn is a great company to work for with great benefits and more than fair pay. they treat everyone equally and give everyone the benefit of doubt. theres drama sometimes with coworkers but you will have that anywhere. I work 3rd shift and almost everyone on any shift knows who I am and treat – more... me like family. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great starting point
Electro Mechanical Technician (Former Employee), Lyons, PAJanuary 20, 2014
It was a great place to start my career as an electro-mechanical technician. Great work hours and decent salary. Owner took good care of employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great positive work environment.
Ultra Battery Tech ( Research and Developing) (Current Employee), Lyons, PAJanuary 9, 2014
Pros: health benefits, great working enviroment, great pay rate
Cons: out of state transfers
I'm proud to say that East Penn Manufacturing has giving me an opportunity to grow with them as a company. With there company I've started with production and worked my way up to research and development because they give all employees an equal chance to grow. I love my environment and people I work with. I've had nothing but the best experience with – more... management and my own department supervisor. With the position I hold I don't think there's any part of the job that I can say is hard or I cant do.I would say the best part and most enjoyable is working next to great coworkers and knowing we work together as a team. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy to get along with others here
Pasting/take off (Former Employee), Lyons, PADecember 12, 2013
i always enjoyed being summer help here. i made friends with all other workers and enjoyed the laborer tasks
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was an ok place to work it supported my families
Yard Jockey (Former Employee), Lyons, PANovember 26, 2013
Pros: $1 meals, and good people to work next to
Cons: short breaks, bad management
learned how to not say anything to anybody and just keep my mouth shut b/c friends can become enemies
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast paced work environment
COS worker (Former Employee), Lyons, PANovember 17, 2013
Fast paced work environment striving to meet the demands of the company. Dedicated employees all working towards the goal of the company to ultimately satisfy the customer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They couldn't manage a lemonade stand !
Maintenance (Former Employee), lyonsNovember 16, 2013
Pros: some truly good people to work with.
Cons: some truly clueless people to work for.
BEST places to work? yea, ask people who aren't afraid for they're job! Or people that speak the truth! They train you, you build your resume, and you leave cause your just a # and now they have better paying companies building in the area and they cant compete. They are letting all great experience d people walk. 20 maintenance guys left in past few – more... months cause of low pay , management is terrible, need a regime change, old guys need to retire and realize its 2013! After 20 years and seeing how much more opportunity is out there, this place doesn't compare. Only way to make money is kill yourself for 7 days a week, which they don't even acknowledge. So if your young go to Deka University, learn, and build your resume for few years and quit for a lot more elsewhere, but if you just need a job or don't read or speak english or live in Reading with no car, they cater to you and will provide bus service for you.Cause your cheap labor and just another # .......... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it is a good place to work they have family fun things to do
material handler (Former Employee), lyons paNovember 9, 2013
stay busy all day loading and unloading trucks and my boss was nice and had fun out side of work the co-workers good to be around to get the weight right in the trailers my boss gave me my paper work and left me go and get the job done
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company, great people
Delivery Driver (Former Employee), West Sacramento, CANovember 1, 2013
Pros: great benefits, good work environment
Cons: pay is low
great company with great people.. loved working there, there are time where we would have short breaks because it would be really busy. the company treats its employees with respect
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They tell you that they are all about family !!!!!!
Machine Operator (Former Employee), Lyons Stayion Pa.September 26, 2013
Cons: don't care about their workers.....
They are all about the company. NOT about YOU or your family. My son passed away in 2006. I was at East Penn for over 22 years.And they FIRED me because I couldn't get OVER my son passing away...... You are just a number there. They are trying to get rid of all the people that have a lot of years in and replace them with people that they can pay less – more... money to.So you know what that means the quality isn't going to be there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dead end job
TRUCK DRIVER (Former Employee), Yeadon, PASeptember 23, 2013
Pros: price breaks with customers on outside parts/ services
Cons: poor management team
Typical mon-fri 40 hour week job. Delivered to multiple customers throughout the tri state region. First thing in the morning, your getting paperwork in order. After loading the trucks, you head out to various parts of the NJ, Pa, and De. No real boss looking over your shoulder all day, but certainly poor attitudes while in the shop. Co workers are – more... friendly and helpful. Hardest part of the job was learning the minutia of the delivery system. The best part of the job was limited product delivery. If I finished my job early, I got to go home early. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Oriented Company
Shipping Technician (Former Employee), Winston Salem, NCSeptember 9, 2013
Pros: pay, and family values
Cons: short breaks
Loved this company, compensation was compatible with the market. Management family oriented and believed in the employee first. Working with stock and forklift was duties I really enjoyed. Coworkers put their job first and worked as a team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Material handler (Former Employee), Lyon Station, PAAugust 30, 2013
Management was good and co-workers all took pride in there work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Benefits, Growth Opportunities, Jos Security
Quality Control Supervisor (Current Employee), Lyons, PAJuly 13, 2013
Pros: benefits, bonus, opportunity for growth
Cons: poor communication from the top down
A very reputable company, growing every year. Employees receive fair compensation and benefits. Co-workers are awesome, but I feel management could be much more efficient communicating to their employees. Since I started, the company has become much more corporate compared to a family based company in the past. Overall I would rate them @ a B.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work with good people and new challenges.
Grid-Casting Floater (Former Employee), Fleetwood, PaMay 8, 2013
Pros: working with good people.
Cons: the chemicals there i had to handle.
My typical day was forklifting, operating molding machines, troubleshooting them, cleaning around hot machines while some are operating, handle chemicals like lead in hot liquid form and solid bars. I learned I to do my job better if you find a steady pace that you are most comfortable and aware in a fast pace environment. Management was friendly and – more... on point and made sure all issues was handle which I admire. Co-workers were busy as bees and helpful when ask for help and they made the job most enjoyable. The hardest part of the job was forklifting in this environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Dry charge (Former Employee), Lyon Station, PAApril 30, 2013
Pros: great benefits
Cons: exposure to lead
Overall a good place to work. Due to the high levels of lead, they did take good care of their employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice people to work with, managers are clueless!
production (Former Employee), lyon station, paApril 15, 2013
Pros: pay, benefits, free lunches
Cons: lead, acid, managment
Good company, pay, benefits. Most people were great to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Pay and employee benefits
Floater (Former Employee), Lyon Station, PAMarch 27, 2013
East Penn really takes care of their employees.
They give You the training necessary to stay safe in the work environment. They offer internal promotions. They have great bonus and medical benefits
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very bussy at work.
palletizing (Former Employee), Lyons, PAMarch 7, 2013
Pros: good benefeits.
Cons: two breaks a shift.
Start the conveyor line before previouse shift leaves and make sure all machinery is working properly.

About East Penn Manufacturing

East Penn Manufacturing has charged forward to become one of the US's leading makers of lead-acid batteries for the stationary, – Read more