Find companies:
East Penn Manufacturing
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
50 reviews

East Penn Manufacturing Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company to work for
Heat seal operator (Former Employee), Lyons, PAOctober 29, 2014
in the past 7yrs of me working for that company it was one of many best time good coworkers and very strict
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work, became like family to me
Plant Secretary (Former Employee), Fleetwood, PAOctober 28, 2014
East Penn was an amazing place to work. My coworkers became my family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unhappy with employment
Dry Charge Operator (Current Employee), Lyons, PAOctober 4, 2014
Terrible management
Advancment is by who you know
Unfair selection of special training for advancment

Good pay compared to most
Health benifits on and off site are awesome
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and demanding, great people to work with and amazing work atmosphere
Battery Technician (Former Employee), Lyon Station, PASeptember 25, 2014
Pros: special lunch days, extended lunches and potluck lunches
Cons: very hot
Typically, I would go to battery line that was assigned to me, then I’ll check on the computer to see the quota that needed to be made then make my perpetrations needed to get started. What I learned from working at East Penn Manufacturing was how to be organized and work head. In this job, I had the opportunity to make much different type of batteries – more... and I had the responsibility to prepare for a new setup for the next battery type so that production wouldn’t be disrupted. Also I learned how to improvise. It wasn’t unusual for your machine to break down, you can call maintenance and they’ll come and fix the problem. Usually it would take them about 20 to 30 minutes to show up so what I would do is figure out how to fix the problem before maintenance arrived, if they were taking to long. I was only able to do this if there was not a major repair that needed.
The management was very helpful in assisting you with any problems or situation presented to them. Whether it be with (PPE) Personal Protection Equipment, a line that was down, family emergency or punch out machine. Management was always busy but always found the way to meet the employee’s needs.
My co-workers were great; a lot of them made the time go faster and made an exciting work atmosphere. We were all very helpful to each other, whether we were on the same line or not. We all worked as a team, if I was done with the work I was doing in my line I would go to someone else’s line to assist them in whatever they needed help in, until the new set of batteries were ready to be made or my line was operational. Everyone worked with each other this way.
The hardest part about the job I would have to say is that some days were hotter than others were. Also the machinery wasn’t in the best shape, so there were days where production would slow down because of the machines braking down so often. There was nothing you could do about it until you were moved to another line. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work
material handler plant (Former Employee), lyon Station FleetwoodSeptember 15, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: short time to eat.
IT was fun working I learned a lot. fast past got to work hard to make work. but it was fun the comp.is a very good one. free food just a feel of a comp family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Industrial work...Now Retirered
Maintenance Mechanic / Maintenance Facility Care (Former Employee), Lynon station,PA.August 23, 2014
Family owned...they provide safe work area very good employee and company relations
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work but no room for advancement
Office Manager (Current Employee), Birmingham, ALAugust 21, 2014
Operate Switchboard up to ten lines
Invoice all customers for products
Post all payments to customer accounts
Assist customers with all billing questions
Handle all accounts payables and receivables
Release all documents out of system to head quarters
File all invoices in the office
Assist all customers when ordering product
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good pay and Benefits
Material Handler (Former Employee), Lyon Station PA.August 10, 2014
Pros: pay/ benefits
Cons: no life / six days a week constantly. maybe more.
Company pays well and offers good Health Insurance. I like to do things with my family and they gave very little time off. You rarely even get a 2 day weekend. Money is nice but I had no time to enjoy my life when I worked there. Some lower level Management is absolutely horrible, I can't believe upper management is not aware of this. If all you care – more... about is money this is a great place to come, you can work the rest of your life away. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very awesome place to work
Material Handler (Current Employee), Lyons, PAJuly 30, 2014
Pros: two 20 minute breaks, great benefits
All that is expected of you is to show up and do your job safely. Supervisors ensure your have the necessary tools to accomplish your daily tasks, and everyone is there to help even if it isn't their job to do so.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work.
General Laborer (Current Employee), Lyon Station, PAJuly 26, 2014
The hardest part of the day is the heat. The most enjoyable part of the job is the other employees. Most everyone gets along and helps each other out in times of need. I have learned a lot of valuable thing from east penn mfg. One of the many things is hard work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Pace
Extruder Operator (Former Employee), Lyons, PAJuly 25, 2014
Keep moving and multi tasking to keep up with the job. There is always something to do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company has gotten dramatically worse over the past few years.
Serf (Current Employee), Lyon Station, PAJuly 11, 2014
Pros: steady work, good health insurancem (for now).
Cons: not enough time to shower (for removing lead), parking, mandatory overtime, company first family second culture.
When I started here over 26 years ago, it was a great place to work. Now in recent years the company has gotten oppressive with its new ever changing rules (note* we do not have a company handbook). The health coverage has gotten worse (they are self insured for healthcare and workers compensation), their personal time off policies have gotten worse – more... and the employee treatment has gotten worse from, at very least, plant managers. You have to work a long time to get vacation time...a long time. When I was hired this was a family company and you WERE treated like family. This is not the case now. Deka is the largest employer in Berks County. They do not have the best pay or benefits though. I used to have great pride in working for Delight and East Penn. I can't say that now though. You are NOT treated like family. It does pay the bills, barely. We do get regular raises, 35 cents an hour a year. This has been the same since I started here over 26 years ago. There has been such an influx of people into the county that the company DOES NOT CARE IF YOU LIKE THE WORKING CONDITIONS or NOT. If you don't like it you can quit or get fired! They have literally THOUSANDS of application on hand at all times. They say that there is an "Open Door Policy". The front door that you go in only leads to the back door that you leave from. The ONLY time that things changed for the better, was when unions were attempting to come in. ONLY THEN. The economy is so bad that they do whatever they want because people are so desperate for jobs. I am stuck working for this company ONLY because there are no jobs out there with living wages. And being a 50 something white male with ongoing and upcoming health issues, you can not get a job. The newer policy changes are absolutely aimed at older employees with more vacation time and more health problems. Aimed,in my opinion,at discharging them any way that they can. I am very unhappy with the direction that this company is going. I am very disappointed with the company and its vanishing family atmosphere. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They choose profits over people.
Takeoff operator (Former Employee), Lyons, PAMay 19, 2014
Pros: money. thats it. and when the economy picks up this place is going to tank hard.
Cons: short breaks, very dirty, moronic supervisors, clueless managers. forced mandatory overtime, no union, everyone fears for their job
Lifting 10-15-20 pounds every 5 seconds for 8 hours. I did not learn anything. Management was overbearing and only cared about the bottom line. My coworkers were okay, some were very, very lazy and two or three of them got away with doing virtually nothing all day. The hardest part of my job was getting up and going back for another 8 hours. I enjoyed – more... nothing. We could not simply do our jobs. we had to worry about new rules, regulations and restrictions. They are not your friends. they don't care about you or your family. you are a number, a replaceable piece of meat. If you work in production, prepare to swallow your pride and compromise your integrity. If you put stickers on batteries or ride a walkie all day , are a leader or QA, or stand around waiting for your machine to finish a coil, you might like it here. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Plate Prep Operator (Former Employee), Fleetwood, PAMarch 7, 2014
Pros: very rewarding
Cons: short breaks, high risk of lead poisoning
Very rewarding and enjoyable job space, poor management, 100% hands-on with production, lock-out machine for repairs, co-workers were very productive but made the job enjoyable, job was mostly easy until came repairing broken/worn parts of machine
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its great for someone who wants to move up
Cos Floater (Current Employee), Corydon, IAFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: your treated with respect and gratitude for your work
Cons: cant really think of anything incentive rates could be better but there not terrible
I seen nobody has put in a review from corydon iowa East Penn is a great company to work for with great benefits and more than fair pay. they treat everyone equally and give everyone the benefit of doubt. theres drama sometimes with coworkers but you will have that anywhere. I work 3rd shift and almost everyone on any shift knows who I am and treat – more... me like family. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great starting point
Electro Mechanical Technician (Former Employee), Lyons, PAJanuary 20, 2014
It was a great place to start my career as an electro-mechanical technician. Great work hours and decent salary. Owner took good care of employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great positive work environment.
Ultra Battery Tech ( Research and Developing) (Current Employee), Lyons, PAJanuary 9, 2014
Pros: health benefits, great working enviroment, great pay rate
Cons: out of state transfers
I'm proud to say that East Penn Manufacturing has giving me an opportunity to grow with them as a company. With there company I've started with production and worked my way up to research and development because they give all employees an equal chance to grow. I love my environment and people I work with. I've had nothing but the best experience with – more... management and my own department supervisor. With the position I hold I don't think there's any part of the job that I can say is hard or I cant do.I would say the best part and most enjoyable is working next to great coworkers and knowing we work together as a team. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy to get along with others here
Pasting/take off (Former Employee), Lyons, PADecember 12, 2013
i always enjoyed being summer help here. i made friends with all other workers and enjoyed the laborer tasks
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was an ok place to work it supported my families
Yard Jockey (Former Employee), Lyons, PANovember 26, 2013
Pros: $1 meals, and good people to work next to
Cons: short breaks, bad management
learned how to not say anything to anybody and just keep my mouth shut b/c friends can become enemies
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast paced work environment
COS worker (Former Employee), Lyons, PANovember 17, 2013
Fast paced work environment striving to meet the demands of the company. Dedicated employees all working towards the goal of the company to ultimately satisfy the customer.

1 2 3

About East Penn Manufacturing

East Penn Manufacturing has charged forward to become one of the US's leading makers of lead-acid batteries for the stationary, – Read more